English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2019, 23:38   #1
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 609
SysInfo reports 68010 as being 68000. Is this normal?

Hello, so the 68010 I ordered arrived. Popped into an A500, switched in and everything booted fine. Tried SysInfo and this reports it as a 68000. Tried WhichAmiga and this reports the 68010 as 68000.

Is this normal? If yes, how can I tell if this is really a 68010 cpu and not a 68000?

The printing on the CPU does state it is a 68010.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 00:32   #2
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,340
Try jotd's JST. If QuitKey is working it's a 68010
malko is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 04:43   #3
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 137
No it is Not normal that a 68010 Shows up as 68000.
Sounds like a china Fake cpu.
Can you Post a picture of the cpu ?
esel is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 10:24   #4
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,340
I forgot to mention but Workbench can help you identify your material.

WB 1.3 -> Tools/PerfMon (see the attached screenshot here)
WB 2+ & WB 3+ -> Tools/ShowConfig

Check as well what these tools return. What do you get ?
malko is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 10:34   #5
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,340
There is also ross' "vbr.68k" that you can run and check the resulting GURU
malko is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 13:07   #6
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 609
Here is photo of CPU.



Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
No it is Not normal that a 68010 Shows up as 68000.
Sounds like a china Fake cpu.
Can you Post a picture of the cpu ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191017_092550.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	637.9 KB
ID:	64800  
Sim085 is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 13:11   #7
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 609
Sorry for the newb question, but how do I do this? Just type those two lines in Shell?



Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
There is also ross' "vbr.68k" that you can run and check the resulting GURU
Sim085 is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 13:23   #8
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Sorry for the newb question, but how do I do this? Just type those two lines in Shell?
No problem . No, you have to download ross' attachment from the link (file "vbr.68k") and run it from the shell (it's an amiga executable file)
malko is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 16:37   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Here is photo of CPU.
That looks very much remarked. :-(
Jope is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 17:15   #10
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Here is photo of CPU.
Wow that is a Bad Fake.
Thats Just a relabeled 68000.
Hope cpu was Not expensive.
esel is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 18:30   #11
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,379
Best I not go buying CPU's off e-bay any time soon then as I'd have fallen for that hook, line and sinker... So... How do you spot it's a relabeled one?
roondar is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 20:32   #12
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 609
ok, by using vbr.68k I can confirm that this is a FAKE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
There is also ross' "vbr.68k" that you can run and check the resulting GURU
It was pretty cheap which is why I tried it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
Wow that is a Bad Fake.
Thats Just a relabeled 68000.
Hope cpu was Not expensive.
The CPU sent to me does not look like the one in the image on the ebay seller so you cannot use that to recognize a real from a fake one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
How do you spot it's a relabeled one?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 20:38   #13
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post


The CPU sent to me does not look like the one in the image on the ebay seller so you cannot use that to recognize a real from a fake one.

thats normal... the image of the cpu is a real 010 but you will get another cpu. the pic in the auction is just a random pic from the internet.

But sadly almost all cpus from china are relabled/ fake cpus.
esel is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 21:03   #14
SteveMoody
Registered User

SteveMoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: South Wales
Age: 46
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
thats normal... the image of the cpu is a real 010 but you will get another cpu. the pic in the auction is just a random pic from the internet.

But sadly almost all cpus from china are relabled/ fake cpus.

I've bought a few not long ago, will hav to check them out i think
SteveMoody is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 23:10   #15
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
So... How do you spot it's a relabeled one?
Yeah I would be none the wiser as well. Really interested as to how you can tell.
rare_j is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 23:16   #16
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 609
By looking at the fake 68010 and compare this with the original 68000 I would say they use something like a sandpaper to remove the original markings and then they place new markings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rare_j View Post
Yeah I would be none the wiser as well. Really interested as to how you can tell.
Sim085 is offline  
Old 18 October 2019, 00:47   #17
rare_j
Zone Friend

rare_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 950
Thanks for the tip, will look out for this.
rare_j is offline  
Old 18 October 2019, 10:26   #18
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,441
When the markings are engraved like that, it's almost never an original chip.. They printed the markings with some kind of stamp printer or whatever back in the day.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 October 2019, 15:46   #19
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by esel View Post
But sadly almost all cpus from china are relabled/ fake cpus.
I have bought cheap 68010s a couple of times from chinese sellers on ebay and so far they have all been genuine. I know that the more expensive CPUs are often fakes (68060 are probably >95% fakes), but I wouldn't have thought that it would be worthwhile to relabel these cheap CPUs.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 October 2019, 09:26   #20
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sim085 View Post
Here is photo of CPU.
Mine looked like that as well. Sandpapered and remarked…
But, mine was genuine!
Mathesar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SysInfo reports AGA as does set patch. No AGA! pixelsmack support.Hardware 29 15 July 2017 08:17
Amiga 500+ 68010 2+4 MB RAM + WHDLoad Agony level 1 load 2,5 minutes normal? amiga2000 project.WHDLoad 6 09 March 2016 17:12
some WHDLOAD slaves supposedly working on plain 68000 don't work: is that normal? Gaula92 support.Games 21 01 November 2011 02:05
WHDLoad on a 68000 a500 - should I go to a 68010? AB Positive project.WHDLoad 4 13 February 2010 22:18
"16-32BIT Microprocessors: 68000/68010/68020" RedskullDC Coders. General 5 22 June 2008 00:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10207 seconds with 15 queries