English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.KGLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2008, 17:54   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Old KGLoad Beta Download Thread

Hi folks,

anyone who is genuinely interested in helping me beta test my frontend can you please download KGLoad from the links below and give it a test!

I would appreciate a wide variety of specs so I can get a better idea of how well it's working.

Someone who is likely to test this on a CD32/stock A1200 would be very helpful as well.

NOTE: This beta thread is now dead, please go here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66086

Current requirements:

Chipset: OCS and AGA versions exist.
Kickstart: 3.0+ (For now)
RAM: 1MB?

Controls:

Joystick:
Fire1: Select Menu Item / Select Button
Fire2: Back
Up/Down: Scroll
Left/Right: Select Buttons/Menu

CD32:
Red: Select Menu Item / Select Button
Blue: Back
Play: Back to Main (Exit Menu if already in Main)
Up/Down: Scroll
Left/Right: Select Buttons/Menu

Keyboard:
Return: Select Menu Item / Select Button
Backspace: Back
Esc: Back to Main (Exit Menu if already in Main)
Up/Down Arrow Keys: Scroll
Left/Right Arrow Keys: Select Buttons/Menu
F1: Button 1
F2: Button 2
F3: Button 3
F4: Button 4

Future Ideas:

Favourites.
Launch random game.
Icon tooltype editing.
Load non-whdload games.
Display of ReadMe/Doc files.
Search filter (move to game).

Last edited by killergorilla; 01 October 2012 at 14:31.
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 November 2008, 17:57   #2
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 30
Posts: 10,905
I'd be interested, definitely.

My machine is an A1200 with OS3.0, 68040 and 32MB Fast RAM.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 18:01   #3
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,033
Me! Me!

A1200 on OS3.9 BB2 with Blizz 68030 / 50MHz 32MB
Shoonay is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 18:40   #4
Ebster
Registered User
Ebster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 301
Amiga CD32 with SX32PRO 030@50MHz, 50MHz FPU, SD-2-IDE Adapter, 16gb SDHC-HD, 16mb Fast-RAM, AMIGASYS4AGA-OS3.9 and of course the latest registered whdload version. ALL of your packs installed on the 2nd partition, in seperate folders 0,a,b...z

http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?...5&d=1225409800

really looking forward to test it!!!
Ebster is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 18:56   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'll give it a go so I can see how to integrate it into the ClassicWB packs.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 19:11   #6
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Amiga 1200
Apollo 1230 Turbo Lite 68030/33 Mhz, 68882/33
8MB Fast RAM
ClassicWB

Although I have downloaded all your packs, I haven't got them all installed as I only have a 2GB flash drive.
Hopefully one day someone will do a large HD guide in the wiki
I only install what games I want. Will it make a difference?
Eclipse is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 20:00   #7
Magix
calm down do how.
Magix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Istanbul
Age: 44
Posts: 296
Send a message via ICQ to Magix
First of all, Congratulations!

I guess... I can... Okay, actually, I want to allow some time for testing your new, expected, looks like AWESOME! blah, bla, bla FrontEnd Beta!

PS. Specs: A1200; KS 3.1, Blizzard 1230/50, 128MB RAM, 4GB CF, Indivision AGA, runing OS 3.9 and CWB 3.1 and, and your installs.
Magix is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 20:58   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,626
I would love to test it too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:04   #9
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: #pspuae chatroom
Age: 36
Posts: 2,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
I'll give it a go so I can see how to integrate it into the ClassicWB packs.

hmm.. i've been considering this too Bloodwych

although, tbh, i was just gonna let it boot first before loading WB!

1) left / right mouse button 'quick CLI' or 'basic WB' loading
2) cd32 'emulation' booting from CD0:
3) KGload
4) on exit of KGload , boot WB

that's how i plan to use it anyway
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:14   #10
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Hi!

Count me in!

