English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 November 2012, 10:31   #1
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 106
Angry TC514400Z-80 vs TC514402Z-80 in Amiga 3000D

Hi,

Got hold of some TC514400Z-80 and thought they should work in the Amiga 3000D, when I opened the case I found out that they where called TC514402Z-80!
If I search the forum it seems like TC514400Z-80 should work but doesn't. Have tried with only one set (8 ZIPs) in the exactly the same configuration as the working TC514402Z-80 without success.

Have I done something wrong, should they work?

Thanks.
Geijer is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 11:02   #2
Loedown
Precious & fragile things

 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,945
I pulled up the two datasheets side by side and the 4400Z has a fast page mode, whereas the 4402Z has a static column mode.

There's also differences in the READ mode access times for A0-A9

More timing issues further down too with Column Vs. Fast Page.
Loedown is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 11:38   #3
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 106
I got the impression that you can use either one, as long as you not mix.
Geijer is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 12:25   #4
NMI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 43
The 3000 (Ramsey) checks if the ram in the first bank is static column or page mode.
If it finds static column ram in the first bank it will assume that all fast ram is static column!

So you can mix page mode and static column ram, but if you do, you must have page mode chips in the first bank (so all banks are treated as page mode).
NMI is offline  
Old 27 November 2012, 16:17   #5
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 106
Oki, but I did not even get them to work by them self

Will try just change one of them and see what happens, didn't know you can mix them.
Geijer is offline  
Old 28 November 2012, 02:15   #6
LTAC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: France
Posts: 128
If you mix Static Column chips (514402) with PageMode chips (514400) -and different manufacturer- you'll have some crash!
Try to use same chips and same manufacturer. SC are 5% better than PM!
I've some issues with these chips and my DENEB card!
LTAC is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE : Amiga 3000D 040 25Mhz Marmes MarketPlace 0 26 January 2013 00:48
Amiga 3000D doesn't boot TMorita support.Hardware 6 26 March 2012 12:39
FA: Cybergraphics64, Amiga 3000D & Mercury 68040 accelerator ral-clan MarketPlace 4 15 April 2011 15:01
FOR SALE: Amiga 3000D on Amibay brett71 MarketPlace 0 23 August 2010 18:19
Amiga 3000D how much does it worth? Reynolds MarketPlace 3 24 November 2009 14:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07193 seconds with 15 queries