English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 January 2016, 12:25   #1
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Game wipe :(

I'd just set up all my game directories and game database updates, thought i'd try the portable version of the dev version. Copied it over and not only did that wipe everything I'd set up, but it killed my username and password. Even reinstalling the standard version and it's still gone

Any idea what file would've caused this?
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 January 2016, 12:59   #2
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Another issue even after cleaning up everything, and re-retrying the dev it's suck on the login window, even after entering the user/pass. I had to manually hit close, then re-open FS-UAE to see if it's logged in correctly.
Neil79 is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 12:59   #3
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,409
Hi, it is difficult to say exactly what happened, unless I know exactly what you did, but I can say this:

Using the portable version will not touch your old/existing installation. The whole point of the portable version is that everything is self-contained. But that also means that the portable version will not see / pick up any settings from the installed version either (but you can of course copy stuff manually from Documents/FS-UAE into your portable version).

But are you saying that after having used the portable version, when you start the installed version, data and settings is gone from it?
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 13:01   #4
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,409
Unless you meant that you upgraded from the stable portable to dev portable - in the same directory, the my previous comment does not apply of course.

In this case, it is sometimes normal for game entries to disappear temporarily until you perform a game database update (if I have changed the database on-disk format). I don't see any reason for why login or other settings should disappear...
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 13:04   #5
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
But are you saying that after having used the portable version, when you start the installed version, data and settings is gone from it?
Correct, however further testing it seems the dev copy corrupted the main install, probably because I copied the dev folder files into the same folder as the main . You can tell it's corrupted something because now using the portable on it's own with the main uninstalled nothing is working correctly. No game pictures showing up, login not working right, it says it's imported files but showing up as all X's.

As this is the first time this has ever happened ( No reports previous from me in this section for a good few years) I think I'll do a complete wipe of the docs, main folder and reg clean.
Neil79 is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 13:09   #6
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 36
Posts: 3,409
Ah, OK, well, you are not supposed to copy the portable version and overwrite an installed one...

You can of course, but what happens then is this:
- Portable.ini will be present in the "install directory"
- Even if you re-install the installable version, Portable.ini will be present.
- The presence of Portable.ini means that FS-UAE will use this this as a portable directory, and not use Documents/FS-UAE.

If you delete Portable.ini from the installation directory, FS-UAE / FS-UAE Launcher will start using data and settings from Documents/FS-UAE again.

(Another note: downgrading from FS-UAE Launcher devel to stable is not generally supported, and may require you to manually delete some .sqlite database files)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 16 January 2016, 13:10   #7
Neil79
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Ah right, thanks
Neil79 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wipe Out Hungry Horace Games images which need to be WHDified 115 17 June 2016 01:23
ass wipe denbob1200 request.Demos 34 16 May 2012 20:45
[Found: Wipe Out] 3d Tron game on hoverboards - name? chocolate_boy Looking for a game name ? 6 29 April 2010 23:27
App to wipe files off HD Mr.Grinch request.Apps 1 14 January 2006 19:57
Wipe out harddisk Kodoichi support.Hardware 1 26 January 2005 18:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20905 seconds with 12 queries