English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2014, 14:07   #81
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Nothing between 7-8 and nothing between 7 and all 9 pins from DB9..

Where is supposed to be connected ?

there is nothing supposed to show as this is the ground and the 5v terminals so the connections are ok, it wouldnt work in the A1200 if there was so i think the problem lies on your a500 motherboard, is your speedking a plastic connector ?
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 June 2014, 14:10   #82
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
yes plastic..
Foul is offline  
Old 15 June 2014, 14:16   #83
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
yes plastic..
k, i think that means you have a short between your motherboard and joystick housing, when you plug in a plastic connector nothing happens, plugging in a metal connector will create the short so your board needs to be looked at
kipper2k is offline  
Old 15 June 2014, 20:22   #84
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Changed all the caps... + Cleaned all chips with F2 Contact aerosol and all seems working well now...
Foul is offline  
Old 15 June 2014, 20:24   #85
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
Changed all the caps... + Cleaned all chips with F2 Contact aerosol and all seems working well now...
Excellent
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 June 2014, 17:01   #86
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
The adapter is at home , thanks a lot Kipper2k.
lolafg is offline  
Old 23 June 2014, 17:20   #87
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolafg View Post
The adapter is at home , thanks a lot Kipper2k.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 June 2014, 17:37   #88
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Mine too! Thx for a great service!!!
Riempie is offline  
Old 23 June 2014, 19:41   #89
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Excuse my ignorance but is the original xbox or 360 controller supported by another adapter?

cheers!
Slayer is offline  
Old 24 June 2014, 14:30   #90
Psygore
Moderator

Psygore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 482
Just to inform you that I made a tool JoyPortTest for testing the pads.
Psygore is offline  
Old 24 June 2014, 14:46   #91
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psygore View Post
Just to inform you that I made a tool JoyPortTest for testing the pads.

nice little tool, Thanks
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 14:55   #92
d0pefish
Registered User
d0pefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England UK
Age: 29
Posts: 102
Hey kipper2k,

I'm interested in buying one if there are any available.

I bought a pair of these adaptors from Paul himself a few years ago, and while playing some games at Sundown demoparty with my friend I discovered that sadly one of my adaptors had died.

Just now I opened it up to perform a post-mortem and it turns out the hot-melt glue used to pot the board and wires had caused some corrosion. Removing the glue was destructive as it took some traces with it, and I don't know the pinout, so I guess it's time for a new one.



Just out of interest are you using any glue to assemble these, and are your boards made at a PCB fab, or hand-etched?

Thanks man.

EDIT:
Just a thought, would you be willing to sell me just the little board? I can then recycle the connector shell, DB9 plug, and PSX plug/cable from the one that died, and that would save you from having to build me a complete one.

Last edited by d0pefish; 29 June 2014 at 15:01.
d0pefish is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:22   #93
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
hi,

My boards are not homemade and i haven't used hot glue on these for over a year now, there are a few different versions of Pauls boards as he has changed the pinout a few times and some required 2 chips instead of one. When i get back home i'll post a picture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by d0pefish View Post
Hey kipper2k,

I'm interested in buying one if there are any available.

I bought a pair of these adaptors from Paul himself a few years ago, and while playing some games at Sundown demoparty with my friend I discovered that sadly one of my adaptors had died.

Just now I opened it up to perform a post-mortem and it turns out the hot-melt glue used to pot the board and wires had caused some corrosion. Removing the glue was destructive as it took some traces with it, and I don't know the pinout, so I guess it's time for a new one.


Just out of interest are you using any glue to assemble these, and are your boards made at a PCB fab, or hand-etched?

Thanks man.

EDIT:
Just a thought, would you be willing to sell me just the little board? I can then recycle the connector shell, DB9 plug, and PSX plug/cable from the one that died, and that would save you from having to build me a complete one.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:30   #94
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
maybe it can help you :

Foul is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:33   #95
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foul View Post
maybe it can help you :

[url=http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=430&u=16404927]

not sure which version you have but the newer one only has the one PIC (no MCP) and some inputs are swapped
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:34   #96
d0pefish
Registered User
d0pefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England UK
Age: 29
Posts: 102
Cheers kipper2k, look forward to seeing it.

Foul: Thanks man - but it looks like this diagram shows a 2-chip version whereas mine just has one PIC chip, like kipper2k described above.
d0pefish is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:39   #97
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0pefish View Post
Cheers kipper2k, look forward to seeing it.

Foul: Thanks man - but it looks like this diagram shows a 2-chip version whereas mine just has one PIC chip, like kipper2k described above.
i found a pic on my laptop here...



I used some older version boards i had left over from an earlier design, i had to cut a couple of traces and swap 2 inputs, i clean up the flux before i close them up. Once i use these boards up (which will be soon) i will put in an order for the newer design. As you can see R2 and R3 are not required as the MCP is not needed

Last edited by kipper2k; 29 June 2014 at 16:47.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:48   #98
d0pefish
Registered User
d0pefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England UK
Age: 29
Posts: 102
Nice!

Would it be possible to buy 2x of these boards from you (without DB9 or PSX cable)? That way I can repair my broken adapter and have a spare for my other one.

If so, shall I send you a PM?

Cheers
d0pefish is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 16:51   #99
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0pefish View Post
Nice!

Would it be possible to buy 2x of these boards from you (without DB9 or PSX cable)? That way I can repair my broken adapter and have a spare for my other one.

If so, shall I send you a PM?

Cheers
Hi, i can send you a couple of boards, do you have a picture of your board and inputs before you removed wires ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 June 2014, 17:05   #100
d0pefish
Registered User
d0pefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England UK
Age: 29
Posts: 102
Unfortunately, the wires pretty much fell away as soon as I tried to take the glue off, and it was impossible to see them without doing so.

The board was completely encased in a solid lump of glue:


The board looked like this underneath (looks like there were pads in place for that second chip?):


and on top again: (a trace came away from the corner, near the component marked '128'. I assume a wire was attached there).
d0pefish is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSX pad to CD32 Steve T Hardware mods 4 10 October 2013 17:05
PSX DualShock controller progress RUMBLE FEATURE WORKING! ! Mounty support.Hardware 9 23 July 2013 12:57
For Sale - PSX/PS2 Adapters, Indivision adapters and misc kipper2k MarketPlace 9 16 September 2012 19:00
PSX games for fishing rod controller? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 04 August 2009 23:41
Wanted cd32 style controller or cd32 controller Smiley MarketPlace 3 11 June 2006 11:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23103 seconds with 12 queries