English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2019, 02:31   #1
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
My New Gaming Rig

So I kept waiting for the Ryzen 9, 3900x to be available again but I could not wait any longer.

I purchased the Ryzen 7, 3800x instead along with the following parts:

Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
Gigabyte 2TB, NVMe Gen4 SSD
Corsair Vengeance, LPX 32GB, DDR4, 3200 (2 x16GB)
Noctua DH-15 CPU Cooler

I recycled my old Samsung 512GB NVMe SSD and my ASUS GTX 1080Ti GPU along with my Cooler Master Full Tower case.

Now i need to get another 4 or 8 port SATA interface card for my extra HDD's and my Optical Bluray drive, yes I know I'm a dinosaur
jmmijo is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 06:15   #2
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 410
Fantasic.

As we used to say on the car forums "pics or ban"

I'm hovering over a build wishlist at the moment, and it's for a budget gaming rig, but the wife "doesn't understand" lol

Equally due to not being able to easily source a replacement battery for my laptop, I did contemplate the ASUS TUF 505 with the Ryzen 7, and 1650 GPU in it, which is a STEAL right now.

But i wont........yet.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 06:17   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
You know that the Ryzen R5, 3600 seems to be the best bang for the buck.

Not sure how much you have to pay for the Aussie TAX however but I hear it can be pretty bad
jmmijo is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 08:35   #4
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,185
I'm also upgrading, 3900x, 32gb g.skill 3600 MHz cl14 ram, MSI creation x570 mobo and s couple of pcie gen3 nvme drives. Ordered a swiftech aio as I read it had the strongest pump of any aio. Doesn't really work on my current mobo as I wired it all up through the fan hub that came with it so I don't have control of the fan speed and pump separately, but will change this when I swap out the mobo.

Still waiting for the CPU and memory.....

Last edited by Ian; 28 August 2019 at 15:34.
Ian is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 15:00   #5
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
That mobo looks slick, Ian. Did you use those coolers before?
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 15:35   #6
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,185
No, Corsair before h110, to be fair the swiftech keeps my aging 4790k considerably cooler than the previous one.

They aren't available in the UK so had to import one through Newegg. Always heard good things about them though just couldn't get them previously.

It's the 3rd gen one I've got, h360 x3

I was tempted to go for a proper water cooling kit from ek but they didn't do a 480 rad in a kit so didn't bother.

Have a 2080 gigabyte water force which barely gets above 50 c and separate CPU aio instead.

Next time I'm probably going all in with a proper water cooling setup though.

Last edited by Ian; 28 August 2019 at 15:43.
Ian is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:14   #7
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
No, Corsair before h110, to be fair the swiftech keeps my aging 4790k considerably cooler than the previous one.

They aren't available in the UK so had to import one through Newegg. Always heard good things about them though just couldn't get them previously.

It's the 3rd gen one I've got, h360 x3

I was tempted to go for a proper water cooling kit from ek but they didn't do a 480 rad in a kit so didn't bother.

Have a 2080 gigabyte water force which barely gets above 50 c and separate CPU aio instead.

Next time I'm probably going all in with a proper water cooling setup though.
If you really are into Water Cooling, then may I suggest watching some of Jayz 2 cents vids on the tube.

He likes to mess around with all things Water Cooling, both AiO and hard line open loops
jmmijo is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:47   #8
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,185
Yeah, watched loads of his videos, bitwit, gamers Nexus, de8auer all those nerds lol
Ian is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 22:32   #9
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 57
Posts: 2,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Yeah, watched loads of his videos, bitwit, gamers Nexus, de8auer all those nerds lol
Exactly, I even watch some of de8uar's German language vids as I can see what he is referring to and pick out a few words here and there
jmmijo is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:22   #10
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,463
Aw man, upgrade fun... I wish I would allow myself to join in but I have yet to find a game (that I want to play) which challenges my current rig even a little :/

I'm jealous! With the way game streaming is developing I wonder if I'll ever need to put together another gaming monster.
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 04:37   #11
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post

...With the way game streaming is developing I wonder if I'll ever need to put together another gaming monster.


Resist the very notion of "game streaming" with everything in your being.

It's the worst possible outcome (imo) for the future of gaming, and gaming collectors specifically.

For me, I'm actually sliding back to the idea of PC gaming, after many many happy years of cheaper console (arm chair) gaming.

The reason is, I see the PC platform as more future proof, now, with easily be best backward compatibility by far, AND the ability to emulate ANYTHING.

I'll grab a PS5 probably, as the last "console", but the future is in the PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
You know that the Ryzen R5, 3600 seems to be the best bang for the buck.

Not sure how much you have to pay for the Aussie TAX however but I hear it can be pretty bad
Yeah that's why I think that ASUS Laptop is going "cheap" (for our prices).

My wishlisted PC build has a Ryzen 5 but the old/current version at present.

That's the great thing about not being in a rush. By the time I pull the trigger, all the specs will move in my favor. I never have issues buying last years kit on a budget

The Laptop (I'd throw another 8GB in it of course)
$1300 AUD for
8GB Ram
Ryzen 7
GTX1650 4GB GPU
1/2 TB SSD
https://www.ple.com.au/Products/6369...aming-Notebook

The Wishlisted Desktop Specs as it stands
But in summary $1500 AUD ish for:
Ryzen 5 2600 (to be upgraded to the latest)
32GB Ram
SSD + HDD
RX580 8GB GPU
https://www.ple.com.au/ViewWishlist....d-e01a97d5dc03

You can see why the laptop is VERY tempting at the price, but robs me of the pleasure of putting it together myself, and given battery life sucks on gaming laptops, what would be the point of it?

