English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

Old 06 September 2011, 22:13   #1
Cooljerk

Creating a sega mega drive "c button->up" adapter?

I don't know if this has been done before, but I figured this would be a good place to find out if this is possible - I'm new to the Amiga after being a long-time console gamer, and I just can't wrap my mind around this "press up to jump" business. I've been programmed to press the button to the right of the main action button to jump for years, and I just can't seem to switch.

Thus, I want to build a small adapter which will map the C-button on the megadrive controller to the up-button. I assume I can just reroute the c-button pin on the pad to the up-button pin on the amiga and it should work. Is there any reason why something like this wouldn't be possible?
Old 07 September 2011, 02:30   #2
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!

Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
It's totally possible, but you'll lose the C-button (button 2 on the Amiga) functionality, unless you remap that to A (which is unused by the Amiga).
Old 08 September 2011, 21:23   #3
Cooljerk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
It's totally possible, but you'll lose the C-button (button 2 on the Amiga) functionality, unless you remap that to A (which is unused by the Amiga).
I've been looking up how this would be done and i don't think it'd be possible to map up to A. The genesis pad uses a multiplexer to read the A button, right? So I'd need to set it to high before such a button could be read.

I'm fine with replacing C with up, since this adapter would likely be used only on games which don't have 2 mechanically independent buttons - there aren't many games which supported 2 buttons AND up to jump as well, right?

So is my assumption correct about how to go about this mod? I just build a male to female 9-pin dim extension, but swap the pin for up with the pin for the C button?