English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 August 2015, 00:15   #61
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisposableHero View Post
And did the A600 get a CD-ROM drive? My recollection was that only A500s with 1Meg of Chip RAM had one.
Well there was the SCSI Squirrel but I think CD Drives were more of a novelty idea really, not very practical in real life use.
Arnie is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 00:50   #62
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Well there was the SCSI Squirrel but I think CD Drives were more of a novelty idea really, not very practical in real life use.
You mean for the 600 or in general?
It was very useful for me without internet. I got a lots of cool tools from Amiga mag CD's back in the 90's.
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 01:28   #63
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 402
I wonder if the Q-Drive would work with an A600?

http://scacom.bplaced.net/Collection/1241/1241.php
Zak is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 02:12   #64
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 137
When the A600 came out, I was not a fan of it. It seems to watered-down and over-priced.

I wouldn't mind picking up one now though. It's no A1200 but I've got one of those. The compact size and various upgrade options are interesting. Individual Computers has a couple neat expansion pieces that can supercharge the old A600.

https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/product/a604n.html
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/product/aca620.html
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...tc-module.html
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...droad-usb.html
https://icomp.de/shop-icomp/en/shop/...i_type=OCS_ECS

They have a bunch of other cool expansions too for various Amiga models from the low-end to the high-end.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 29 August 2015, 12:41   #65
Michael Sykes
WinUAE end user

Michael Sykes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bremen
Age: 40
Posts: 646
Is it possible to add numeric keys to the 600 with rapidroad-usb?
And if so, they would only work from the OS, right?
Michael Sykes is offline  
Old 31 August 2015, 13:28   #66
jiffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 53
Back then, I couldn't be bothered as I already had an A500 with flickerfixer, SCSI harddrive and fastram.

Now, it's one of my favourite models, the one I use the most, thanks to several nice expansions such as a 4 GB flashdrive, ACA 630/25, Indivision ECS, KS31 and the A604. Compact, fast, reliable.

Only a few things to do: get a new PSU (the old one still works, but it's, well, old) and get the caps replaced to ensure it keeps working for the foreseeable future.
jiffy is offline  
Old 03 September 2015, 15:45   #67
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
The A600 is a great little computer and will soon be the fastest and also have external PC PS/2 and USB keyboard support, whats not to love!
kipper2k is offline  
Old 03 September 2015, 16:48   #68
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sykes View Post
Is it possible to add numeric keys to the 600 with rapidroad-usb?
And if so, they would only work from the OS, right?
Yes, you can use a USB keyboard with RapidRoad, but as you write it will only work with OS friendly software.
demolition is offline  
Old 03 September 2015, 17:46   #69
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
you won't need rapidroad for full keyboard/keypad and external PS/2 and HID compliant external keyboards
kipper2k is offline  
Old 03 September 2015, 18:45   #70
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 45
Posts: 1,582
The A600 might have, by a bunch of lucky coincidences, become a nice little machine to have.. ( I got mine not that long ago) but back when it was released, it sucked. :-)
@kipper do you have an official release date for your adapter? ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 04 September 2015, 15:42   #71
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 399
I have a lot of love for the A600 as it's what my best friend at the time had before I got my own A1200. So I have very fond memories of playing on it. I was actually a little jealous when I did eventually get my A1200 as he was my main source of games (ahem) and many wouldn't run on my A1200. I remember Striker was great on his A600, but stupidly fast on my A1200
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 06:03   #72
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,138
I love my A600. She has a USB Numeric Keypad/Hub, and is fast enough to run Photoshop in MacOS.

