English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2010, 13:39   #181
barkingboy
Zone Friend
barkingboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 146
Hi,

Sorry to ask a question that has probably been asked many times before but...

In the past I have dumped Amiga disks for the CAPS/SPS project on my A1200. Will these boards allow me to do the same using my PC (using appropriate disk drives)? I have a number of C64 & PC HD disks.

Thanks
barkingboy is offline  
Old 17 October 2010, 15:13   #182
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 48
Posts: 1,838
Yes, that's the point

Plus any platform that uses a disk and can be attached; some might require an interface cable.
IFW is offline  
Old 27 October 2010, 00:33   #183
Eclipse
Turpentine
Eclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 743
Slap me if it's been asked before but...... Floppies in WinUAE?
Eclipse is offline  
Old 27 October 2010, 01:11   #184
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
D'oh!

Really... these old gems should not be tortured by regular usage. You don't want a real floppy in WinUAE.

Yes, theoretically this is possible. But it's not going to come from us. Make an image, use this instead...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 02:59   #185
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 50
Posts: 510
just ordered and paid for my kyroflux.. you're not joking about the limited quantities.

here's hoping it arrives before Christmas to the Land down under.
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 08:00   #186
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
At least you saw an indicator and obtained one, I arrived home from work and there's no number beside the KF

sucks really, with my history I should have got a reserved one! LOL
Slayer is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 11:29   #187
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
Relax. We've promised to spread stock over the day, so everyone gets a chance. Retry. Now is a good opportunity!
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 12:30   #188
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
I see what you mean ;-)

Seemed to have missed out of the only premium rendition.

Never mind though, paid for an Advanced pack and a Floppy drive

I'm sure I buy a power source locally? Maybe one of my old modem AC adapters could work or I do have a variable one around here somewhere... don't want to blow the board up afterall!

Very Exciting don't you think!

Thanks Team!
Slayer is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 12:53   #189
skitt
 
Posts: n/a
What I'm thinking of doing is using an external SCSI enclosure designed for three 5.25" devices - it contains a PSU providing Molex connectors with +5 and +12V, and enough room to fit two floppy drives and the Kryoflux board, powered using a Berg connector (see the Kryoflux manual for details).
 
Old 29 October 2010, 13:01   #190
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
I did think of that too (wasn't sure though if the board itself needs more power than what is supplied by the USB connection?)

eg I have an external SCSI SUN brand enclosure designed to house 4 HDs
Slayer is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 13:49   #191
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
Your ideas are good... these enclosures are what we use here for testing, too. They are just to heavy to mail around the world. You might have noticed we have really fair shipping prices.

Just for the record... the board itself works with USB power only. No PSU needed. Really. You just greatly enhance your chance to blow it up. You just need to power your floppy drive.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 13:50   #192
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
BTW Premium will return. But shipping is ugly expensive because of PSU.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 13:58   #193
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 52
Posts: 695
Very cool then, we are sorted and best of all I won't need to blow the board up
Slayer is offline  
Old 29 October 2010, 15:54   #194
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
The problem are cheap PSUs. Sometimes they deliver +1 or +2v than expected, and sometimes they deliver certain spikes, e.g. when plugging the into mains or disconnecting them. We have a voltage regulator on the board that protects the main CPU, and we do have a big capacitor that's intended to flatten out hf noise and other nasties. Still... there's a reason lab PSUs are so expensive...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 30 October 2010, 10:38   #195
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,945
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
The problem are cheap PSUs. Sometimes they deliver +1 or +2v than expected, and sometimes they deliver certain spikes, e.g. when plugging the into mains or disconnecting them. We have a voltage regulator on the board that protects the main CPU, and we do have a big capacitor that's intended to flatten out hf noise and other nasties. Still... there's a reason lab PSUs are so expensive...
I am deeply surprised that you didn't make the whole thing soft start with a string of varying values of capacitors to take out spikes at every frequency, encase the units into shielded and grounded RF boxes, offer a complimentary lightning spike and HAZMAT suit with every one

I for one appreciate that you didn't include crap quality Chinese PSUs, it's like making sure that the 10 cent fuse is adequately protected against the blowing up of the $300 picture tube.
Loedown is offline  
Old 30 October 2010, 23:41   #196
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
BTW... just for the record... did anyone notice we started shipping? It's only batch by batch... but we're making progress!
mr.vince is offline  
Old 30 October 2010, 23:59   #197
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
...and we do have a big capacitor that's intended to flatten out hf noise and other nasties.
Loedown's right, you know. Big capactors filter out lf noise, while small capactors take out hf noise.
prowler is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 12:57   #198
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 43
Posts: 1,374
huh, nitpicking style?

but you're right of course. i did not mention we also have very small ones.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 17:24   #199
chunky_tesco
Registered User
chunky_tesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 68
Ordered mine but just wondered whether I can use Kryoflux on a mac running XP as a VM?
chunky_tesco is offline  
Old 31 October 2010, 19:53   #200
gilgamesh
Linux snob

gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
You can use the closed source version of VirtualBox from Oracle. It supports USB.
gilgamesh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 1.4.6 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 84 02 February 2008 14:29
WinUAE public beta #5 + #6 + #7 + #8 +#9 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 66 30 December 2006 23:07
WinUAE public beta #3 and #4 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 5 21 December 2006 20:46
WinUAE public beta #2 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 15 06 December 2006 11:39
WinUAE public beta #1 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 24 02 December 2006 17:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09887 seconds with 16 queries