English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 October 2019, 00:50   #21
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
i guess its not the firmware bug then


have you tried the newest version of loadmodule on aminet, and using the reverse statement?
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 21:21   #22
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
did you manage to solve the issue @solarmon ?
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 17 October 2019, 23:14   #23
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 617
I had some time to try again this evening.

Long story short, tried both LoadModule versions (1.1 and 45.15) from Aminet and none of them made any differrence that got the CF to work in 8MB. So I've reverted back to the original LoadModule (40.11) that came with ClassicWB.

Has anybody got their CF to working with Kickstart 3.0 and 8MB mode?
solarmon is offline  
Old 18 October 2019, 04:14   #24
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
only other things i can think of



- does the 8mb card work fully if there is no pcmcia card inserted?
try sysinfo to see if it detects all the ram


- maybe daedalus is wrong and the cardres.lha is needed with 3.0 roms aswell


- maybe your card works in a different way to older cards or accelerator cards
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 17:15   #25
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
i have since upgraded my marpet m1207 ram expansion to 8mb


and i can also state that, even with kickstart 3.0 roms, the pcmcia doesnt work correctly when 8mb is being used.


inserting a pcmcia card when workbench is active AND the 8mb is active will crash workbench. under 4mb the pcmcia will work as normal and i can access the compact flash.



and inserting one before booting will stall the boot with scsi.device and load module errors.


so theres definitely wrong information here somewhere.
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 17:34   #26
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Which PCMCIA card are you using?
Jope is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 18:22   #27
liquidsmoke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Which PCMCIA card are you using?

one like this


https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PCMCIA-CF...4AAOSwl1lcVf1w


with a 64mb sandisk compact flash card

these are my rom chips in the amiga 1200
https://imgur.com/a/0meHVSZ

this is the ram expansion card
https://imgur.com/a/pbTmopt

Last edited by liquidsmoke; 27 October 2019 at 18:27.
liquidsmoke is offline  
Old 27 October 2019, 20:29   #28
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,450
Ok, I would have expected that combo to work to be honest. I wonder what cards people have had success with then. I don't currently own any 24bit trapdoor cards to test with myself. :-/
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 4mb-8mb fast ram expansion kipper2k Hardware mods 143 26 May 2019 00:37
A600 8MB Fast Ram Memory Expansion KhneFr MarketPlace 5 12 May 2015 14:36
Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 nkarytia support.Hardware 10 16 September 2011 14:37
A608, 8Mb fast RAM for A600 orange support.Hardware 29 30 October 2010 18:56
A1200 8MB Fast Ram Card + FPU @ 40mhz Zetr0 MarketPlace 14 23 July 2010 22:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07349 seconds with 15 queries