Cammy is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 06:30   #73
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
I love my A600. She has a USB Numeric Keypad/Hub
Where's the Hub? I wanna see the Hub , is that it, the black box in the background?
Arnie is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 07:03   #74
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Where's the Hub? I wanna see the Hub , is that it, the black box in the background?
Yeah, it's a black keypad and it has a couple of USB ports on it. I only hooked up one USB port from my Subway to a hole cut in the case above the PCMCIA port, so I plug my other devices into the keypad/hub.
Cammy is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 08:05   #75
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
I love my A600. She has a USB Numeric Keypad/Hub, and is fast enough to run Photoshop in MacOS.
Nice computer (and photo)! By the way, whats the processor on it, its expanded, no?? Totally off-topic, but when you and RebelCD32 will release DreamScape, I love all your artwork.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 09:36   #76
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Age: 34
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Nice computer (and photo)! By the way, whats the processor on it, its expanded, no?? Totally off-topic, but when you and RebelCD32 will release DreamScape, I love all your artwork.
Thanks! Although we have a few other projects which are taking priority at the moment, Dreamscape is still on the cards and we'd love to finish and release it some day.

My A600 has the ACA630 with a 30Mhz 68030 and 64MB RAM! Plus an A602 with an extra Meg of ChipRAM with the Subway attached to the Clockport. It's hooked up the the LCD TV through an RGB-S-Video adapter. Attached to the USB Hub I have a Rocket Launcher which I can control from Workbench or by picking up the control pad at any time.
Cammy is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 10:04   #77
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,404
Cool!
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 05 September 2015, 10:22   #78
Stardivine
 
Posts: n/a
Ha!
(Seems like my old Account was pruned, so i start again from scratch.)

I started with an A600, I loved the size, but I hated the Kick 2.x, at this point I wanted it only for games, so I up(down)graded it with Kick 1.3 and 1MB more RAM.

After a few Years my A600 brokes, so I bought an A1200 (Magic-Package) and upgraded it with:
Phase 5 - Blizzard 1230 IV Turbo-Card with 68882 FPU and 8 MB FastRAM
Harddisk - Yay 170 MB
CD-ROM (PCMCIA)

Software used:
Cinema 4D Classic V1.5
Cinema 4D V2.1 Pro
Cinema 4D V4.2
Reflections 3
Reflections 4
DeluxePaint
Xi-Paint 4
and a few others...

Now, I'm on WinUAE with 2 Main Setups:
Amiga OS 3.5 (45.3)
Amiga OS 4.1 FE for Classic

After 30 years, the AMIGA is still awesome and was one of the best part in my life.

cheers
 
Old 07 September 2015, 15:39   #79
Mrs Beanbag
Glastonbridge Software
Mrs Beanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Edinburgh/Scotland
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammy View Post
I love my A600. She has a USB Numeric Keypad/Hub, and is fast enough to run Photoshop in MacOS.
Impressive!
Mrs Beanbag is offline  
Old 01 October 2015, 18:40   #80
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 49
Posts: 835
I thought the Amiga 600 was a shitty small verson Amiga 500 when it came out, being very incompatible with many games because of Kickstart 2.0
2.5" harddisks were still quite expensive at that time, so even the IDE port was not a big advantage in my eyes back then.
So, I was very glad that I had an Amiga 500, and not an Amiga 500+ or 600

But, nowadays, I love the Amiga 600!
I found a kickswitcher on Ebay one day, and installed Kick 2.05 and 1.3, which solved many of the incompatibility issues.
Also, noisy harddisks can now be substutited with cheap and silent CF cards via adapter, and because of WHDLoad, it is possible to play many games from harddisk, not only the few adventures games, that had a native install option.
Also, since I have my A-600 placed in the livingroom, I like it's small size.

So, I think we can say that the A-600 kind of 'improved' with the years
Overdoc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The hate-love of Drakkhen Fragger Nostalgia & memories 2 20 November 2009 23:41
More Hardware for Zetro - A600 8mb fast ram ! (with love from Russia) coze Hardware mods 137 21 October 2009 23:54
Why do I hate everything? Freakyweakywoo Nostalgia & memories 104 24 September 2009 14:19
No Love Greater than the Love of Moto Zetr0 Hardware pics 15 05 October 2007 19:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09858 seconds with 15 queries