Re tax making things cost more over here, I'm not convinced that's the reason. I think it's more about "perceived value" of a given product in any given region.

Lastly, all that said....I "could" keep my existing ACER Aspire Desktop which is:
i5
GT720 2GB GPU
1TB HDD
8GB Ram single

and do the following......
Max out ram to 16GB
Throw in a 1050TI 4GB or a 1650 4GB GPU
Move the OS onto an SSD

....and I think that would do fine for a sleeper.

Last edited by 005AGIMA; 29 August 2019 at 04:52.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 08:36   #12
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,314
Rx 570 ~1300mhz, 7000 mhz memory, 4gb (rog etc) around 120$ used
+8 gb identical speed module.40$ or so
120gb ssd for OS. 30$ maximum. About 200$ total.

Last edited by nobody; 29 August 2019 at 08:43.
nobody is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 09:21   #13
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
With the way game streaming is developing I wonder if I'll ever need to put together another gaming monster.
Haha, don't worry gimby, with the current internet infrastructure game streaming is still a song of the future. Or for watching others play. Not to actually experience a game. Unless you're into lags. Lot's of lags on top of lags on top of lags.



Some of us nuts bought a 1440p @ 144Hz monitor with a CPU+GPU combo that can actually (almost ) outpu at that refresh rate without any free/g/v/syncs, plus a 1000Hz mouse to have a lag-less experience and still feel a bit of lag!
Shoonay is online now  
Old 29 August 2019, 10:32   #14
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Rx 570 ~1300mhz, 7000 mhz memory, 4gb (rog etc) around 120$ used
+8 gb identical speed module.40$ or so
120gb ssd for OS. 30$ maximum. About 200$ total.
Sadly my PSU wont support the RX. That said....RX570 + PSU may still be cheaper than getting a 1050 or 1650. That's something to think about I guess.
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 12:18   #15
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,047
Chieftec GPS-1350C should be enough for an RX570 methinks.
Shoonay is online now  
Old 29 August 2019, 13:27   #16
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,314
Maybe you need a good psu but Rx 570 will destroy 1050 easily. Close to 1060 performance or even more. PS rx570 is 150 watt card, nvidia equivalent 150 watt card is the 1070.

Last edited by nobody; 29 August 2019 at 13:52.
nobody is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 19:43   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
Haha, don't worry gimby, with the current internet infrastructure game streaming is still a song of the future.

Yeah! The distant, veeeery distant future.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 03:59   #18
005AGIMA
Re-loading. Please wait.

005AGIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Perth, Australia & England
Age: 45
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoonay View Post
Chieftec GPS-1350C should be enough for an RX570 methinks.
Looked that up. Dude that thing could run my HOUSE

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Maybe you need a good psu but Rx 570 will destroy 1050 easily. Close to 1060 performance or even more. PS rx570 is 150 watt card, nvidia equivalent 150 watt card is the 1070.
Good to know. They certainly are cheaper. PLE aren't listing them anymore so from them it would be a RX560 at AU$220

However another supplier I trust have the 560 at $179, or the 570 at $219

Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Rx 570 ~1300mhz, 7000 mhz memory, 4gb (rog etc) around 120$ used
+8 gb identical speed module.40$ or so
120gb ssd for OS. 30$ maximum. About 200$ total.
Look at the above. No way I'd get all that for under $200 over here.

Looking at ~AU$380 best case scenario.

The price of GPU's seems to really fluctuate. Possibly to do with exchange rate at time of them buying from supplier. Possibly also to do with the China situation. Not sure.

I can wait, and by the time I'm ready, meh even budget GPU's will do real time ray tracing
005AGIMA is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 17:35   #19
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmmijo View Post
Now i need to get another 4 or 8 port SATA interface card for my extra HDD's and my Optical Bluray drive, yes I know I'm a dinosaur
Bluray = Dinosaur? Am I in the wrong forum?
I have an ATAPI DVD-RW drive in my i7-8700K system and I use it quite a bit since it is very good at ripping CDs.



I also have an HD-DVD drive but that one is not seeing much use, at least not for HD-DVDs. But when I come across any of those discs, I can rest assured that I will be able to read them.


But yeah, I don't get the concept of those ATX cabinets where they have abandoned all 5.25" external slots. Ok, maybe if all the space could be used for a bunch of HDDs but many of them just have empty space there and then you're supposed to cover the front with RGB fans.. Even with a decent CPU and high end gfx card, you're never going to produce enough heat that you need 4 fans to vent the cabinet. If I wanted a gaming rig and no 5.25" devices, I'd just build myself a Micro-ATX system and not some silly E-ATX. You can easily shove an i7/i9 or a Ryzen 7/9 and a 1080/2080 into a micro ATX build and still have good cooling without much noise. Except if you're into water cooling and serious overclocking maybe - then I guess you're excused.
demolition is offline  
Old 03 September 2019, 13:56   #20
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
He really does not need it... all steam games, since he owns 1/3 of steam catalog.

jmmijo, what is your experience on hybrid HD?
Anubis is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AllGen Gaming - Video gaming centre in Rochester was a launch success! Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 01 September 2016 02:28
AllGen Gaming - A new video gaming centre launching August 28th - Rochester UK! Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 16 August 2016 22:48
online gaming turrican3 support.WinUAE 10 23 February 2015 15:44
Show us your rig chocolate_boy Amiga scene 0 26 November 2011 04:07
Gaming since... Djay Nostalgia & memories 74 16 August 2010 00:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09203 seconds with 13 queries