English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 April 2010, 17:08   #1
crazyegg
Registered User
crazyegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Safe To Remove Mouse When Amiga Is On?

Hi All,

I do not own a mouse/joystick switcher.

Is it safe to remove the mouse and replace it with a joystick while the Amiga is curently on?

Regards,
ed...
crazyegg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 April 2010, 17:20   #2
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
I wouldn't try it unless you have an original amiga 1000 (which had the joyports protected). It might work most times but eventually it will get you. The ports have a +5V pin. My phoenix board mouse port went with a huge spark (only minor damage though) because I was unaware that it was dangerous having previously had the original A1000 motherboard which had no such problem. I imagine a mouse with no metal surrounding the plug would be safer.

I don't know why they removed the protection for later models. Cost perhaps.
Calgor is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 17:37   #3
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,585
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
while it may not be safe, im sure its one of the bad habits most of us have since the 9 pin port existed on any machine Not (knowingly) damaged any console/computer yet with hotswapping joystick/mice/trackers ect ...
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 17:47   #4
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
If the mouse is still alive, I'd probably turn off the Amiga then try and lure him out with some dark chocolate, as they are very fond of that.

If it is dead, I'd probably switch off the power first anyway so that you can remove any leads, then give it a good shake until the mouse falls out.

Or, if you have a very small cat, you could send him in through the trapdoor and see what he can do.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 18:08   #5
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla View Post
Or, if you have a very small cat, you could send him in through the trapdoor and see what he can do.
I think a Ferret would be better suited to that job :P
deicidal is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 18:17   #6
Bronko
Remember: Shoot or die!
Bronko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Posts: 89
Send a message via ICQ to Bronko
Wait, you can actually damage you Amiga with that? My A500 survived this practice for decades!
Bronko is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 18:25   #7
Melonfish
I killed Jools on purpose
Melonfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Warrington, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 53
I was going to say my A600 had stuff yanked out and plugged in for years without any issues.
didn't even know it was an issue?
Melonfish is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 18:26   #8
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 786
Have to agree it never bothered my a500 as I groped round the back trying to plug the other joystic in
deicidal is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 19:53   #9
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Same here... I switched gamepads, joysticks and mice between ports constantly for years.... never any trouble.... but I think I remember as a kid hearing about something could happen if it wasn't turned off when switching stuff..... but like I said, had it on and switched constantly... never any problems. This was on a 500.
hipoonios is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 20:11   #10
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,762
I think there is no way how to damage your ami with un- and re-plugging mice and joys. Switcher only increases the comfort of it.
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 23:07   #11
hipoonios
Amiga Hardcore Gamer

hipoonios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
I think there is no way how to damage your ami with un- and re-plugging mice and joys. Switcher only increases the comfort of it.
If this is true, then where is the rumors comming from?
hipoonios is offline  
Old 12 April 2010, 23:57   #12
crazyegg
Registered User
crazyegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Hi All,

Thanks for all the replys.

I am not a techie but the pinouts do show a 5V pin and that is my concern.

As long as one doesn't move the mouse during the removal, I am hoping that everything should be fine?

Regards,
ed...
crazyegg is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 00:41   #13
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,612
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyegg View Post
Hi All,

Thanks for all the replys.

I am not a techie but the pinouts do show a 5V pin and that is my concern.

As long as one doesn't move the mouse during the removal, I am hoping that everything should be fine?

Regards,
ed...
Seriously, you would have to be rather silly to break your miggy in this way.

If you were messing with the 23Pin RGB, then yes, you could short something out. In my experience, even shorting the miggy out, does nothing, as you can turn it off and wait 1 min. Turn it back on and it keeps working, got to love the 25 year tech, .
FOL is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 08:40   #14
stefcep2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 175
back in the day, it was widely accepted that pulling out a mouse or joystick with a powered Amiga increased the risk of blowing a CIA chip. Hard to fix with surface mounted chips on an A1200 or A4000. Better to be safe than sorry and just switch off-its not like it takes long to reboot anyway..
stefcep2 is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 09:35   #15
chiark
Needs a life

chiark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 1,629
You can indeed damage this, particularly with mice that have metal "surrounds" for the d-plug however the damage is normally an unexpected reset.

It can't be doing things any good, but I must admit I do plug/unplug with the power on, but carefully...
chiark is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:38   #16
Cammy
Registered User
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 1,134
I've ran into many problems after people have unplugged mice and joysticks while the Amigas were turned on. It's best not to risk it!
Cammy is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:45   #17
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,925
I'm sure there are 2 players games where you have to control with mouse at menu then change it over to a joystick/pad to actually play?
seuden is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 10:55   #18
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by seuden View Post
I'm sure there are 2 players games where you have to control with mouse at menu then change it over to a joystick/pad to actually play?
Of course. I think damaging (electrical, I am not talking about broken pins etc) of the port is a faery tale.
Predseda is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 11:38   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,376
There has been few posts about non-working (stuck directions etc..) joystick port and cause has usually been damaged U15 (joystick/mouse port multiplexer TTL IC).

Switching joysticks or mice can cause damage but it seems to be really rare (perhaps only due to static discharge and touching pins accidentally?)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 April 2010, 13:25   #20
Anemos
70X7
Anemos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ἑλλάς
Posts: 1,073
best way is .. DONT turn power ON your Amiga ever! unplug it and keep it on the cabinet!
use WINUAE ..
Anemos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a Commodore mouse work as an Amiga mouse? Akira support.Hardware 6 11 August 2012 18:01
AMIGA MOUSE == Any 9 PIN Serial Mouse ????? megajetman support.Hardware 15 26 April 2012 13:51
Safe to insert/remove CF card when system is on? Dreedo support.Hardware 20 02 December 2010 21:31
Amiga 1200 with CF card - safe to just power off at power brick? kernoman support.Other 14 29 August 2009 19:31
Amiga mouse moonlighting as Myarc Mouse thinlega Nostalgia & memories 1 11 April 2008 13:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09005 seconds with 14 queries