English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2002, 22:39   #1
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
Which Graphics Card ?

I have an Amiga 1500\2000 and was wondering if i can add
a better graphics card to this setup than the one which is
on the motherboard ?

I have seen from other peoples configurations that not
only are they using amiga graphics cards,but they seem
to be also using PC cards too ? (Voodoo 3 )

Any information would be much appreciated !
THX1138 is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 00:24   #2
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
PCI cards, such as the Voodoo line, are sadly not an option for the A1500/A2000 as the necessary PCI busboard has (afaik) not been produced for these machines.

There are still quite a few Zorro II options available. While Zorro gfx cards are now quite old and relatively low-spec they can still be worthwhile. Anyway, in rough order of power, here are some card names: EGS Spectrum, Picasso II/II+, Retina, Cybervision 64/3D, Picasso IV. The last two are the ones I would check out personally. They both date from 1996.
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 00:31   #3
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Just wanted to add, that the EGS SPECTRUM is simmilar to the Picasso II (in specs) but is very cheap on Ebay these days Got one myself and I´m very satisfied

If you want to play High-End games on your 1500/2000, get a Cybervision 64/3D or a Picasso IV but also be sure to have a 060 accelerator board
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 12:25   #4
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
Hom many colours typically can these cards support,compared
to a standard A2000 ?

Another question......i know a video toaster is for editing video,
but is it also a graphics card as well ?
THX1138 is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 12:32   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by THX1138
Hom many colours typically can these cards support,compared
to a standard A2000 ?
Most of the above mentioned gfx cards can do 8, 16 and 24bit colors
Quote:

Another question......i know a video toaster is for editing video,
but is it also a graphics card as well ?
No
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 15:50   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,486
@THX1138
If you don't need 3D then I would recommend the original Cybervision 64 by Phase 5 above anything else. Sourcing one out secondhand might be a bit challenging, though, as they were last made about 8 years ago.

If you want 3D then the Cybervision 64/3D is the best value for money gfx card, especially secondhand. Just make sure you source out one made by Phase 5 rather than DCE as there have been reports of DCE boards dying quickly after purchase.

The Picasso IV is a nice card, but people are still asking exorbitant prices for new and secondhand boards.

If you want more technical information regarding the gfx cards for the A1500/2000 (and anything else Amiga), then check out the Big Book of Amiga Hardware:

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/
DrBong is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 16:43   #7
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by DrBong
@THX1138
If you don't need 3D then I would recommend the original Cybervision 64 by Phase 5 above anything else. Sourcing one out secondhand might be a bit challenging, though, as they were last made about 8 years ago.
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/
Sorry, but this is a no-go here The Cybervision 64 (without 3D) is a Zorro III only card !!!! So it won´t work in a 1500/2000 with Zorro II Slots
RetroMan is offline  
Old 28 December 2002, 18:13   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Sorry, but this is a no-go here The Cybervision 64 (without 3D) is a Zorro III only card !!!! So it won´t work in a 1500/2000 with Zorro II Slots
Quite right Retro! I must be getting old and ignored what computer THX1138 was using in the early part of my reply- d'oh!

I used to use the Cybervision 64 on an A3000, which of course has Z3 slots. It was really the only thing that made using a desktop A3000 worthwhile and no doubt it was Z3 that made the card so fast in its day. Now I'm feeling nostalgic........anyone got an A3000T they want to sell me?!!

Last edited by DrBong; 28 December 2002 at 18:19.
DrBong is offline  
Old 29 December 2002, 14:19   #9
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
I reccomend the PicassoIV (maybe I'm biased as I've had one since '96), plus you have the options of the add on cards (16 bit sound, genlock, tv) that won't take up more slots.

a P-IV will give you 320x240 upto 1600x1200, although 1600x1200 is 8 bit only, but all others are 8/16/24 bit...

the P-IV is quite happy running on an '040 system, I've never used it on less.
Severin is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 10:46   #10
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
Well i looked on Ebay.....and graphics cards on a whole for the
Amiga are pretty non existant !

But saying that a cybervision 64\3D did come up but it went
for about 100.00 pounds,a bit too much for me so i settled
for a Picollo card which went for 25.00.

It was cheap & nobody else had bid on it (does that say it all ??)

Anyway waiting for this card to arrive......will let you know
what i think of this card when i have tested it !

