English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2018, 01:36   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Irregular Multiscan video mode scaling

Hi,

Sorry for asking this again, but I can't make the Multiscan monitor emulation work for me. Does Multiscan emulation work correctly for everyone? The problem is that I can't configure WinUAE so that all Amiga video modes appear in full screen with all the pixels, square. The problem is precisely the Multiscan video mode, which appears all irregular and I need to activate the bilinear filter just for it. This is a very important feature! Is there no way to make it work?

Thanks,
Leandro.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 02 February 2018, 15:29   #2
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
Can you post a screenshot of the problem?
mark_k is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 15:46   #3
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,637
Sounds like a true-to-life emulation of a 1940/1942 monitor.
idrougge is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 15:47   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,876
It can be normal. Some programmed display modes are really weird and only appear normal because real monitor does the scaling automatically.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 February 2018, 17:53   #5
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,961
In display settings, do you have "VGA mode resolution autoswitch" enabled?
mark_k is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 19:20   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
In display settings, do you have "VGA mode resolution autoswitch" enabled?
Yes, I have it ticked.

Excuse me, I think I should explain some things. I meant that "Integer Auto-Scaling" works fine for all video modes I've tested, except the Multiscan. For all the Amiga video modes to be displayed the same way for WinUAE I also choose "Automatic" for "Aspect Ratio Correction", I tick "Keep Autoscale Aspect", and for "Keep Aspect Ratio" I choose "VGA". I wanted to use these settings in all video modes to be able to see a clear picture without the use of bilinear filter or shaders.

But it doesn't work that way. I only get a perfect image for Multiscan mode exclusively when I turn off "Aspect Ratio Correction" and "Keep Aspect Ratio". Otherwise, all other screen modes work perfectly.

Let me give you an example, since the dimensions of a NTSC Hi-Res Laced screen are 640x480 and a Multiscan screen too, why the two video modes are so different when I choose "Integer Auto-Scaling" with all those other options? Look at the screenshot image.

In other words, how do I achieve in all screen modes that all pixels have the same dimension with only one setting for all video modes?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Multiscan.png
Views:	66
Size:	30.7 KB
ID:	56576  

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 02 February 2018 at 23:08. Reason: Added some <Enters>to make evrything more readable ;-)
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 02 February 2018, 21:21   #7
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Sorry, I copied the same text twice. Fixed up.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 02 February 2018, 21:39   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Sorry, I copied the same text twice. Fixed up.
...and I just added some <Enters> to make it easier to follow

Hard when it's just a lump of text and you get slightly distracted.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2018, 22:24   #9
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...and I just added some <Enters> to make it easier to follow

Hard when it's just a lump of text and you get slightly distracted.
Thanks, DamienD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It can be normal. Some programmed display modes are really weird and only appear normal because real monitor does the scaling automatically.
Is it not possible to "emulate" such a real monitor? See, the code for stretching the video mode WinUAE already has, as I demonstrated when I said that I disabled those two options. The only thing that seems to be needed is to disable these options automatically, and one way to achieve this is when WinUAE switches resolution automatically, with "VGA mode resolution autoswitch" turned on or "Resolution autoswitch".

It would be interesting to have this option, since we are aware of some old monitors that can work with VGA and PAL/NTSC signal and make the exchange automatically.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 02 February 2018 at 22:30.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 03 February 2018, 09:31   #10
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,187
I have similar issues. Normal configuration is PAL (windowed mode). Image is fine.
Now I switch to same resolution but DBLPAL. Image shrinks horizontally.
This does not depend on filter settings.
meynaf is offline  
Old 03 February 2018, 09:56   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,876
Standard reply:

Works for me. Config file required. (and which multiscan? There are at least 3 different variants)

(Why multiscan? dblpal/ntsc at least can be useful)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 03 February 2018, 11:01   #12
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Standard reply:

Works for me. Config file required. (and which multiscan? There are at least 3 different variants)
Multiscan Productivity 640x480. They are the same dimensions as NTSC. But I remember, I used to have this same problem with DBLPAL/DBLNTSC or any driver other than the generic PAL/NTSC.

The types of monitors that supported these programmed graphical modes were rare to see anyone using at that time and all were very specific so I guess it is not too difficult to implement a profile for each one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
(Why multiscan? dblpal/ntsc at least can be useful)
I read several posts in this forum from users saying that use this driver and that it is faster than DBLPAL/DBLNTSC with 16 colors. So I thought, when I buy my computer I'll prefer to use this graphical mode.

The config file is below.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Multiscan.uae (12.7 KB, 11 views)
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 03 February 2018, 13:55   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,876
Ok.. Integer scaling + aspect ratio stuff are simply incompatible. It has nothing to do with screen mode, it even happens with standard PAL or NTSC. This would have been a lot less confusing if you would have tested this a bit more and noticed it is not multiscan specific.

No idea if it can be fixed easily.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 February 2018, 01:39   #14
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Ok.. Integer scaling + aspect ratio stuff are simply incompatible. It has nothing to do with screen mode, it even happens with standard PAL or NTSC. This would have been a lot less confusing if you would have tested this a bit more and noticed it is not multiscan specific.

No idea if it can be fixed easily.
I wish I could use "Auto Integer scaling" with programmed display modes like those! And if possible, with RTG too, why not?

Do not feel forced to fix this now, from experience now I know you always carry out our requests. I just wanted to remind you so you do not forget.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 04 February 2018, 19:41   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,876
Partial fix (or a hack) is in new beta.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 04 February 2018, 21:31   #16
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Partial fix (or a hack) is in new beta.
Thanks Toni, the beta is working well here.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 08 February 2018, 09:52   #17
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,237
Ah, I found a good configuration that I can finally use to work with PAL and Multiscan modes with integer scaling at the same time. And it seems simply perfect.

Strangely, I needed to change the WinUAE aspect ratio correction to 4:3, but my monitor is 16:9 native, so there is something wrong here.

It may be a incompatibility of my monitor with Direct3D applications, or else it's a WinUAE miscalculation, I don't know.

I am attaching a example configuration to share with you guys.
Attached Files
File Type: uae Compatible.uae (14.5 KB, 9 views)
Leandro Jardim is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tweaking Auto Integer Scaling Further Lobotomika support.WinUAE 10 29 July 2014 17:54
Programmed modes and integer scaling Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 5 17 April 2014 12:35
Integer Scaling FreakyDan support.WinUAE 3 12 May 2012 15:43
Integer scaling bug Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 2 14 February 2012 20:46
WinUAE Integer Scaling Crash Schlachtwerk support.WinUAE 1 11 November 2011 17:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09023 seconds with 16 queries