English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2019, 19:43   #1
slammers
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Delta/Canada
Posts: 3
3.X Roms and OS 3.1.4

I have ROMS for both my A3000 and A4000 from Amiga Forever that are labels 3.X.

Are these the sames ROMS provided by 3.1.4?

If not what are the differences and can I installed 3.1.4 with these 3.X ROMS installed in the machine?
slammers is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 20:09   #2
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 287
Version 3.0 and 3.1 you have to use a patched scsi.device to use partitions larger than 4gb.

There not the same as OS 3.1.4 roms....as they have there own large hard drive support....bug fixes etc..Also the workbench library is on disk as its too big to fit on the rom.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 21:39   #3
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by slammers View Post
Are these the sames ROMS provided by 3.1.4?
No, by no means.


Quote:
Originally Posted by slammers View Post
If not what are the differences....
Too many to be listed. Os 3.1.4 touched many components, and made many more changes than those in 3.x




Quote:
Originally Posted by slammers View Post

and can I installed 3.1.4 with these 3.X ROMS installed in the machine?

Well, you can install the 3.1.4 disk-based version, then requiring a reboot. But then there is no difference between starting from 3.x or from 3.1.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 12:35   #4
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 668
Amiga Forever 3.X Kickstart is not compatible with Hyperion's AmigaOS 3.1.4.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 13:47   #5
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 471
Why would it not be compatible.

It will only mean that some more memory is used for the updated modules and the update process will trigger a reboot every time the machine is switched on.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 23 November 2019, 20:45   #6
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 668
Because they are different built. That's why.
ma693541 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battle of the ROMs - 3.4.1 & a3660 roms blatboy support.Hardware 11 08 May 2019 07:30
Split/join ROMs (kickstart ROMs) NLS support.Other 7 10 September 2018 00:54
A4000T won't boot with A4000T ROMs, but boots with A4000D ROMs 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 13 16 December 2015 20:47
Name of roms Redline78 support.WinUAE 12 17 January 2015 20:39
Wanted pinouts of 3000T roms and 3000 roms Vars191 support.Hardware 1 20 November 2008 11:38

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06546 seconds with 15 queries