English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2019, 23:28   #1
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
A500 Classic520 Review

Well,I just got my Classic520 in the mail the other day and I have to say that this is probably one of the BEST accelerator solutions I've ever seen.

This Board gives your A500....
1. Motorola 68EC020 @ 28mhz
2. 8 Megs of Fast Ram
3. Flash Rom ability
4. CF card slot for bootable HDD support
5. SD card Slot Hot Swapable with FAT32 Support
6. 40pin IDE support for CDrom Option

It's fast and smooth. booted right up from my already existing CF card (Originally made for the HC508)
Games run great and WHDload Compatibility is awesome.

Price for the USA was about $202.00 shipped.
Well worth the money in my opinion.

Last edited by kjmann14; 14 November 2019 at 23:37.
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 14:00   #2
LezRed
Registered User

LezRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmann14 View Post
Well,I just got my Classic520 in the mail the other day and I have to say that this is probably one of the BEST accelerator solutions I've ever seen.

This Board gives your A500....
1. Motorola 68EC020 @ 28mhz
2. 8 Megs of Fast Ram
3. Flash Rom ability
4. CF card slot for bootable HDD support
5. SD card Slot Hot Swapable with FAT32 Support
6. 40pin IDE support for CDrom Option

It's fast and smooth. booted right up from my already existing CF card (Originally made for the HC508)
Games run great and WHDload Compatibility is awesome.

Price for the USA was about $202.00 shipped.
Well worth the money in my opinion.

Sounds like you got yourself a good device. I've just returned to physical Amiga ownership and couldn't decide between this and the ACA 500plus. In the end I went with the 500plus as built in Action Replay really appealed for some reason (it was one bit of kit I never owned but wanted back in the early 90's.) and I decided I can choose to add a faster ACA accelerator and network card later if I really get back into it past playing the usual platformers and pinball games.

...but having a 020 @ 28MHZ and 8GB out the box makes the 520Classic a perfect device for the vast majority of WHDLoad OCS/ECS games as far as I am concerned. I suspect there are only a couple where a faster CPU is needed - it must be about as quick as a stock Amiga 3000. Are you planning to make or get a case for it?
LezRed is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 16:29   #3
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Well, it out runs an Amiga 3000 by about 20%. I'm pleased with the performance. Obliterator by psygnosis runs great.
I'm looking for a case for it, but haven't found anyone selling one yet.
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:07   #4
lord of time
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 129
looks like a nice device - bit of a missed opertunity with ram... if it had the full 020 they could add way more ram than 8meg abit like the TF330 for the CD32! but still for the money and ease of use a nice step up for the trusty 500!!!
lord of time is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:38   #5
LezRed
Registered User

LezRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord of time View Post
looks like a nice device - bit of a missed opertunity with ram... if it had the full 020 they could add way more ram than 8meg abit like the TF330 for the CD32! but still for the money and ease of use a nice step up for the trusty 500!!!
Humour me, what do you run that needs more than 8MB fast RAM? Surely there are no games that can use more, are there?
LezRed is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:43   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by LezRed View Post
Humour me, what do you run that needs more than 8MB fast RAM? Surely there are no games that can use more, are there?
Multi disk adventure games run under WHDLoad need quite a bit of RAM for the preload. Without preload you get really slow loading and a lot of blinking as WHDLoad switches multitasking on and off..

Of course these can be HD installed without WHDLoad, sometimes they even work on an expanded Amiga. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:51   #7
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Well the only game that I have personally seen that 8meg is not enough for is, Beneath A Steel Sky (a 12 disk game).
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:53   #8
Bren McGuire
Registered User

Bren McGuire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Croydon
Posts: 34
You can install that without WHDLoad and it would run fine.
Also there's JOTD's CD32Load which doesn't do "blinking".
Bren McGuire is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 18:57   #9
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Does CD32Load work on a non-AGA machine?
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 19:04   #10
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,989
Would be nice to see a SysInfo screen of the hardware

UPDATE: Ignore that, it is here : http://irixlabs.com/c520

Not bad at all. Considering the price, most A500 accelerators are around the £150 or so mark?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 19:10   #11
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Here you go....

Oops, sorry. I was a little slow posting this. =)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	c520-speedtest.gif
Views:	51
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	65199  
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 19:22   #12
LezRed
Registered User

LezRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4
Very nice



What's the disk through-put rate on the SD card come out at?


I've just taken delivery of a new PSU, my ACA500 plus now seems to stable on my 500+ at 42MHz - on the original PSU it usually failed to load WB (probably needed new caps).



I'm now getting 3369 Dhrystones / 3.51 Mips and almost 3.8MB/s disk throughput in Sysinfo. Not as quick as your 520 but it's quicker than my old A1200 with fast ram back in the day so I'm pleased
LezRed is offline  
Old 18 November 2019, 19:25   #13
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by LezRed View Post
What's the disk through-put rate on the SD card come out at?
Not sure. I'll check tonight after work.
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 00:14   #14
lord of time
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by LezRed View Post
Humour me, what do you run that needs more than 8MB fast RAM? Surely there are no games that can use more, are there?
Nothing - just saying that if your going that far you may as well have the extra becasue why the hell not!
lord of time is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 05:14   #15
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Disk speed according to SysInfo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191118_191211.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	675.3 KB
ID:	65212   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191118_191151.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	713.4 KB
ID:	65213  
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 12:40   #16
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
Picture on product site shows IDE drive speed of ~5.5 and youtube video ~6.5 so you should be able to crank it up significantly from your ~3.3 reading. This probably involves using the 512k FlashROM on card. Normally in WB 3.1 you load ROM into Fast RAM by typing the CPU FastROM command in Shell or add in Startup-Sequence but I think that command requires a MMU which an 020-processor doesn't have built-in. SD-card speed is fine though.
jbilander is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 16:14   #17
LezRed
Registered User

LezRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord of time View Post
Nothing - just saying that if your going that far you may as well have the extra becasue why the hell not!

I can't fault that logic, it's the sort of thing that affirms why I should invest in an ACA 1233n to occupy the upgrade slot on my ACA 500plus...


...I really should have just got a 520classic, better for the bank account
LezRed is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 07:57   #18
Dynamic_Computi
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 147
I just put up a video review of the 520 Classic on my 10 Minute Amiga Retro Cast channel yesterday. Take a look if you want to see what it can do!
[ Show youtube player ]
Dynamic_Computi is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 08:58   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dynamic_Computi View Post
I just put up a video review of the 520 Classic on my 10 Minute Amiga Retro Cast channel yesterday. Take a look if you want to see what it can do!
[ Show youtube player ]
Youtubers: please advertise your channels in the existing thread about your channel. I see you already posted this there, that should suffice. Good luck with your viewer/subscriber count.

Please discuss in text on support.Hardware and avoid linking to external sites which will probably disappear before EAB does.

Thanks.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help identifying a review Galaxy AMR data problems 4 13 June 2008 00:22
It's.....Guess the Review Dizzy EAB's competition 12 27 November 2007 20:30
funniest review ever!!! jenzie Nostalgia & memories 0 24 February 2006 02:08
Amiga OS XL review LaundroMat Amiga scene 2 06 February 2002 17:05
Amiga DE Review Amigaboy Amiga scene 8 09 November 2001 05:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09754 seconds with 16 queries