English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. Blitz Basic

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2019, 20:38   #1
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
BB2 Language Definition for the Atom Text Editor

Similar to my Notepad++ language definition, I have made a BB2 language definition for the free Atom Text Editor. This one has more features and is more robust, it makes development in Blitz Basic 2 quite convenient!

Feature include:
  • Syntax highlighting for Blitz Basic 2 source files.
  • Snippets with auto completion for a lot of the Blitz Basic 2 commands.
  • A fully automated build/run process using WinUAE (even automatic BB2 nag screen removal).
  • Easy source navigation with a symbols list that lists functions, statements, macros, labels and todo/fixme/hack comments.
  • Comment / uncomment multiple lines at once.
  • Code folding.
  • Minimap of source files.
  • Themes (all Atom themes work for the BB2 source files).
  • Plus a lot of other conveniences a modern text editor brings.

Please download and test the "beta" version (instructions are included): http://gamephase.net/files/linked/AtomBB2.zip



MickGyver is online now  
Old 16 November 2019, 14:43   #2
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Version 0.2

I uploaded a new version with these improvements:
  • Fixed issues with parameters for many functions.
  • Bug fixes to the help system.
  • Added snippets and help for 37 missing libraries.
  • Better documentation in 'run.bat' etc.
Use same download link:
http://gamephase.net/files/linked/AtomBB2.zip

Last edited by MickGyver; 28 November 2019 at 15:56.
MickGyver is online now  
Old 16 November 2019, 14:56   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,878
Interesting, I shall take a look when i get homr tomorrow
BippyM is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 23:27   #4
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
This looks really good and I like the fact that folding works.

I have downloaded the files and followed all the instructions as best I can.

When I run the editor, the auto-completion works

But...

I don't have syntax highlighting.
I don't have a help pane and F1 doesn't work.
The symbols list isn't working.

And...

Pressing F5 doesn't do anything!

Help me please - I would really like to use this editor to code my games.

Last edited by Havie; 19 November 2019 at 23:33.
Havie is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 23:30   #5
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Ok - solved syntax highlighting by clicking on asc at bottom of window and choosing Blitz Basic 2 from the pop up list.
Havie is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 23:54   #6
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
This looks really good and I like the fact that folding works.

I have downloaded the files and followed all the instructions as best I can.

When I run the editor, the auto-completion works

But...

I don't have syntax highlighting.
I don't have a help pane and F1 doesn't work.
The symbols list isn't working.

And...

Pressing F5 doesn't do anything!

Help me please - I would really like to use this editor to code my games.
Hmm, have you saved the config files and restarted Atom? Syntax highlighting should work automatically for files with the .bb2 extension.
MickGyver is online now  
Old 19 November 2019, 23:57   #7
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by MickGyver View Post
Hmm, have you saved the config files and restarted Atom? Syntax highlighting should work automatically for files with the .bb2 extension.
Yep. My config file looks like this:

"*":
core:
autoHideMenuBar: true
editor:
fontSize: 16
"exception-reporting":
userId: "d35e05d2-d8c6-4660-aadc-217fe2b9c794"
"atom-shell-commands":
commands: [
{
name: "Show BB2 Help"
command: "C:\\Users\\Havie\\.atom\\packages\\language-blitzbasic2\\tools\\BB2Doc.exe"
arguments: [
"{CurWord}"
]
options:
keymap: "f1"
}
{
name: "Build BB2"
command: "cmd"
arguments: [
"/C"
"start"
"{FileDir}\\run.bat"
]
options:
cwd: "{FileDir}"
keymap: "f5"
}
]
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:12   #8
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Playing around with run.bat I can now get Winuae to appear - ready to run but it's not running...
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:16   #9
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Have played with run.bat file and Winuae appears but doesn't run (after I realised that my virus software was blocking it from running).
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:18   #10
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
I'll have a better look at it tomorrow. By the way, you should be able to toggle the symbols-list from the menus somewhere, can't remember the exact place.
MickGyver is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:20   #11
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Have played with run.bat file and Winuae appears but doesn't run (after I realised that my virus software was blocking it from running).
Damn those antivirus programs...
MickGyver is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:22   #12
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Here is the message that comes up when the run.bat file runs:

https://ibb.co/C58TVvd
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:25   #13
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Can't see any message? Maybe your antivirus program is blocking some/all of the command line tools (including the help command)?

Last edited by MickGyver; 20 November 2019 at 10:31.
MickGyver is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:26   #14
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
I'm with you - enough for now - time for bed!

ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz....
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:28   #15
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Nope - turned off antivirus and same message pops up. I have obviously done something wrong.
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 00:29   #16
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 467
I may need an idiots guide to setting it up...might help others too?
Havie is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 10:46   #17
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
I may need an idiots guide to setting it up...might help others too?
There are a few things I came to think of:
  1. If you already have any of the tools BringToFront.exe, ConvertEOL.exe and WinUAEREXX.exe, replace them, because at least BringToFront.exe has been updated.
  2. You need to ensure that your firewall/antivirus allows network traffic for WinUAE and WinUAEArexx.exe.
  3. Ensure that you have all the needed packages installed for Atom (atom-shell-commands, symbols-list etc.)
  4. You can toggle the symbols-list from the menu Packages / symbols-list / Toggle.
  5. The indentation in the config files is important. Below is my config file.
    Code:
    "*":
      "atom-shell-commands":
        commands: [
          {
            name: "Execute run.bat"
            command: "cmd"
            arguments: [
              "/C"
              "start"
              "{FileDir}\\run.bat"
            ]
            options:
              cwd: "{FileDir}"
              keymap: "f5"
          }
          {
            name: "Show BB2 Help"
            command: "C:\\Users\\Mick\\.atom\\packages\\language-blitzbasic2\\tools\\BB2Doc.exe"
            arguments: [
              "{CurWord}"
            ]
            options:
              keymap: "f1"
          }
        ]
      "autocomplete-plus":
        confirmCompletion: "tab always, enter when suggestion explicitly selected"
      core:
        disabledPackages: [
          "symbols-view"
        ]
        telemetryConsent: "no"
        themes: [
          "one-light-ui"
          "one-light-syntax"
        ]
      editor:
        fontFamily: "Iosevka, Menlo, Consolas, DejaVu Sans Mono, monospace"
        fontSize: 21
        tabType: "soft"
      "exception-reporting":
        userId: "860f73e9-7355-43ae-a0fc-d099c77724a1"
      "highlight-selected":
        highlightBackground: true
        lightTheme: true
      minimap:
        useHardwareAcceleration: false
      "symbols-list":
        basic: {}
      welcome:
        showOnStartup: false
MickGyver is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 11:44   #18
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 157
This is a great development! Now I hope that Sven Dröge manages to remove the connection between the AmiBlitz IDE and the compiler. Then we would have a very competent development environment.
Etze is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 11:54   #19
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
This is a great development! Now I hope that Sven Dröge manages to remove the connection between the AmiBlitz IDE and the compiler. Then we would have a very competent development environment.
Yeah, that would be great!
MickGyver is online now  
Old 22 November 2019, 13:24   #20
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 397
Looking forward to giving this a whirl on my Linux machine.
twiggy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BB2 User Defined Language for Notepad++ MickGyver Coders. Blitz Basic 87 30 September 2019 14:43
Looking for FizEd text editor apsteinmetz request.Apps 2 12 April 2019 23:12
Text/coding Editor Torqual support.Apps 18 24 December 2018 00:18
new text editor flipper Coders. Tutorials 8 17 December 2007 11:57
Text editor for A500 oldpx request.Apps 12 19 December 2002 03:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08728 seconds with 13 queries