English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2019, 14:41   #2401
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
I did (as I said in my previous post ).
At least that bottom part. Occasionally, I've opened that bottom part to clean the ball, and inside of it, from the small dirt in it.
However, now it's stuck, and can't rotate (spin) that bottom part in order to open it, and I am afraid I will brake plastic if I try harder.
I wonder if there is any liquid, or something I can put on that part to relax it a little bit. Or some mechanic trick, to force it.... have no idea.

Cheers
Did the tank mouse ball cover bit not pull forward to unclip rather than rotate?

I suppose if you're stuck just remove the screws and take it apart from the top.
Glen M is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 15:59   #2402
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 45
Posts: 617
Back to large RAM question...
Actually I think 128MB RAM on an Amiga for productivity and heavy use of multi-tasking is not THAT exotic.
Also don't forget Amiga supports RAM disk... add that to the usage and you can actually fill it up.
NLS is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 16:03   #2403
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Did the tank mouse ball cover bit not pull forward to unclip rather than rotate?
There are both kinds of tank mouse. It is obvious which one you have when you flip it over.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 18:15   #2404
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4rk3lf View Post
I did (as I said in my previous post ).
At least that bottom part. Occasionally, I've opened that bottom part to clean the ball, and inside of it, from the small dirt in it.
Yes, but I mean completely open using a screwdriver. That might also help you with the bottom part because you can see the other side. Maybe there is so much dirt that prevents the bottom part.

RAM question:
Using RAM Disk can easily eat all the free RAM. Multitasking usage can also eat a lot of RAM. Then there is fragmentation. The less RAM you have the more quickly it fragments = slow down. Having free a big chunk of memory is sometimes useful/necessary. Some demos need at least 64MB fastram.
daxb is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 19:04   #2405
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
I suppose if you're stuck just remove the screws and take it apart from the top.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Yes, but I mean completely open using a screwdriver. That might also help you with the bottom part because you can see the other side. Maybe there is so much dirt that prevents the bottom part.
Yeah, that cross my mind too.
Thanks guys.

I'll try it, and hopefully, I won't brake anything.
d4rk3lf is online now  
Old 22 November 2019, 21:30   #2406
leeuwtje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: antwerp
Posts: 32
Glenn, and all others, thanks for your answers. It sure helps read somebody else explains it all in another exposure. About removing WHDload completely and reinstall using the installer, I'm afraid i can't return to the old version in case it doesn't work. Maybe the RAM disk comes inhandy if i have enough RAM

About a flatscreen. Glenn, do you have url links to good amiga screens and RGB convertors? For now I will try the 60hz NTSC option, since I already have it
One question about those newest whdload slaves which run only on the latest whdload version, what is making them better then the slaves for older versions?
leeuwtje is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 22:44   #2407
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,387
The readme that comes with the slave tell you what are the changes. For example: http://whdload.de/games/JoeAndMac_CavemanNinja.html
daxb is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 19:49   #2408
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
One solution does not exclude the other. Just install BetterWB and afterwards MagicWB. As MagicWB is "only" a collection of icons and a demon (that you should deactivate, as its functionality is included in OS 3.1.4) there's no problem using it both.
I haven't been able to find two of the new icons in 3.1.4. One is the workbench prefs icon, and there was another in there that currently eludes my memory. Anyone still around making MagicWB icons?
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 15:24   #2409
mrprawns
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Saddleworth, UK
Posts: 3
Does a Gotek just reuse the existing floppy/power cable if replacing an internal drive in the A1200?

And the A1200 expansion slot, I'm thinking about putting a memory upgrade in there, but is this a bad idea? ie Do all sorts of upgrades go in that slot meaning if I stick say 2MB in there I've basically stopped myself from using a whole host of other upgrades (unless I throw the mem upgrade away).
mrprawns is online now  
Old 24 November 2019, 16:53   #2410
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,288
Yes, the floppy cables remain the same.

