English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2019, 16:57   #1
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 137
Reproduction PPC/060 Developer board?

Is logic information available that could be used to reproduce something like the Phase5 PPC/060 developer board? A plug-in daughter board like this would be great for expanding current 060 boards to PPC and being able to run OS4 on more classic Amigas. Better than just updating 040 cards to 060s.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 17:18   #2
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 137
no, nothing is available.
esel is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 18:52   #3
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 995
And why would you. I think a hybrid 680x0/ARM has more potential, see A314 & ZZ9000.
spudje is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:20   #4
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
Software library for ARM is close to zero. That being said.... I think most stuff can be recompiled. I have a zz9000 myself, but not the time.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:28   #5
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
I wonder if ARM is considered for vasm @phx
Hedeon is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 21:02   #6
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 995
I'm wondering what we will be able to see in the future, using existing ARM native stuff. I'm not waiting for yet another Doom/Quake port....
spudje is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 23:55   #7
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
To further derail the derail, while it's not the PPC/060 Development board, we do have full PCI board designs for a PowerPC PCI board, BOM, Schematics all that. Which seems like the way to go so it has fast PCI access to a PCI graphics card.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:38   #8
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 137
Why? Plug-in replacement for existing PPC cards with bad/unrepairable PPC side. Upgrades for 040/060 only cards in classic Amigas. Drop one in a DraCo.

Long wait for A3000/A4000s that want something like a Vampire.

PCI is only good if you have a PCI bus to put it in. Can you piggy back anything other than a CVPPC on the CSPPC PCI?
jaesonk is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 02:03   #9
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaesonk View Post
Why? Plug-in replacement for existing PPC cards with bad/unrepairable PPC side. Upgrades for 040/060 only cards in classic Amigas. Drop one in a DraCo.

Long wait for A3000/A4000s that want something like a Vampire.

PCI is only good if you have a PCI bus to put it in. Can you piggy back anything other than a CVPPC on the CSPPC PCI?

I was referring to the five different (maybe more) PCI PPC boards that work with a Mediator right now.


The Developer 060/PPC board only worked with a CS-MK2 or a Blizzard 060. It doesn't make a broken CSPPC work again.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 14:11   #10
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
To further derail the derail, while it's not the PPC/060 Development board, we do have full PCI board designs for a PowerPC PCI board, BOM, Schematics all that. Which seems like the way to go so it has fast PCI access to a PCI graphics card.
We do?
AJCopland is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 14:40   #11
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJCopland View Post
We do?

We sure do. Do you have some MPC107s and PowerPC MPC7445/7/7A chips?

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 30 August 2019 at 02:39.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 17:32   #12
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
We sure do. Do you have some MPC107s and PowerPC MPC7445/7/7A chips?
No but I had no idea that anything like that existed, is it open?
Can people have PCB made and build them if they have the ability?
AJCopland is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 17:36   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJCopland View Post
No but I had no idea that anything like that existed, is it open?
Can people have PCB made and build them if they have the ability?

Yes and yes.
But it's for PMC format, so it would either take a PMC PCI adapter or would take some rework to turn it into a PCI card.
grelbfarlk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 23 November 2011 12:42
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 27 May 2011 19:14
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz + 128MB RAM (no SCSI) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 07 April 2011 08:45
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 1 16 March 2011 00:46
Cyberstorm PPC hardware mod: 060@72MHz/PPC@396MHz stachu100 Hardware mods 7 30 April 2010 16:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07740 seconds with 15 queries