English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2006, 08:37   #1
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
How to add games to database?

Hi,

there are some (from my point of view) legendary games, that are missing from the latest database. How can I add a few games on my own? I have the adf:s and the screenies ready
emuola is offline  
Old 19 October 2006, 10:06   #2
eLowar
Citizen of Elthesh
eLowar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 949
You can add games to your personal database, but if games are actually missing you should report them to Belgarath so he can look into that and if neccessary add them to the official database. Best just post info and screenshots right in this thread for discussion.

I don't have time to go into detail on adding games to your own personal database right this second (got to leave the house in 5-10 minutes), I can write some more on the subject this evening if you can't figure it out yourself and still want to.
eLowar is offline  
Old 19 October 2006, 21:04   #3
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
Ok, here goes:

Name of the missing game: Nitro
Year: 1990
Publisher: Psygnosis
Screenies attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nitro1.jpg
Views:	258
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	12309  

Last edited by emuola; 16 October 2009 at 14:09.
emuola is offline  
Old 20 October 2006, 16:57   #4
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,414
eLowar meant you should reply with info and screenshots if the game wasn't listed in the GameBase Amiga database at all, Nitro is in there, but it doesn't have any adf's attached to it.

The best way to attach your own adfs is in GameBase go to Tools > Paths
Then add another directory under the games tab and point it to where your non gb amiga adf's are. Then right click on Nitro and select add gamefile, select the new dir and browse to the adf you want to use.

2 things to bear in mind though, any custom games/versions you add will be lost when you download the next official update and any adfs you attach this way have a good chance of working but it's of course no way guaranteed.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 11:06   #5
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
Strange...

I cannot spot Nitro either from the 1.3 dat-file or from the latest screenshot "pile" I have the NItro adf:s, but should the game itself *really* be in the database?

I may have overlooked something, I just started my "MAGE" voyage
emuola is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 12:55   #6
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,414
Are you in the wrong view perhaps? Directly under the list of games it may be saying "Configured Games - Have" or something like that, just click on it to change the view and select "All Games"
Belgarath is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 15:37   #7
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
Ok, found it

But, If I try to define the game file (Nitro.zip, containing Nitro.adf, located where all the other "N-games" are) the Gamebase says "Archive contains an incompatible file..." or something like that. What's wrong? I can define the screenshot files easily and they work.
emuola is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 16:21   #8
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,414
Er..it shouldn't say that, if it works for one zipped adf it should work for any zipped adf unless there's something wrong with the archive. Try taking a screenshot of the error so i can see what's going on.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 16:34   #9
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
Ok,

here goes. There's also the plain adf-file, which I tested, but don't care about that.

Last edited by emuola; 16 October 2009 at 14:09.
emuola is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 17:18   #10
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,414
That shouldn't happen....unless you've changed something in gemus..click on gemus in the menu, then click on where it says winuae. then make sure it says ZIP under supported native file types.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 18:31   #11
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 497
Ok,

I had somehow managed to mess my complete Gamebase installation. I couldn't setup any emulators for some weird reason. I installed everything from scratch and now even my lovely Nitro runs like a dream Thanks for our help. I try not to mess things up anymore. Any thoughts why this (no emulators were available and I couldn't setup any, no matter what) could happen? I have Gamebase64 and Gamebase Amiga.
emuola is offline  
Old 23 October 2006, 21:43   #12
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,414
I've had that error before...Can't for the life of me remember how I fixed it though! It's quite a rare GameBase bug so fingers crossed it shouldn't happen again.
Belgarath is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to add config options to an online database entry locally in the launcher TCD support.FS-UAE 3 24 February 2013 21:18
How do I add new WHDLoad games to extras in GB Amiga jamespstevenson support.WinUAE 12 31 March 2010 11:40
Wanted-cd32 with games and possible add on's etc amigaruss MarketPlace 1 26 December 2007 22:03
Add a CD32 games to Amiga GameBase elec3cdreams project.MAGE 2 21 November 2007 14:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07513 seconds with 14 queries