English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2017, 16:14   #1
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Startup-Sequence weirdness (was "Minimal startup-sequence for Tinylauncher?")

Hi.

Been battling with TL and ss for two days now. Currently running ClassicWB Lite and TL works fine (also with tooltypes enabled) with starting TL added to the original ss right before the LoadWB command. However I'd want to make a minimal ss, which only starts TL (and NewIcons) and reboots, when exiting TL. This has proven to be problematic (TL crashes if tooltypes are enabled...), and now I'm asking your help Here's my current minimal ss (does not work), based on the ClassicWB shell-startup:

Code:
Stack 8192
Prompt "%N.%S> "
Alias Clear "Echo *"*E[0;0H*E[J*" "
Alias XCopy "Copy CLONE "
SYS:
makedir RAM:ENV
Assign ENV: RAM:ENV
Run <>NIL: C:NewIcons
SYS:Programs/TL/TinyLauncher.exe
reboot
Why does this not work (TL crashes if tooltypes are enabled...)?

Last edited by emuola; 01 January 2018 at 19:04.
emuola is offline  
Old 01 January 2018, 10:22   #2
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
Lacking SetPatch can cause all kinds of problems, depending on what hardware and OS you are running. The lines with Prompt, "SYS:" and Aliases are pointless in this context.

Code:
SetPatch >NIL:
Stack 8192
Makedir RAM:ENV
Assign ENV: RAM:ENV
Run <>NIL: C:NewIcons
SYS:Programs/TL/TinyLauncher.exe
reboot
kolla is offline  
Old 01 January 2018, 13:28   #3
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Lacking SetPatch can cause all kinds of problems, depending on what hardware and OS you are running. The lines with Prompt, "SYS:" and Aliases are pointless in this context.

Code:
SetPatch >NIL:
Stack 8192
Makedir RAM:ENV
Assign ENV: RAM:ENV
Run <>NIL: C:NewIcons
SYS:Programs/TL/TinyLauncher.exe
reboot
You just made my day kolla Thank you! Now it works perfectly
emuola is offline  
Old 01 January 2018, 14:15   #4
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by emuola View Post
You just made my day kolla Thank you! Now it works perfectly
Not just yet

I was a bit too eager to post the results... Now this gets weird:

If I boot normally with the earlier solution from kolla as Startup-Sequence, the TL will crash.

If I push both mouse buttons while booting and select "Boot with no Startup-Sequence" and then run the the same SS like this "execute S:Startup-Sequence", TL works.

Sorcery? I'm way too newbie with Amiga internals to figure this out myself

*edit* All the tests so far done in Winuae *edit*

Last edited by emuola; 01 January 2018 at 14:20.
emuola is offline  
Old 01 January 2018, 19:15   #5
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
I would try a "Wait 1" between starting NewIcons and starting TL, just to be sure that NewIcons is done with all its patching before TL is started.
kolla is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 09:10   #6
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I would try a "Wait 1" between starting NewIcons and starting TL, just to be sure that NewIcons is done with all its patching before TL is started.
Unfortunately it does not help

Here's how I did it:

Code:
SetPatch >NIL:
Stack 8192
Makedir RAM:ENV
Assign ENV: RAM:ENV
Run <>NIL: C:NewIcons
Wait 1
SYS:Programs/TL/TinyLauncher.exe
reboot
Also tried longer wait of 2 seconds, but same result. This is really weird What is the difference in running the ss "normally" compared to starting first without ss and then running it manually? I don't understand. Is the command "execute" somehow different than the standard way of running the ss? The ss is so simple, that this has to be something special here.

Last edited by emuola; 02 January 2018 at 09:22.
emuola is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 18:27   #7
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
Should not be different

Another trick, just to see if it makes a difference... add "set echo on" right before the TinyLauncher line, that should open the workbench screen and the CLI before TL, maybe that makes a difference.
kolla is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 19:27   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,248
emuola i tested kolla startup-sequence without experiencing any problems, TinyLauncher starts quietly

On WinUAE try a standard A1200 configuration from the QuickStart !
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 19:36   #9
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Should not be different

Another trick, just to see if it makes a difference... add "set echo on" right before the TinyLauncher line, that should open the workbench screen and the CLI before TL, maybe that makes a difference.
Bloody h*ll, it works

It was all about the "set echo on". I would never ever figured that out myself. Thank you so much kolla
emuola is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 19:50   #10
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
OK, cool!

This suggests there is a bug in TinyLauncher related to opening its screen when there is no workbench screen open already, could be an idea to tip the author about this issue
kolla is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 20:07   #11
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
I read on another thread that TinyLauncher creates the ENV: assign on its own, pointing it to RAM:, so I guess you can remove the "Makedir RAM:ENV" and "Assign ENV: RAM:ENV" lines too.

On second thought, NewIcons probably looks in ENV: ... hm.

Well, at least you can remove the Makedir-line, and just do "Assign ENV: RAM:"
kolla is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 20:44   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
 
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Age: 70
Posts: 8,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
OK, cool!

This suggests there is a bug in TinyLauncher related to opening its screen when there is no workbench screen open already, could be an idea to tip the author about this issue
I do not believe because in my test "TinyLauncher" it also starts without the need to open a shell first!
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 20:51   #13
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,893
Maybe different versions of TinyLauncher? I don't know, I don't use it, I just helped out with a minimal startup-sequence
kolla is offline  
Old 03 January 2018, 14:21   #14
emuola
Registered Whdload user
 
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 48
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
emuola i tested kolla startup-sequence without experiencing any problems, TinyLauncher starts quietly

On WinUAE try a standard A1200 configuration from the QuickStart !
You have Tool types "on"? By default they're not. You can toggle them on/off by pressing "T" on the main menu.

Quote:
OK, cool!

This suggests there is a bug in TinyLauncher related to opening its screen when there is no workbench screen open already, could be an idea to tip the author about this issue
I emailed the author
emuola is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3.9 Startup Sequence dannyp1 Amiga scene 2 04 January 2016 20:56
Tinylauncher first in Startup with 4gig+HD Ebster support.Apps 0 29 September 2014 17:42
startup-sequence mai support.Other 10 01 June 2010 21:39
Startup-Sequence blade002 support.Apps 8 04 April 2008 19:06
Need help with startup-sequence lopos2000 support.Apps 5 01 August 2005 11:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:25.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15081 seconds with 13 queries