English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 November 2019, 11:27   #1
aeberbach
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 93
SysInfo screen; fake 68030?

I have an image from a "MC68030RC50C" that someone sent me. It isn't suspiciously cheap but I'm not sure. Output from whichamiga isn't available. Does the following "(MMU NOT ENABLED)" indicate that this is a fake 68030? I'm thinking possible 68EC030 if no MMU.

https://imgur.com/uVZNAKw

https://imgur.com/IMtQXXU

The CPU isn't suspiciously new or anything, looks like it could be real. No real reason to doubt other than so many stories about fake CPUs around.
aeberbach is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 11:35   #2
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeberbach View Post
Does the following "(MMU NOT ENABLED)" indicate that this is a fake 68030?
Nope. It just indicates it's not currently in use.
meynaf is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 12:26   #3
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 520
Screen shot of my known good full 030. Exactly the same message showing MMU not in use. I must check if this message goes away after installing the MMU libraries.

Glen M is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 12:42   #4
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
It does remove the NOT in front of the IN USE. In WB 3.1 you can just try type the command CPU FastROM in shell and it makes use of the MMU to protect the kickstart now mapped to RAM. This speeds up the IDE too. For WB 3.1.4 I think this command was removed, hence you'll have to install MMULibs.
jbilander is offline  
Old 21 November 2019, 13:58   #5
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbilander View Post
It does remove the NOT in front of the IN USE. In WB 3.1 you can just try type the command CPU FastROM in shell and it makes use of the MMU to protect the kickstart now mapped to RAM. This speeds up the IDE too. For WB 3.1.4 I think this command was removed, hence you'll have to install MMULibs.
Yes I can confirm with MMU installed and the fast rom command used it adds about 3-400kbps to the speed on the HDD. Also increased my MIPS to 10.52 and confused the clock speed in sysinfo into reading 60mhz but its actually 54.
Glen M is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OozeAGA Freeware or Fake? James Retrogaming General Discussion 0 03 February 2013 17:04
Blakestone (fake or unreleased?) s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 05 November 2012 21:59
Fake member explosion? pmc project.EAB 36 30 January 2012 15:08
Fake Turrican I and II for CDTV DonAmiga MarketPlace 41 03 May 2011 17:30
Fake game covers! Akira Retrogaming General Discussion 15 12 June 2002 10:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06681 seconds with 15 queries