English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 December 2007, 17:17   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
New WHDLoad launcher - seconds on a standard A1200!

iGame is a brilliant launcher, but it isn't so fast or memory friendly on low end machines.

The last ClassicWB introduced using lazybench as a low resource launcher.

Now I've just finished writing a script that automatically adds ALL your WHDload games or demos to the launcher with a single double click!

It searches the games directory for slaves, sorts them alphabetically, then creates a textfile for lazybench.

Once the "addgames" script has been run (may take a while) the waiting is over. For 1000 games on a standard 68020, it took 5 seconds to load the first time, then 1 second to reopen! It also uses very little memory - about 40K to provide a launch list for 1000 games!

It's no iGame, but if your after a very fast and low on resources launcher watch this space.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LazyBench.png
Views:	985
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	15608  
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 17:22   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Wow, that's very interesting Bloodwych. I love igame too, but it's slow and eat 2MB of my fastram for the gamelist (1600 games). Is lazybench in the latest CWB Lite too, i didn't tried it so far.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 17:25   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
It is, but I'd wait until I add the latest additions to make it more usable.

At the moment, you have to create the WHDload games list for lazybench yourself. Once I add this script to the packs, it'll do everything for you.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 17:25   #4
Shoonay
Global Caturator
Shoonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Porando
Posts: 6,035
Cool one! Moar!
Can I edit each and every's game preload settings?
Shoonay is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 17:28   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
This is an awesome addition to your CWB packs, can't wait for the next update to test your script.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 17:29   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5h00n4y View Post
Cool one! Moar!
Can I edit each and every's game preload settings?
I'm afraid not - like I said, it's no iGame and I'm not a programmer, just ok with Amiga script files. It's purely just a very light launcher.

The ideal thing would be to use iGame as your WHDLoad game manager, and this to play or launch them with more resources.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 18:03   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
wow, all that post here have the xmas-dizzy-custom-made-avatars...!
I post too!
keropi is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 18:06   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
wow, all that post here have the xmas-dizzy-custom-made-avatars...!
I post too!
Nope, i created my avatar myself.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 24 December 2007, 18:16   #9
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 11,043
Nice work Bloodwych, as you say it's no iGame but still could prove useful
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 17:02   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'm about to upload these new packs and I'll post in the forum once they're available.

I must apologize for over-exaggerating the low mem usage - reality has now kicked in!

Here are the stats ON A STANDARD 68020 A1200:

Game links: approx 2600 (every KG WHDLoad pack)
Time to first open: 15 secs
Mem Usage once open: 850K

and after being run once:

Time to reopen: 1-2 secs
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 23:08   #11
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Nice work! But i'm not giving up on my Wangipad game-list i've been managing for years now .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 23:23   #12
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 View Post
Nice work! But i'm not giving up on my Wangipad game-list i've been managing for years now .
I've never tried it! I'll give it a go. I'm sure many people have their own solutions.

I chose LazyBench because it seemed the best tool I could find for the job. It's not without its problems and limitations though that I had to work around and iron out!

This really is a simplistic solution for all Amiga users giving the packs default WHDLoad launch support. Even basic Amiga's can use it, as long as they have enough RAM.

It's easily replaced if anyone has better solutions for their Amiga.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 23:26   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
The main problem is the lack of a search filter. So you have to scroll up & down a lot, right? Anyway, i would love to try your finished script.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 23:46   #14
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Very true, it's basic, but works well for a default install that doesn't know how powerful the target system is. I had no problems finding a game quickly, even from the full 2600+ gaming list on a 68000 speed A600 config!

The FULL, with its 640x256 resolution, displays 15 games at a time (LazyBench allows removal of the gadgets shown above for more room), and it seemed to scroll smooth and quickly. I found it works pretty well.

The script is very basic - not much skill involved. The real skills were the people who programmed the shell programs it uses to form the list!

I think the excellent iGame is probably the one for you as I doubt this will suit your needs. iGame is much more feature rich and the latest release actually seems to work quite fast!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 January 2008, 23:51   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
Yes, igame is much faster since v1.4. My M-Tec 1230 supports only 8 MB fast ram, and igame eats 2-3 MB for a full KGWHD list. This prevents me to start 5-6 games, apart from this it works fine.

But there is hope... Jedi KG strikes back one day with his WHDLoad launcher.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 07 January 2008 at 00:01.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 January 2008, 00:09   #16
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Yes, a dedicated launcher that can be booted into directly would be great!

Imagine just holding down a mouse button or having a bootmenu to select a nice WHDLoad games launcher or Workbench.

That would help save the max memory possible!

In the ClassicWB you can boot into a slim pure Workbench or a CLI prompt to launch the games, but it's just not the same as a dedicated front end with nice custom graphics.

Come to think of it, LazyBench could probably be made to run directly from the ClassicWB CLI prompt or be made to boot directly into if you required max mem. It would be fairly easy to do, but really wouldn't save that much compared to the RMB slim/safe mode.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 07 January 2008 at 01:18.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 January 2008, 01:13   #17
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Well the new packs are up.

Retro-Nerd - here is a sneak peak in order for you to gauge mem usage in the LITE version (with every WHDLoad game included).

The first is the RMB safe mode, the other normal (in WinUAE - you may have less mem if your HD buffers are large).

You can easily add igame of course as your main launcher, using this as a fallback solution.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	safemode.png
Views:	475
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	15679   Click image for larger version

Name:	normalmode.png
Views:	622
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	15680  
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 January 2008, 01:18   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,145
You lose 800-900KB fast mem, that's fair enough.

But first i have to reinstall your package again. I'm a bit lazy atm, all things running fine with your old (pre 21F) CWB Lite.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 07 January 2008, 01:20   #19
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I know exactly what you mean!

I still haven't got round to updating my A1200 for over a year!

I bet someone could probably write a more efficient launcher that saves even more mem...the text file that lists the actual links is only 100K...
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 07 January 2008, 02:00   #20
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
This looks nice Bloodwych, it's certainly a superb addition to ClassicWB (which is already pretty much perfect in my eyes).

I'm considering spending some decent time on my launcher soon, would you guys honestly use it? Don't just say yes because you want some more amiga software
killergorilla is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whdload games launcher Nova support.Games 5 30 April 2013 23:44
Whdload launcher with 2 partitions for games? emuola project.ClassicWB 3 07 November 2011 21:35
Fitting Apollo 1240/1260 in standard A1200 case 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 34 04 February 2010 17:19
Using a standard Amiga keyboard with an A1200 TheRogue support.Hardware 1 07 May 2009 09:12
Most powerfull acellerator in a standard desktop A1200? Mick_AKA support.Hardware 24 26 April 2006 21:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09696 seconds with 14 queries