English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 February 2009, 18:49   #21
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
@doogUK

@Leytond
ADF Opus help for you Leytond, in case you struggle with Magix ftp



As you can see the files have already been copied into the top window.

Last edited by DH; 08 February 2009 at 18:58.
DH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 February 2009, 19:00   #22
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
You think that he'll cope with ADFOpus if he can't download from Magix FTP? Okay...
TCD is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 19:11   #23
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Who knows TCD. One things for sure, if he wants his miggy, or WinUAE, up and running with ClassicWB, he's going to have to try a little bit harder to understand what he really needs to do to get it all running.

To you or I, it's like water off a ducks back, but I fear with Leytond, it's like climbing Mount Everest without any limbs.
DH is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 19:17   #24
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I know DH, I know Maybe the system.zip will get him a step further when he manages to download it
TCD is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 19:46   #25
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Wow, you guys have really put the effort into helping Leytond out.

I just hope he comes back and has another go. I just had a frustrating afternoon setting up some new Linux software - all new to me - and it did take about three hours of learning before I could get the job done. It's all about persistence; new things take time to understand. Come on Leytond, give it another go! Just have a half hour crack at it now and again, you'll get there in the end.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 08 February 2009 at 20:16.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 23:45   #26
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Well he's gone quiet after getting the zip, maybe we'll get a "how to create a disk from a ADF" thread
DoogUK is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 23:53   #27
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
Well he's gone quiet after getting the zip, maybe we'll get a "how to create a disk from a ADF" thread
Or the 'Curse this WHDLoad thingy' thread
TCD is offline  
Old 08 February 2009, 23:56   #28
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Wait until he discovers MiamiDX
DoogUK is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 00:26   #29
r0jaws
Amibay fanboi
r0jaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, Lincolnshire
Age: 42
Posts: 154
I see your Miami and raise you AmiTCP.
r0jaws is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 00:30   #30
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0jaws View Post
I see your Miami and raise you AmiTCP.




I'll see your AmiTCP and raise you Samba!
DoogUK is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 01:39   #31
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 8,983
Now now guys, please try to stay on topic...

We were all new to the Amiga at some stage in our lives
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 10:17   #32
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
but he`s got amiga forever so how he says that WinUAE dos`t wok is a bit beond me
perhapse he has`t linked that the to are almost the same thing
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 13:07   #33
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Maybe we should all start our threads with 'Aaaaaaaaaagh!'

Anyway, I think Leytond just needs to calm down a little and persevere with the installation, trying to methodically work it out. Nobody here knows why he's unable to get it working, not really, so patience on his part will help him enormously.

Leytond, you really need to take a deep breath and take everything step by step, you already know how to use a computer, so your already half way there. I know it must be hard for you, but follow the instructions given to you by most members, WILL get you up and running, so DON'T give up, it's really easy 'n' you'll be laughing at all this one day.
DH is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 15:15   #34
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Spent an hour or so in conversation with leytond yesterday on Msn and he IS learning fast...and he see's the amiga is unbelivably cool, to be fair he's never owned one and has just jumped in the deep end unlike most of us who owned them before at some point.....

Credit where its due...some would have put the miggy on ebay by now
DoogUK is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 15:19   #35
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,824
Excellent job DoogUK

He is a very determined person and he deserves an award for his learning skills.
DH is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 15:32   #36
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Can someone email him a link some ROMS so he can get WinUAE up and running as well
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 15:57   #37
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
he has amiga forever and that means all the associated roms
DoogUK is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 16:01   #38
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
That sir, is a fair point...

How comes he says he keeps getting "rom not found" messages and stuff then...

Ah well, I'm just gonna shut up
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 16:07   #39
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
I think it's just a case of not knowing how to configure winuae, i remember when i first started using it i didn't have a clue, to us Kickstarts and Wb and CLI's are all familiar..to a new user its like WTF?

If i recall winuae defeated me at first and i used winfellow
DoogUK is offline  
Old 09 February 2009, 16:13   #40
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
well ive just installed Amiga.Forever.Plus.Edition.v2008-PANTHEON and I can see why hes having a few problems, first of it dose`t show winuae and has its own front end, which is quite nice but not very good for doing custom amiga configs, more when i work out why my vista part ion keeps getting corrupted

it dose`t help that theres no manual for winuae
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does ClassicWB 3.9 installed ixemul.library? NovaCoder project.ClassicWB 5 12 October 2011 13:15
Multiboot ClassicWB/3.1 and ClassicWB/OS3.9 MrGimper support.Hardware 4 16 September 2010 19:42
How I installed ClassicWB with Linux, an A1200, an A600, and WB2.04 Muzer project.ClassicWB 2 20 September 2009 18:58
What the hell is this ? THX1138 support.Hardware 17 15 September 2004 21:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29429 seconds with 13 queries