English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 January 2020, 21:33   #2441
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 365
In Greece it's thousand and two hundred!
manossg is online now  
Old 28 January 2020, 21:52   #2442
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estrayk View Post
QUESTION: I read a long time ago that 68040 processors can benefit from L2 cache memory. Why has no accelerator ever been done with L2 cache for Amiga?

thx
My CyberStorm has remnants of a level 2 cache in its design - I don't know if one was ever made. (IIRC there was a serial interface too that I haven't seen.)
NorthWay is offline  
Old 29 January 2020, 23:13   #2443
van_dammesque
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: England
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Who here says Amiga 1200 like "Amiga One thousand two hundred" instead of "Amiga twelve hundred"?
We have a winner to this thread, this is THE most embarrassing question in the thread!

Mind you A4000 is always A-Four-Thousand, right guys? Guys...?
van_dammesque is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 00:40   #2444
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 1,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
My CyberStorm has remnants of a level 2 cache in its design - I don't know if one was ever made. (IIRC there was a serial interface too that I haven't seen.)
I think the very first 040-card by Commodore for the A3000 had a 2nd-level-cache. But that was newer sold.
I think Dave Haynie told that ... right here it is: "128K of L2 cache on-board"

https://bboah.com/index.php?action=a...053&artlang=en
Gorf is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 12:18   #2445
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by manossg View Post
In Greece it's thousand and two hundred!
In Italian it's: mille e due (mille = thousand, e = and, due = two)
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 13:14   #2446
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Hmmm, I always said oh three oh, oh six oh etc., but I guess I'm in the minority. I now use a mixture of both, depending on the audience.

It was always Amiga twelve hundred though!
Even crazier is that a lot of people pronounce Amiga as "AMMIGA" here in Germany.
The split is really around 70/30 here, in my experience.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 14:25   #2447
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 682
Fun fact

In Spain they call Amiga

Friend
Glen M is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 14:32   #2448
wiz12
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ireland
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
Fun fact

In Spain they call Amiga

Friend

It's more like "Female" friend.
wiz12 is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 21:29   #2449
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 2,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by van_dammesque View Post
We have a winner to this thread, this is THE most embarrassing question in the thread!

Mind you A4000 is always A-Four-Thousand, right guys? Guys...?
A forty zero zero
seuden is offline  
Old 30 January 2020, 22:59   #2450
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,608
A four ton...
zipper is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 01:26   #2451
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,747
Amiga Four Triple-Zero
Hewitson is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 12:44   #2452
sneckburger
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 183
Nah, Forty-hundred
sneckburger is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 13:34   #2453
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 1,144
You mean the Amiga four-oh-zero-oh ...
Gorf is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 13:50   #2454
grond
Banned

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 780
Ay-for-kay
grond is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 15:21   #2455
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 1,144
Now we finally figured out why C= went bankrupt:
Nobody knew how to call the new line of Computers...
Gorf is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 23:04   #2456
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 682
Back on topic...

Are there file size limitations on the various file systems i.e. SFS, FFS, PFS? In particular I'm interested in PFS as thats the one I normally use but would like to know for the others as well.
Glen M is offline  
Old 31 January 2020, 23:41   #2457
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,048
AmigaDOS has a file size limit of 2.147.483.647 Bytes (that's 2GB minus 1).

SFS\2 can do more, but only with special DOS packets which no software on OS 3.x supports.
thomas is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 10:44   #2458
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,593
I'm not really sure but many years ago I tested SFS2 (A1200, FastATA, OS3.1) and file size >2GB with AHIRecord (~3 hour radio record) and it worked I think. Need to be verified.
daxb is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 22:27   #2459
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,954
PFS3AIO has experimental variant with >4G file size support (official pfs3aio has it disabled) and I think normal version will support up to 4G-1 files. UAE directory filesystem also supports max 4G-1 files and larger files with 64-bit dos packets.

There must be at least one program that uses 64-bit dos packets because UAE directory filesystem 64-bit packet support was added many many many years before PPC support and I rarely (if ever) add features without being able to test them with real world software..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 February 2020, 00:43   #2460
breech
Asking stupid questions
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd.Oz
Posts: 159
Is there some hidden trick to force multiview to wrap plain text docs to fit within its window?
(ClassicWB)
Click image for larger version

Name:	multiview.PNG
Views:	103
Size:	9.9 KB
ID:	66070
breech is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 12:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 16:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 22:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 10:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 19:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.17690 seconds with 16 queries