Amiga 4000D - 040/25
28Mb RAM
Kick 3.0/3.1
WB 3.0/3.9
Cybervision64 - Tocatta 16 - Fastlane Z3 with SCSI II Quantum Fireball HD

Also have a stock CD32.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 21:40   #11
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,084
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Over 'ere!!! On me 'ead son...

Spec below!
DDNI is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 22:34   #12
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,072
hi i want to be a star.ermm beta tester..

Amiga A1200 ,3.1 kick, Apollo Mk-III 1230/40 turbo-32mb, HDD CF 4GB , ClassicWB 22F
Amiga A1200 ,3.1 kick, Blizzard 1230/50 IV-64mb, HDD CF 4GB, ClassicWB 22F.
Anemos is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 23:44   #13
Dexther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: italy
Age: 40
Posts: 145
i'm candidate are betatester.
My amiga are a poor 1200 on 030 at 45MHZ end 4 MB ram not expan.
My extra memory are poor end wellcome this configuration on my amiga.
Tank's killer gorilla
Dexther is offline  
Old 10 November 2008, 23:47   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I am so lazy, that both my csppc A4000's are under "heatsink/fan" upgrades for the past 3 months... so I can't test , and I force Anemos to test extensively KG-Load. that will teach him
keropi is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 03:18   #15
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
i would be really happy to do that...a1200 kick3.0 fastmem 8mb...i just may need some time (a 1-2 weeks) to transfer your packs to my miggy, but if you'Re not in a hurry..with pleasure!
pbareges is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 10:14   #16
KTC
Registered WHDLoad User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 70
Amiga 1200 (PAL)
3.0 kickstart
Blizzard 1230/50 IV-4mb
HDD 10GB 3.5" (with IDEfix and SFS)
ClassicWB Full 22F

CD32 (PAL)

Last edited by KTC; 11 November 2008 at 10:21.
KTC is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 14:23   #17
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Wow, quite a few of you then! Cheers everyone.

That's made me feel all happy and stuff. (nothing sexual)

The beta will come as a standard zip package with all the necessary files inside. It'll come with both an icon to start it from and a startup sequence should you want to boot it on it's own (which I hope some of you do because I need this testing!).

I'll whack together a small text file with instructions on the very few adjustments you'll need to make to your system (libs, editing whdload.prefs etc.).

It'll come with the complete database, but you'll need to make sure you unpack the games (the ones from my packs, nothing else is supported) to whatever gamePath(s) you specify.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 17:06   #18
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
hmm.. i've been considering this too Bloodwych

although, tbh, i was just gonna let it boot first before loading WB!

1) left / right mouse button 'quick CLI' or 'basic WB' loading
2) cd32 'emulation' booting from CD0:
3) KGload
4) on exit of KGload , boot WB

that's how i plan to use it anyway
Some good ideas!

My idea for the default installs is integrating the launcher using a RAD: boot system. Hold the left mouse button on boot and select KGLoad (EDITED - WRONG NAME LOL) from the requester. Everytime you reset your Amiga after the initial load, it boots straight back into the KG Launcher as RAD: survives soft booting, leaving maximum resources free.

The newer bootmenus can be seen here:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/multiboot.htm

I'll also add it to the Workbench menus. Obviously KG might want a say in how it's presented also.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 11 November 2008 at 17:13.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 11 November 2008, 18:10   #19
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
Some good ideas!


The newer bootmenus can be seen here:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/multiboot.htm

I'll also add it to the Workbench menus. Obviously KG might want a say in how it's presented also.

Looking good
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 19 November 2008, 05:55   #20
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Is KG on holiday or something?
Eclipse is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KGLoad Beta released killergorilla project.KGLoad 104 20 April 2016 14:54
Misc questions (from beta thread) lifeschool support.WinUAE 2 03 December 2012 18:50
prowizard and more from beta thread Megachur support.WinUAE 6 24 April 2011 06:49
AmigaSYS 1.7.1 E-UAE Beta free for Download Calo Nord News 0 25 April 2005 16:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22479 seconds with 13 queries