The trapdoor slot is for memory and CPU upgrades, and yes, you can only have one installed at a time. It is also possible to have RAM in the PCMCIA slot but it's not ideal for that use.
ajk is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 17:10   #2411
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrprawns View Post
(unless I throw the mem upgrade away).
I wouldn't worry too much about it - Amiga upgrades tend to hold their value - if you want to replace a RAM expansion with a more powerful card later on, you'll be able to get most of your money back by selling it on. If you're going to get a RAM upgrade though, don't bother with an old 2MB card. The difference in cost between that and an 8MB card will be very little, so no point in going for less than 8 (which is more or less the maximum).
Daedalus is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 19:58   #2412
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 322
What is the difference in MUI with the key and without the key? This still effect 5.0 open source version?
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 20:39   #2413
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 883
MUI has a highly customisable look. If I remember correctly without a keyfile you cannot save these customisations. Never used MUI 5.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 26 November 2019, 20:43   #2414
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
MUI has a highly customisable look. If I remember correctly without a keyfile you cannot save these customisations. Never used MUI 5.
Pretty sure you can save them, you just can't use some of them. I don't know, I have had a purchased key for many years for it, back when you still could buy keys for it and MagicWB.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 01:08   #2415
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,339
You can't save the appearance settings for the core classes if it's unregistered, but you can save them for any extra classes (since they provide their own preferences). This is the same for MUI5, though you can still use an old MUI 3.8 keyfile with the MUI 5 release.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 03:39   #2416
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
You can't save the appearance settings for the core classes if it's unregistered, but you can save them for any extra classes (since they provide their own preferences). This is the same for MUI5, though you can still use an old MUI 3.8 keyfile with the MUI 5 release.
Thanks for clarifying. Would be nice if people could buy new keys. Glad I got mine when I did.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 18:11   #2417
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 158
talking about conversions from 8-16 bit to amiga..was atari st (games/programs..) the most easy to convert? and for the commodore 64's games not converted to amiga, how much difficult is to convert to and how much long could it take for a single game?
jolly11 is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 18:29   #2418
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 45
Posts: 617
Atari ST to Amiga. Yes, for games. Assembly parts could be almost identical. Graphics easy to port. Other programs? I am not so sure. Depends on the type of program I guess.

C64 to Amiga. This is no "conversion". This is writing from scratch for everything. Code, gfx, sound.

Time estimations, who can tell? How can this be generalized.
NLS is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:39   #2419
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
Atari ST to Amiga. Yes, for games. Assembly parts could be almost identical. Graphics easy to port. Other programs? I am not so sure. Depends on the type of program I guess.

C64 to Amiga. This is no "conversion". This is writing from scratch for everything. Code, gfx, sound.

Time estimations, who can tell? How can this be generalized.
Yeah, you're right, just to clarify: how difficult and how long could take to convert a game from c64 to amiga just porting it (basically: make a commodore 64's game working on amiga without emulator) not in terms of doing better gfx etc.
jolly11 is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 21:09   #2420
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
Atari ST to Amiga. Yes, for games. Assembly parts could be almost identical. Graphics easy to port. Other programs? I am not so sure. Depends on the type of program I guess.

C64 to Amiga. This is no "conversion". This is writing from scratch for everything. Code, gfx, sound.

Time estimations, who can tell? How can this be generalized.
If I were to guess, porting something from GEM/AES to Workbench and vice versa couldn't be a terribly easy task, considering a lot of software that was born on the ST then got ported to the Amiga, then got ditched on the ST (like Pagestream) must have been non-trivial, or they probably would have still supported the ST. Granted maybe they just gave in to Calamus? On that note, has anyone bought Pagestream 5 for the Amiga (either 68k or 4.1?) I was thinking about doing so, but would be happier if you could buy it once and get it for all platforms instead of me finding out it'll only work in Windows (the Linux version's demo is broken on modern systems because it uses an old version of GTK...)

More on topic of ports, would be nice to see Phantasie II released on the Amiga to complete the trilogy...
slaapliedje is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 13:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 17:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 23:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 11:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 20:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12424 seconds with 14 queries