English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Looking for a game name ?

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 February 2011, 23:11   #21
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
Extras disk is correct.
However, "Say" would not make sense in WB 2.04 with a 2.04 Extras Disk because you will NOT find either of narrator.device, translator.library or speak-handler there!

Like this old post of alexh states, the speech synthesis stuff got pulled in 2.04 because of legal disputes and disagreement with the company that made it.
Only way out will be to copy the needed "driver" stuff off a 1.3 disk.
No this is all wrong, just checked my WB 2.04 disk - the main disk not extras. It contains:

narrator.device 37.7 22/05/91
speak-handler 37.4 21/02/91
translator.library 37.1 15/01/91

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mequa View Post
Here is a little-known fact:
AMOS Professional came with a newer version of narrator.device and translator.library than Workbench 1.3.
(It may have been the build included with WB 2.0 - I've yet to compare them.)

When these updates are used with the original Workbench 1.3 Say utility, the speech quality is considerably better than the original.


P.S.
Yep, I just checked this out. Here's what's on the first AMOS Pro disk (AMOS-Professional10_1of6.adf) downloadable from here (6 in a zip):
http://www.back2roots.org/Tools/Dev/ (direct link to download)

In Devs:
narrator.device 65176 ----rw-d 04-Oct-92 18:24:57

In Libs:
translator.library 10592 ----rwed 04-Oct-92 18:25:52
Just checked these and they are not as new as the date stamp suggests.

narrator.device 32.8 30/11/1989
translator.library 33.2 24/06/1986

Last edited by TCD; 10 February 2011 at 23:16. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use multi-quote.
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2011, 22:21   #22
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
No this is all wrong, just checked my WB 2.04 disk - the main disk not extras. It contains:

narrator.device 37.7 22/05/91
speak-handler 37.4 21/02/91
translator.library 37.1 15/01/91
Thanks. So I stand corrected!

Well it's because alexh usually knows his stuff, so if he already had checked for those files, it would be a tad pointless to recheck for them again. That's why I had trusted him on this
andreas is offline  
Old 28 February 2011, 14:57   #23
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
I have WB 2.05 and it has the Say program on the main WB disk. Twas the main use of the Amiga back when we had it in 1995.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 28 February 2011, 15:04   #24
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
I have WB 2.05 and it has the Say program on the main WB disk. Twas the main use of the Amiga back when we had it in 1995.
When you would have been 2 years old
Arnie is offline  
Old 28 February 2011, 15:27   #25
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 24
Posts: 654
Indeed :P
Dreedo is offline  
Old 28 February 2011, 19:41   #26
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,496
BTW, I was wondering if anyone out there has the last CBM version of say that according to the "Workbench Nostalgia" website, was found in the beta version of Workbench 2.1

It would be great if someone could Zone it

gulliver is offline  
Old 09 January 2013, 01:59   #27
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dastardly View Post
Say was really good back in the early 90s. Every time I hear Stephen Hawking on tv it reminds me of Say.
I noticed same thing today. I think it's not similar but same voice. Can anyone confirm?
s2325 is online now  
Old 09 January 2013, 14:15   #28
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
I noticed same thing today. I think it's not similar but same voice. Can anyone confirm?
I can't confirm, but looking at the SoftVoice website I would think it is very likely:

http://www.text2speech.com/
James is offline  
Old 08 February 2016, 16:19   #29
moogthedog
 
Posts: n/a
Say! - How to quit

Hello! I've found this thread through Google. I used to spend ages getting Say to sing stuff on my school's old Amiga 500...

Having a huge nostalgia trip with UAE at the moment, and I've just rediscovered this old utility. I'm only missing one piece of information.

How do you quit? The Version on workbench 1.3 doesn't have a close button on either of the windows, and there's nothing on the top menu when I right-click.

Last edited by moogthedog; 09 February 2016 at 11:15.
 
Old 17 February 2016, 22:20   #30
volvo_0ne
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sheffield UK
Posts: 247
Was "Say" a later development of "Sam" for the C64 which in it's demo used to say...

"A Speech siintheesizr for the koomedoor sixty fur Kompuudr"

volvo_0ne is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 23:04   #31
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,195
Yes, the people who made SAM went to the Amiga to make SAY.
They also did other speech synths before SAM, but I can't recall which.

[edit] on the link above you can see the company who made it wand what else they made: http://www.text2speech.com/#aboutsv . Seems like the Mac speech synth was also the same.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 23:05   #32
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,736
SAM was released also for Atari XE/XL computers [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is online now  
Old 18 February 2016, 21:34   #33
Boulder
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Hollola, Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 94
I'll always remember The Art of Chess for hearing the Amiga speak for the first time. "Amiga move, white to play".

I also got very irritated with the Amiga version of Football Manager as the results were read out loud and it took ages!
Boulder is offline  
Old 16 July 2017, 22:04   #34
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,451
For those trying WB 1.3.3 (the latest A500 1.x from Commodore), these 3 files are absent and Say works with the files on WB 1.3 disks that still have the Microsoft Basic on them (1988).

WB 1.3.3 includes an FD1.3 folder that says "Basic FD files here!", and contains all the files in libs: PLUS translator.library. Except they all have the .fd suffix, which I don't know the use for. .fd means FastDir to me.
Photon is offline  
Old 25 October 2017, 18:03   #35
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 599
Stephen Hawking used amiga speech generator under WinUAE on a laptop ?!

Interesting message at 0:35

[ Show youtube player ]
Michael is online now  
Old 25 October 2017, 19:07   #36
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by moogthedog View Post
How do you quit? The Version on workbench 1.3 doesn't have a close button on either of the windows, and there's nothing on the top menu when I right-click.
I thought it was Ctrl+C (then Enter ?)
But a quick test under WinUAE shows it to be
just ENTER
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	019.png
Views:	19
Size:	382.4 KB
ID:	55153  
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 01:29   #37
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,639
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Stephen Hawking used amiga speech generator under WinUAE on a laptop ?!

Interesting message at 0:35

[ Show youtube player ]
Aha!

I don't know, but YES, that's an Amiga Workbench at 0:35, and I asked the same time ago:

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...postcount=1273
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 01:31   #38
ooBumbleBeeoo
Registered User

ooBumbleBeeoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Sittingbourne
Posts: 182
Does anybody know where I can get the 'Short Circuit' version of this.
I have tried all sorts of areas to find the voice of the robots talking... it seems this has been forgotten.
It's the scene at the very beginning of Short Circuit where the robots are being remote controlled and one is crushing ice with his hand - always loved that voice and never been able to get hold of the actual synthesis or how they do it.
ooBumbleBeeoo is offline  
Old 26 October 2017, 22:48   #39
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,639
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
Stephen Hawking used amiga speech generator under WinUAE on a laptop ?!

Interesting message at 0:35

[ Show youtube player ]
As I was saying, just listen to the booting voice here:

[ Show youtube player ]

To me it's Stephen Hawking talking
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga CD's found on Newserver andy2004 Amiga scene 15 28 September 2009 09:00
Found an Amiga bargain lately? Solid Snake Retrogaming General Discussion 51 23 September 2006 01:42
Arcadia (no, not talking about the Duran Duran spin-off!) fmcpma support.WinUAE 13 17 July 2006 16:59
What sort of game was The One talking about here? MethodGit Looking for a game name ? 19 03 June 2004 21:09
Found -> Two Tigers (Not Amiga) vivash Looking for a game name ? 8 13 June 2002 21:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41965 seconds with 15 queries