English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 November 2019, 15:50   #1
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,043
Wink Dragon Ninja - Issues with music in WHDLoad version

Thought I'd ask this here instead of making a new thread, does anyone else get music using the whdload version? I see on Youtube the game has music and sfx at the same time, all i get is sfx even if the music is set to 'on' on the title screen.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 16:29   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Youtube the game has music and sfx at the same time, all i get is sfx even if the music is set to 'on' on the title screen.
If this is one of Ironclaw's YouTube videos then he usually adds both in.

Quite deceptive doing this.
DamienD is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 16:33   #3
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
If this is one of Ironclaw's YouTube videos then he usually adds both in.

Quite deceptive doing this.
Even so, i can’t get music to play on the whdload slave, i didn’t know if it was something that was missed/bug/etc?
Amigajay is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 17:47   #4
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 741
There should definitely be music playing in game with SFX. I remember it way back on my A500 and I have just done some testing. On WinUAE on a basic 512k A500 you get no music at all, 512k chip and 512k slow config gives music correctly in game with SFX. Oddly though I tried booting my old cracked copy on my A1200 via a degrader as it need KS1.3 and it plays but again no music at all! The same issue using WHDload on my A1200 so I guess the slave needs fixing to utilize the extra ram in order to play music.

I just submitted a report to the Mantis page so someone should pick the issue up.

Last edited by Superman; 20 November 2019 at 17:59.
Superman is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 18:02   #5
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
There should definitely be music playing in game with SFX. I remember it way back on my A500 and I have just done some testing. On WinUAE on a basic 512k A500 you get no music at all, 512k chip and 512k slow config gives music correctly in game with SFX. Oddly though I tried booting my old cracked copy on my A1200 via a degrader as it need KS1.3 and it plays but again no music at all! The same issue using WHDload on my A1200 so I guess the slave needs fixing to utilize the extra ram in order to play music.
Ah thanks for the info Superman, i am using a CD32 config, so i guess the same memory problem as your A1200 applies, i guess the music plays if you add some fastram to the config?
Amigajay is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 18:08   #6
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
Ah thanks for the info Superman, i am using a CD32 config, so i guess the same memory problem as your A1200 applies, i guess the music plays if you add some fastram to the config?

I would expect so but I think the slave will need updating to enable it to work properly. I have submitted a report on the mantis bug site so feel free to add a comment if you wish.




http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=4294
Superman is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 18:13   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,802
There was already a bug report on Mantis. Two are better than one.


http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=3348
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 18:20   #8
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 44
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
There was already a bug report on Mantis. Two are better than one.


http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=3348



Indeed thats a few years old so a little bump to the top will probably get it noticed. Especially now as there seems to be a few more people involved in picking up issues.
Superman is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 18:23   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,802
Well, you can't bump bug reports on Mantis. Then here!
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 20 November 2019, 21:19   #10
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman View Post
I would expect so but I think the slave will need updating to enable it to work properly. I have submitted a report on the mantis bug site so feel free to add a comment if you wish.


http://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=4294
Yeah i think your right, tried with loads of fastram and more chipmem still no music playing.
Amigajay is online now  
Old 22 November 2019, 12:56   #11
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,082
Isn't there a key to press during gameplay for music/fx toggle? I vaguely recall there was.
vulture is offline  
Old 22 November 2019, 21:24   #12
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Isn't there a key to press during gameplay for music/fx toggle? I vaguely recall there was.
Sound FX are on no matter what.

The key to toggle music on / off in-game is the same one as what you use on the title screen i.e. <F3>:



Problem with the WHDLoad version though is that it doesn't seem to be setup to use 1MB of RAM so no music at all.

Last edited by DamienD; 22 November 2019 at 21:29.
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 November 2019, 03:01   #13
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,082
ah! ok, I understand what you mean now.
So, maybe, a feature to setup the available ram via tooltype in whdload would be useful in such cases.
vulture is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 15:16   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,662
Thread split from Dragon Ninja

Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
So, maybe, a feature to setup the available ram via tooltype in whdload would be useful in such cases.
The WHDLoad version just need to be fixed in source to use 1MB RAM instead of only 512KB (hence then no music).
DamienD is online now  
Old 24 November 2019, 17:23   #15
lmimmfn
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mullingar
Posts: 58
Jotb put a beta version in the zone in August which has the music
lmimmfn is offline  
Old 27 November 2019, 13:51   #16
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 1,082
Yes, what I meant was, that maybe, a more generic feature could be built into whdload to report a specified amount of RAM via a tooltype and have no need for specific patches per game.



Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thread split from Dragon Ninja


The WHDLoad version just need to be fixed in source to use 1MB RAM instead of only 512KB (hence then no music).
vulture is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dragon ninja whdload nomusic turrican3 support.Games 15 04 December 2019 01:28
whdload version of drakkhen issues rmcin329 support.Games 1 05 September 2012 23:24
Dragon Ninja Kitty request.Old Rare Games 4 08 April 2011 17:38
Problem with Dragon's lair (WHDload version) Amigamancer support.Games 6 22 March 2005 18:06
Double Dragon 2 WHDLoad - No title music ? Konrad support.Games 13 11 September 2003 20:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08085 seconds with 15 queries