To get it to display all those fabulous colours and make my
Workbench look psychedelic,what exactly do i need ?

Will the Amiga monitor support full colour screens or have i
got to somehow attach it to a VGA monitor ?
THX1138 is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 11:00   #11
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by THX1138
To get it to display all those fabulous colours and make my
Workbench look psychedelic,what exactly do i need ?
You need a gfx card driver, like Picasso96 or CGX
Quote:

Will the Amiga monitor support full colour screens or have i
got to somehow attach it to a VGA monitor ?
You will need a VGA Monitor to do this (or a MultiSync Amiga Monitor like the Microvitec M1438S which can also be attached to VGA with an adapter)
RetroMan is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 11:10   #12
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
So i can't connect it to a standard SVGA monitor then ?
THX1138 is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 15:09   #13
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
hmmm, ok, RetroMan goofed, with the 1438 monitor you don't need the adaptor (it's for plugging it into the amiga's 23 pin video port)...

Yes you can plug nearly any svga monitor into it (if the picollo doesn't have a scandoubler you will need a 2 monitor system though)

I recommend Picasso96 software - on the OS3.5+ cd's in contributions - iirc it supports the picollo...
Severin is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 18:54   #14
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
So to use a standard PC SVGA monitor i need a scan doubler
and some sort of adapter to connect the Amiga to the monitor ?
THX1138 is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 19:58   #15
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 38
Posts: 2,640
you can use a normal svga monitor with the gfx card, but if you want to play a game or watch a demo (pal mode) you have to use a second monitor (or a TV) or a scandoubler to show it on the svga monitor ...
kriz is offline  
Old 17 January 2003, 21:37   #16
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 3,704
Ok sorry, I ment to say SVGA Just wanted to state, that you can use a 23pin <> 15 pin adapter to connect the 1438 to the SVGA Output of the gfx card
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 January 2003, 01:08   #17
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
ahhh, probably my mistake, I used to have a microvitec 1438 (before the amiga badged one) it was 15 pin as standard and came with an adaptor to connect it to the 23 pin port...
Severin is offline  
Old 18 January 2003, 01:12   #18
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by kriz
if you want to play a game or watch a demo (pal mode) you have to use a second monitor (or a TV) or a scandoubler to show it on the svga monitor ...
For a TV you will need an A500 modulator, the 1500/2000's only have mono composite output for some silly reason, and the older ones (maybe all) only had ntsc output so you will get vertical lines down the image

At least I did with my 2000 when I was forced to plug it through a VCR to a TV for a few days while my monitor was being repaired...
Severin is offline  
Old 18 January 2003, 10:50   #19
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 51
Posts: 526
I don't want to run it on a TV......i want to run it on an SVGA
monitor......so i will need 15 to 23 pins adapter ? scandoubler ?

Is the scandoubler just for games or do i need this for workbench
resolutions as well........
THX1138 is offline  
Old 18 January 2003, 13:16   #20
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 717
Quote:
I don't want to run it on a TV......i want to run it on an SVGA monitor......so i will need 15 to 23 pins adapter ? scandoubler ?

Is the scandoubler just for games or do i need this for workbench resolutions as well........
Workbench and all newer applications (practically everything released/updated after 1995) will support the gfx card, while most games (everything older than 1998) won't. For games, Protracker (or other, retro-orientated stuff) Dpaint and Scala you'll still need to have a monitor connected to your native Amiga video output (the 23 pin connctor).

As most gfx cards (at least the cheaper ones) don't have a passthrough for your original Amiga video display, you'll either need to use two monitors, or a scandoubler (because modern monitors won't be able to display native Amiga screen modes) and a monitor switcher (to switch between gfx card display and native Amiga display).

Beware though: 320x200 on a modern SVGA monitor looks ugly. On a blurry TV, it still looks good, but the "sharp" display of a monitor reveals the low resolution brutally. You might not like the result...
Korodny is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merlin graphics card ceaser support.Hardware 10 20 May 2011 08:50
wtb: old isa graphics card CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 0 02 January 2011 22:53
Graphics Card Wanted Miked MarketPlace 0 15 May 2006 19:51
1084S to PC Graphics Card???? pepemama support.Hardware 2 28 January 2006 08:27
New graphics card...New problems! AdamSelene support.WinUAE 13 20 July 2002 04:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10264 seconds with 15 queries