English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2020, 12:54   #41
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 661
Given that the target application seems to be performance in the context of playing chess, is this a possibility?
https://www.slashgeek.net/2013/02/03...your-hardware/
Is there an Amiga port of Crafty?
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 13:33   #42
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,327
I would say probably thousands of times faster. That cpu can emulate much much more fast cpu like Wii-U etc.
Useless topic actually.
nobody is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 14:00   #43
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,537
Useless goal, the topic on the other hand has sparked some interesting reading.
gimbal is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 14:49   #44
Chrille
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 33
When I look at the smoothness of the mouse pointer movement and I compare MacOS Desktop versus Amiga Workbench, the Amiga seems to be twice as fast as a modern iMac (50/60/72 FPS versus approx. 30 FPS)
Chrille is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 15:46   #45
Misclegend
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Uranus
Posts: 102
the i9 9900ks 4.0gz is the faster cpu right now
specially in single core. which is the most important point

reach 1414 points in geekbench 5

I estimated is aprox between 2000-2500x faster than the 68000 at 7mhz

https://browser.geekbench.com/processors/2600

however consumes 127 w VS 1 or 2w

the A500 beat such cpu consuming less power, the scammers of greenpeace use the A500 to play games
Misclegend is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 15:54   #46
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Modern (cough) x86 cpus have peak ipc probably of 4.
That's not more than 16 times faster.
I assume this is per core? There are 64-core desktop processors now (If you want to spend the cash!).
Also, should these overall comparisons take into account before or after spectre/ zombieload/meltdown patches?

I think the problem with this question is it's a little too vague to quantify. Maybe it would be better answered if it was rephrased using something like the metrics used in Moore's Law (number of transistors)?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 18:52   #47
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misclegend View Post



I estimated is aprox between 2000-2500x faster than the 68000 at 7mhz
Thanks, this tallies with my initial estimates.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 14 February 2020, 18:53   #48
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Can you not just settle on "a lot faster".

What is the context of your future video?
A chess rematch Amiga vs iMac but both machines set to approximately the same speed (using UAE) so we can test just the chess AI programming, not the CPU power.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 01:22   #49
guest.r
Registered User

guest.r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: EU
Posts: 296
Just my 5 cents. What aged very well with Amiga (500) is it's sound capabilities.
Today's cpu's got super fast. Not to mention storage.
But really overwhelming is the processing power of some gpu's.
More HW aspects are to be considered, IMO.
guest.r is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 04:39   #50
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 468
Bogomips isn't even a good metric as that's mostly just related to clock speed. In particular though that modern CPU is superscalar -- it can issue and execute multiple instructions at the same time *EVEN IN THE SAME THREAD*. i.e. what the 68060 can do only a hell of a lot more advanced.

So not only is the clock rate higher, but the instructions per clock for pretty much any workload is also much higher. Not to mention the original 68000 is pretty slow instruction-wise due to slow instructions in general not to mention being a 32-bit CPU that has to fetch instructions over its crippled 16-bit bus.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 05:24   #51
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
A chess rematch Amiga vs iMac but both machines set to approximately the same speed (using UAE) so we can test just the chess AI programming, not the CPU power.
Your first video was epic.

I dont have an answer for this question sadly but I do have a suggestion for the video....

Somehow...anyway....find an excuse to feature "Love Chess" :P

Good luck with the video

I love chess....I mean chess, not love chess....you'll see what I mean lol
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 06:44   #52
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by 005AGIMA View Post
Your first video was epic.



I dont have an answer for this question sadly but I do have a suggestion for the video....



Somehow...anyway....find an excuse to feature "Love Chess"



Good luck with the video



I love chess....I mean chess, not love chess....you'll see what I mean lol
Thank you for your kind words! Means a lot ?

And oh goodness I just googled that!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 06:53   #53
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Thank you for your kind words! Means a lot ?

And oh goodness I just googled that!
Googled what? I have no idea what you're talking about....erm....sorry wrong number.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 07:22   #54
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Erm... Oh... Nothing... Um... Hello? Hello? Oh, dropped call.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 15:20   #55
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
A chess rematch Amiga vs iMac but both machines set to approximately the same speed (using UAE) so we can test just the chess AI programming, not the CPU power.
I don't get how CPU power has any bearing on the software being run on it. Be it chess AI or 1+1 the answer will be set be the conditions of the code and not the speed of the system executing such code. A faster system will get to the same result, just quicker.

Is this retro recipes? Great channel BTW!
Glen M is offline  
Old 17 February 2020, 19:17   #56
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Well, it's more that 1 move can take the Amiga 4 days at highest level. Therefore I want to speed up its highest level. But I also want to set both machines to the same speed. For examples give them both 5 minutes to make each move. That 5 minutes needs to allow them approximately the same amount of thinking power. Therefore setting UAE to an equivalent speed would mean the whole process was balanced.

But I think I'm just going to set UAE to JIT mode and go from there.

And yes this is Perifractic :-) Glad you like the channel
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 22 February 2020, 20:11   #57
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 3,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaHope View Post
Not to mention the original 68000 is pretty slow instruction-wise due to slow instructions in general not to mention being a 32-bit CPU that has to fetch instructions over its crippled 16-bit bus.
The 68000 isn't a 32 bit CPU. It has a 16 bit ALU and couldn't make use of a 32 bit data bus if it had one. It's an odd little beast. 32 bit instruction set, 24 bit address bus and 16 bit data bus and ALU.
Thorham is offline  
Old Yesterday, 04:58   #58
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,137
Thanks for all your help with this thread guys. I posted the resulting video on my channel today, albeit with a somewhat vague answer to this question ¯\_(:/)_/¯
Starglider 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amiga os on ibook or imac g4 xan11 support.Other 11 05 September 2015 22:57
Amiga OS 4 on an iMac g4 2002? Retroboy support.Hardware 1 31 July 2014 23:14
Is it worth it fitting faster chip/slow Ram to A500? imperious support.Hardware 3 12 December 2013 15:41
Amiga Os 4 on iMac G3 tech3475 Amiga scene 43 31 August 2009 03:17
For Sale: iMac G3 DV Tangerine Computer and iMac Logic Board G3 400mhz *With Pics!* CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 13 16 January 2007 03:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08889 seconds with 14 queries