English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 May 2009, 13:32   #1
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
To be immortal ;-)

I'm new here so first of all I want to say hello!

Back in 90' I was playing a great game called Colorado. I've finished the game and lately I wanted to do it again. I use WinUAE to play it and it works great. The only problem is that I'm not that good any more and need a trainer for this game but I could not find any. So I just thought maybe I can use action replay (I have a working rom image) to hack it a little. Can anyone point me to a tutorial about using action replay? The AR instruction mention about training games but all the examples use games where number of lifes is representd by numbers. In Colorado there is an energy bar...
 
Old 16 May 2009, 13:44   #2
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 53
Posts: 4,089
Hi! And welcome to EAB oraclex

I can upload the ActionReplay III .PDF for you but firstly I need to know which version you are using

Actually I think they are almost the same as version II, so I've uploaded it anyway

btw. Do you know how to access the zone, if ou don't then follow these simple instructions http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item

Edit: It may be a good idea to introduce yourself here mate! http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=104 just to tell us a little about yourself etc...

Last edited by DH; 29 July 2009 at 13:54.
DH is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 14:16   #3
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you. I have the manual for AR but to be honest I've never used it before and there is no easy explanation for my problem.
 
Old 16 May 2009, 14:22   #4
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 53
Posts: 4,089
Just to be absolutely sure the game in question is Colorado by which company?

Forget the above question it's by 'Silmarils' and the only ones in TOSEC are only cracked versions, No Trainers I'm afraid. I'll do a search for you to see if I can find a trained version, if there was one

btw. This is not really a problem game, maybe a mod could move this thread to 'Req.Other' for a tutorial regarding Action Replay and maybe start a new thread in 'Req.Old Rare Games' for a trained version of Colorado, as you may have better luck in the correct forum

Last edited by DH; 16 May 2009 at 14:41.
DH is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 14:49   #5
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
Thx. I wasn't really sure where to post it. The thing is I was looking for a trained ver. for some time now but no luck. I'd also like to try to make it by myself just to know how :-) I'm going to google now!
 
Old 16 May 2009, 14:53   #6
DH
Global Moderator

DH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Geordie Land
Age: 53
Posts: 4,089
I have my fears that there was no such game trained Usually if there was it would be in the 'Amiga Games TOSEC' dat file unless it is extremely rare. Although this does not mean it never existed, it just hasn't been discovered yet.
DH is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 16:00   #7
mrbob2
Registered User

mrbob2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sheffield
Posts: 330
or you could you a pc cheater like gamewiz32 or art money. If its lives your after its dead easy to search for a value then modify/freeze it.
mrbob2 is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 16:06   #8
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 42
Posts: 3,313
OT: sorry, can't stop thinking NOR reading oraclex as oralsex :P...
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 21:51   #9
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 727
Here are some tips with built-in WinUAE debugger. Recommend minimal config to lessen amount of memory to search.

WinUAE debugger: Load game. Hit END+F12 to start debugger. Type 's df71'. Look for only first occurence. Set a breakpoint with 'f <address>' type x to return to game. Now go pick a fight. The moment you are hit, debugger pops up.

0001E668 df71 0000 ADD.W D7,(A1, D0.W*1, $00) == $00030986

The numbers on the far left and far right may or may not be the same. Now instead of modifying the instructions which could be checked to prevent tampering set a mem watchpoint using rightmost address. in this case, 'w1 30986 2 f' the 2 is for word size and f means freeze number. Delete original breakpoint by typing 'fd' then x to exit. Psst the gunpowder is nearby.

EDIT: scrapped AR3 after discovering patch caused canoe to have no control.

Last edited by clenched; 17 May 2009 at 05:22. Reason: corrections
clenched is offline  
Old 17 May 2009, 09:53   #10
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
I did as you said but I can't leave the debugger after freezing. It keeps coming back.
 
Old 17 May 2009, 10:59   #11
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 727
Be sure to walk right on land instead of taking canoe until address to be frozen is acquired. Otherwise you'll get a bunch of red herrings. When it does stop, does the highlighted line in debugger look similar to the one listed? Make sure to issue the 'fd' just before exiting.
clenched is offline  
Old 17 May 2009, 12:14   #12
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
I do fight on the land. The line is almost the same only the address is different. The debugger shows up when I get the first hit. After that I do as clenched said but after I press x the debugger is gone for a sec and coming up again over and over again.
 
Old 17 May 2009, 12:31   #13
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 727
Hmm. Just to be sure I went all the way back to WinUAE 1.5.3 and did it back-to-back multiple times without a problem. Step by step kick 1.3; 1 mb chip config:

s df71
Searching from 00000000 to 00100000..
00021088 000210E2 0002114C 000211D0
f 21088
Breakpoint added

00021088 df71 0000 ADD.W D7,(A1, D0.W*1, $00) == $00030e56

w1 30e56 2 f

Memwatch breakpoints enabled
1: 00030E56 - 00030E57 (2) RW F
fd
All breakpoints removed

x

I'm playing from IPF floppy. Are you playing cracked game? provide URL to find and I will look at it too.

Last edited by clenched; 17 May 2009 at 12:36.
clenched is offline  
Old 17 May 2009, 12:59   #14
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
Honestly I'm a fool :-) Forgot about the space between 2 and f (like w1 30e56 2 f). It's working now! Thanks for that. I've got one more question: why s df71?
 
Old 17 May 2009, 13:17   #15
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 727
No you're not a fool. df71 happens to be the opcode for the instruction printed to the right. It says add which is opposite of what you might expect but examine lower word of register d7 next time. It contains a negative number. But since you froze the destination address, the addition will have no effect. BTW you're still not immortal,not even a small g god. Going over the waterfall or falling from a cliff will still kill you. I enjoyed standing toe to toe with the bear without being fazed.
clenched is offline  
Old 17 May 2009, 13:27   #16
oraclex
 
Posts: n/a
Indeed that feels great! Thank you very much for your help :-)
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Immortal mai support.Games 2 13 January 2010 16:56
Immortal haynor666 HOL contributions 2 03 September 2008 12:45
Immortal CD's - Any good? Zeewolf Amiga scene 5 05 May 2008 20:42
Help with Immortal FILIPE ALVES support.WinUAE 2 10 September 2004 06:57
Immortal 2 thinlega Amiga scene 5 19 October 2002 15:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08232 seconds with 13 queries