English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2019, 16:46   #1
Kishe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 1
Amiga 600 dead after rom switch

I finally got around to dusting up my age old amiga 600 (rev1) and wanted to install kickstarter 3.1.4 and upgrade hd to sd. I swapped the rom chip and booted up only to be met by an array of different colors on screen.

I immediately turned the amiga off and rechecked that the rom was properly placed and yup, same issue! I switch back to 2.1 rom and remove the sd card and boot up, black screen.


I slowly ad back keyboard and disk drive and now i get a blue screen and weird popping sound from the tv speakers! I take off disk drive and again, black screen.


Everything worked till i switched the kickstarter rom. Now caps lock works, disk drive makes sound but no screen and the leds wont work.


Capacitors seem solid and there’s no smell, all the chips heat up...


I read rev1 a600 pcbs are notorious for cracking. Is that it or could everything be fixed by recapping?
Kishe is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 20:12   #2
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,231
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
switching on an A600 without recapping or servicing, is like performing or having raw brutal sex with a 95 years old lady.

Death is at the end of the tunnel.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 21:23   #3
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,518
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Yes, I think caps probably. Let the capacitors to be replaced, thats the beginning. Dennis is right - it is even worse if the A600/1200 hasnt been switched on for a long time. The sudden electricity makes a shock to drying capacitors.
Predseda is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 21:57   #4
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
s like performing or having raw brutal sex with a 95 years old lady.

Death is at the end of the tunnel.
Erm.. This analogy is a little too brutal! Let's tone down a little
BippyM is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 21:58   #5
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 368
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
Sure you have the chip aligned properly? It seems like some 600's have larger socket than the ROM and it can be offset. I may be thinking of the 1200 though.
r.cade is online now  
Old 15 November 2019, 23:05   #6
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride, Scotland
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by r.cade View Post
Sure you have the chip aligned properly? It seems like some 600's have larger socket than the ROM and it can be offset. I may be thinking of the 1200 though.
Even the 500+'s have that extra long socket. If you put the ROM in at the wrong end you end up with a fried ROM (Speaking from sad experience). Though if it was just the ROM I would expect to see only a red screen
Vypr is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 12:29   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,231
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
Erm.. This analogy is a little too brutal! Let's tone down a little
Yes, in any case, it should not be done
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 10:52   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,398
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
switching on an A600 without recapping or servicing, is like performing or having raw brutal sex with a 95 years old lady.

Death is at the end of the tunnel.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset to switch Kickstart rom boards solidcore MarketPlace 25 30 November 2019 21:59
[Pre-Orders] Kipper2K Dual-Rom / Quad-Rom - hold reset to switch Kickstart rom boards solidcore support.Hardware 0 08 February 2019 21:14
Amiga 600 HD almost dead after plugging in joypad and game Daeran support.Hardware 20 11 May 2018 18:51
Scsi or Ide Cd Rom Amiga 1200/600 drusso66 support.Hardware 5 10 March 2017 01:14
Amiga 600 wont switch on StDumas support.Hardware 1 15 September 2014 04:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07141 seconds with 13 queries