English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2017, 07:46   #81
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
I would redesign the game, make smaller play area (256x192 or so) and redraw smaller sprites (32x32 instead of 48x48), and make it sort of multiload-stop action to load new stuff eg in the middle of level 1. You can't just run like that a CPS1 game on an Amiga 500 or 1200, it's too much. Look at requirements on STE, 32 Mhz and 14 mb for 16 colors.
Gotcha!
sandruzzo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:31   #82
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 125
Fast RAM will really help with these ports, because the blitter can be used at maximum without slowing down the CPU.
zero is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 10:33   #83
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,104
I would Like to do somenthig overboard: What about doing games for A1200 with 030 + fast ram at 640*400? We could try it...
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 16:33   #84
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 125
The thing is, increasing the resolution or the colour depth exponentially increases the amount of work that the system has to do.

>16 colours lores or increasing resolution to hires makes the graphics hardware use more DMA cycles, which are then not available to the blitter or CPU. Of course, the blitter has to do more work as well, copying more bitplanes.

At least on the Amiga you can get 32 colours with 4 bitplanes + sprites, and of course copper palette changes add even more.

I think a better option would be trying for things like full 320x256, or 50 FPS, or more sound channels with blitter mixing or something like that.
zero is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 16:34   #85
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero View Post
The thing is, increasing the resolution or the colour depth exponentially increases the amount of work that the system has to do.

>16 colours lores or increasing resolution to hires makes the graphics hardware use more DMA cycles, which are then not available to the blitter or CPU. Of course, the blitter has to do more work as well, copying more bitplanes.

At least on the Amiga you can get 32 colours with 4 bitplanes + sprites, and of course copper palette changes add even more.

I think a better option would be trying for things like full 320x256, or 50 FPS, or more sound channels with blitter mixing or something like that.
We should try new things... At least we have 50% of DMA cicles with 8 planes, like 4 plane low res OCS
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:04   #86
aros-sg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
We should try new things...
Half the resolution. Either 160x256 or 320x128. Whatever looks less ugly. Maybe use normal res hw sprites to add lost detail to things like faces.
aros-sg is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:11   #87
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by aros-sg View Post
Half the resolution. Either 160x256 or 320x128. Whatever looks less ugly. Maybe use normal res hw sprites to add lost detail to things like faces.
Even resolutiom like Rygar would be great, and will give us a lot of dma cycles
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:20   #88
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
We should try new things... At least we have 50% of DMA cicles with 8 planes, like 4 plane low res OCS
The point here is not the free DMA but the same speed from the blitter.. and the memory slowness.
Yes, you have 32bit (CPU) access but 640x480 is 4x the data.
And remember, you are forced (luckily!) at 25fps: the display is interlaced and not progressive.

Ciao
ross
ross is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 19:53   #89
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Make a game in Productivity mode?
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 20:17   #90
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Make a game in Productivity mode?
Then take preceding number (that is even 8X the data if you consider a 320x240x4bpl versus a 640x480x8bpl) in half the DMA slot available

I think that for a enjoyable game in AGA 320x240x8 (or 4+4) suffices.

Bye,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 20:38   #91
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Then take preceding number (that is even 8X the data if you consider a 320x240x4bpl versus a 640x480x8bpl) in half the DMA slot available

I think that for a enjoyable game in AGA 320x240x8 (or 4+4) suffices.

Bye,
ross
Yes, But we a good viewport, like 600*400, or less, and maybe less "true" color we can do it! Why don't try?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 21:37   #92
ross
Vae victis!

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Posts: 494
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Yes, But we a good viewport, like 600*400, or less, and maybe less "true" color we can do it! Why don't try?
No intention of demotivate you!

I only think that skills and energies for an AGA games is better spent in a 320x240x8 game.

ross is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 21:54   #93
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Pinball Braindamage is the only game I can think of that doesn't run in lowres.
idrougge is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 22:19   #94
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Pinball Braindamage is the only game I can think of that doesn't run in lowres.

This Pinball Braindamage looks like Obsession... Ball movement is almost same

Last edited by kovacm; 29 June 2017 at 22:40.
kovacm is offline  
Old 29 June 2017, 23:09   #95
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
That's because Obsession is a Pinball Dreams clone.
idrougge is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 01:12   #96
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
That's because Obsession is a Pinball Dreams clone.
I was talking about Pinball Braindamage, not Pinball Dreams.

Obsession predates Pinball Braindamage.
kovacm is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 09:56   #97
zero
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 125
It's usually better to have more stuff moving on screen than to have more colours or resolution. Use the copper and sprites to get more colours, and keep everything moving at 50 fps.
zero is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 11:11   #98
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by kovacm View Post
I was talking about Pinball Braindamage, not Pinball Dreams.

Obsession predates Pinball Braindamage.
They are both Pinball Dreams clones. Obsession is slightly more fun to play than Braindamage, though.
idrougge is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 11:34   #99
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 43
Posts: 891
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos runs at 25 FPS in 640x512 interlaced. It needs to CPU blit to get enough speed on 030+32 megs fast RAM. It is a turns based strategy game too.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 30 June 2017, 12:49   #100
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
They are both Pinball Dreams clones. Obsession is slightly more fun to play than Braindamage, though.
Pinball Dreams is quite different while Braindamage, as far as I can tell from video on youtube, is almost identical to Obsession (and I played Obsession quite a lot; I even made fanpage: http://milan.kovac.cc/atari/obsession/ )

I will try Braindamage. I wonder if same people was involved in developing Braindamage and Obsession...

btw
why do you call Braindamage and Obsession "clone" of Pinball Dreams? I mean they are all pinball games... is Slam Tilt also "clone" of Pinball Dreams in your book?
kovacm is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
general movie discussions gimbal OT - Entertainment 2076 16 October 2017 21:16
Japanese Console/Computer RPG discussions Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 2 02 April 2009 01:32
Given the recent Scanlines discussions... DamienD request.UAE Wishlist 26 26 April 2007 17:36
Wii Virtual Console / Xbox Live Arcade? killergorilla HOL suggestions and feedback 2 06 March 2007 17:20
Landover's Amiga Arcade Conversion Contest Frog News 1 28 January 2005 23:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22051 seconds with 12 queries