English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2019, 04:03   #81
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 44
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vojo View Post
A new version is coming (in a few weeks), with support for ADZ, DMS and HFE files
That's very useful! Especially if you can mount .dms files. (Because AFAIK dms only allows to extract to trackdisk.device and not to hdd-folders (like un-adf)).
Nightshft is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 09:03   #82
Vojo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cieszyn/Poland
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshft View Post
That's very useful! Especially if you can mount .dms files. (Because AFAIK dms only allows to extract to trackdisk.device and not to hdd-folders (like un-adf)).
In the new GoADF version, DMS/ADZ/HFE files can be mounted like ADF. But you'll need more RAM for this, minimum 2 MB (FAST recommended)
Vojo is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 11:00   #83
jvidia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cascais / Portugal
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vojo View Post
In the new GoADF version, DMS/ADZ/HFE files can be mounted like ADF. But you'll need more RAM for this, minimum 2 MB (FAST recommended)
GOOD WORK!

2mb is not the problem for people like me who have an ACA500Plus .... the compatibility with the MC68SEC000 is

PLEASE think about this issue

Last edited by jvidia; 06 November 2019 at 17:15.
jvidia is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 22:47   #84
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vojo View Post
In the new GoADF version, DMS/ADZ/HFE files can be mounted like ADF. But you'll need more RAM for this, minimum 2 MB (FAST recommended)
Just registered it. Asked DMS support and got it. Thanks.

For me DMS is much more valuable than ADF
utri007 is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 23:33   #85
jvidia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cascais / Portugal
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Just registered it. Asked DMS support and got it. Thanks.

For me DMS is much more valuable than ADF
Great to see Vojo listening to us
jvidia is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 23:57   #86
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vojo View Post
In the new GoADF version, DMS/ADZ/HFE files can be mounted like ADF. But you'll need more RAM for this, minimum 2 MB (FAST recommended)
Just wondering is "new GoADF" version current 1.2.1 build 1730 or future version?
utri007 is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 00:50   #87
Vojo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cieszyn/Poland
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
Just wondering is "new GoADF" version current 1.2.1 build 1730 or future version?

Look at post #79

I'm finish it, new version for registered users will be avaible really soon
Vojo is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 09:47   #88
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 249
Yeah! I can't wait!
jurassicman is online now  
Old 08 November 2019, 23:56   #89
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,878
Not tried this yet, but I must say.. It looks quality!
BippyM is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 11:13   #90
Alpha One
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 97
Hi, may I ask what kind of font you are using? It looks amazing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vojo View Post
thank you, I've already sent the key to you



PS. A new version is coming (in a few weeks), with support for ADZ, DMS and HFE files - first for registered users, as thanks for their support


Alpha One is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 12:05   #91
Vojo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cieszyn/Poland
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
Hi, may I ask what kind of font you are using? It looks amazing.
Look at post #57
Vojo is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 16:12   #92
mr.spiv
Registered User
mr.spiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 86
Slightly unrelated question.. any of these "friendly" formats support 16 byte "Sector Label Area" that is available for OFS/FFS trackdisk device?
mr.spiv is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 17:45   #93
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.spiv View Post
Slightly unrelated question.. any of these "friendly" formats support 16 byte "Sector Label Area" that is available for OFS/FFS trackdisk device?
HFE and extended ADF and other MFM formats will support that, but ADF, DMS and similar cooked sector dump formats will not contain that.
Jope is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 18:11   #94
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,367
In theory ADF could easily support sector headers because ADF is only supposed to support up to 82 tracks.

80 tracks including sector headers would become (80 * 11 * 2 * (512 + 16)) = 929280 bytes. 82 track standard adf is only 923648 bytes. Misdetection is not possible.

HD ADFs won't also cause problem, they are far bigger.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2019, 19:51   #95
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
I guess if you make it so, then it will be the new standard. Somehow I feel it might be a better idea to just leave .adf alone and invent a new extension for these? Loads of people using old tools will get confused once these images start showing up. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 09 November 2019, 20:31   #96
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,367
HD disk ADF or extended adf (which uses same extension) probably already breaks them. Data in sector header is also almost useless, creating yet another format/extension isn't worth the trouble.

Only remaining question, where to put extra sector header data:

Interleaved 1 (header, data, header data..)

Interleaved 2 (data, header, data, header)

Not interleaved (data, data, ... data, header, header.. header). This is too stupid way, manual hex-editing/checking would be really annoying but it also would be compatible with existing software, at least partly.

Interleaved 2 would be my choice.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2019, 21:26   #97
mr.spiv
Registered User
mr.spiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 86
I am kinda tempted to use that extra 27.5KB but if none of the widely used "standard" formats use it, then it does not exists in practise.
mr.spiv is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 11:38   #98
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Only remaining question, where to put extra sector header data:

Interleaved 2 would be my choice.
Not interleaving it would make it easiest to strip it out for old tools, no new code needed, only dd or some other method for truncating the file.

I hope people would't include this data unless it is really needed, so images like this would probably be an exception rather than the norm. In reality I'm sure we'll start seeing these images even when it's not useful, because more data must be better.. :-)

Interleaved 2 sounds like the easiest way, you can easily ignore it from the end of a track buffer if it is not interesting in some particular application. Writing a label stripper is also a programming 101 level task.
Jope is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 21:55   #99
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,367
"16 byte sector headers + 512 byte data" interleaved format support added. Only enabled if ADF file size is exactly (80 to 82) * (512 + 16) * (11 or 22) * 2. GUI "new disk" option won't be added!
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 November 2019, 22:34   #100
Vojo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Cieszyn/Poland
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"16 byte sector headers + 512 byte data" interleaved format support added. Only enabled if ADF file size is exactly (80 to 82) * (512 + 16) * (11 or 22) * 2. GUI "new disk" option won't be added!
GoADF will support this.
Vojo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your favourite Amiga filemanager/directory tool mr_a500 Amiga scene 65 01 April 2019 21:56
Amiga World Tool Chest Disks ricky500 request.Other 4 02 October 2010 01:56
Amiga Search Tool (for craigslist) Crackersixx Amiga scene 3 01 February 2008 02:58
uae-configuration Amiga tool is buggy hexaae support.WinUAE 9 31 May 2007 20:36
Vector graphics tool for Amiga? Akira request.Apps 8 22 October 2001 18:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09312 seconds with 15 queries