English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 May 2013, 09:13   #1
Tipper112
 
Posts: n/a
Question Does Pico PCMCIA Ram work with Amiga?

What the title says, would Pico PCMCIA Ram work on my Amiga 600? Thanks
 
Old 07 May 2013, 09:53   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@Tipper112

Hello there, Welcome to EAB =)

Now, what I can say - if the card is yes to all the following, then it will work as Memory on your A600

1. Is it SRAM memory (DRAM will not work in the PCMCIA)
2. Is it 16 bit
3. It must not be CARDBUS (usually they have a gold / silver topped metal strip near the connector)

In a nut shell only 16bit SRAM (non-card bus*) PCMCIA memory cards will work. You are limited up to a maximum of 4MB of RAM. You will need to prepare the card in workbench before you can use it, I believe the program "Prep Card" is in <<Tools>> directory of workbench.

You will be given the option to use it as RAM or Storage, after preparing the card, a reboot ensues and then you can use the card as you setup.

I will say that for very little investment you can get an internal 4MB internal CPU Clip-On adapter for your A600 (click here) this will leave your PCMCIA port free to use a CF adapter for transferring files from your PC, or a Lan network Card or even a SCSI controller card.


*CARDBUS adaptors have staggered pins, the ones you want (PC CARD).... dont

Last edited by Zetr0; 07 May 2013 at 10:20.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 07 May 2013, 10:05   #3
Tipper112
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you!
 
Old 07 May 2013, 10:20   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
My pleasure,

Here is an image, perhaps a fellow forumite might also have a card like this

Zetr0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can 16bit ram work with 32bit ram spanner support.Hardware 47 11 August 2012 17:13
work a sram 8mb on pcmcia? cpiac64 support.Hardware 11 17 November 2011 00:11
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA ram problems deanolium support.Hardware 8 15 April 2010 23:31
Problem getting PCMCIA CF work on A600 mange_lars support.Hardware 20 01 November 2009 21:06
Pico PSU for amiga in tower mrodfr support.Hardware 10 01 September 2009 08:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06192 seconds with 13 queries