English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Music

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 July 2020, 14:31   #1
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
The source of ripped modules

Hi guys

Always asked myself what is the source for ripped modules of the games

I mean, what is used ..... originals IPFs or cracked ADFs ?

Thanks, chip
chip is online now  
Old 21 July 2020, 18:54   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,730
It doesnt matter, the data is the same, but ADF cracked disks have been around a lot longer than IPF.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 21 July 2020, 18:57   #3
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
Thanks Galahad

But which tool can i use to look inside IPFs ?

Are the files visible like the cracked ADFs ?
chip is online now  
Old 21 July 2020, 19:48   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Thanks Galahad

But which tool can i use to look inside IPFs ?

Are the files visible like the cracked ADFs ?
No. IPF preserves the custom dìsk format, so unless you know how to decode that disk format, youre stuck.

However, if youre using winuae, it has built in prowizard and once a module is loaded and playing then it should be trivial to rip.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 21 July 2020, 21:09   #5
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
Thanks again for reply

Anyway the built-in ProWizard is absolutely not enough, since it is able to detect only some formats
chip is online now  
Old 21 July 2020, 21:34   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Thanks again for reply

Anyway the built-in ProWizard is absolutely not enough, since it is able to detect only some formats
What formats can't it detect?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 04:56   #7
AmigaHope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Sandusky
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Hi guys

Always asked myself what is the source for ripped modules of the games

I mean, what is used ..... originals IPFs or cracked ADFs ?

Thanks, chip
Back in the day you could also just boot to a minimum environment to dump chipram after a soft-reset, and 99% of the time the mod would still be there (unless it was stored right at the beginning of memory), and you could just scan the memory dump for the mod.

I had a special memory dumper that fit in a bootblock to do this. No graphics etc. to eat chipmem, just stick in a new floppy and hit space and it would dump all 512k of chipmem to a blank floppy.

A few games had a reset vector protection to stop you from doing this, but not many.
AmigaHope is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 06:38   #8
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
For Galahad

Oktalyzer, DeltaMusic, Delta Music 2, Sonic Arranger, Art Of Noise .... just to tell someone

---------------------------

For AmigaHope

Thanks for the info

Last edited by lilalurl; 22 July 2020 at 09:24.
chip is online now  
Old 22 July 2020, 08:22   #9
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 3,222
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
For chip, you can write to several members in the same post.

If you use quotes, you can use the multi-quote button ("+, on the right of the quote button and click quote on the last message you want to quote).

If not, you can use "For" as you did. Some members use "@" (for example, @chip). You can use a line of whatever you want to separate part of the message.
For example:
For Adun.
********************* or ----------------------------
For the Emperor.
etc...
lilalurl is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 08:42   #10
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
Never used the "quote" feature .... i will look at that

Thanks for the info
chip is online now  
Old 22 July 2020, 14:43   #11
Axxy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Age: 57
Posts: 147
I think Prowiz only rips protracker compatible variants to convert and a few synth formats. Not sure about the formats within Winuae though..

In Winuae, there is also an Option in Miscellaneous/Save State (don't forget to change output to raw or uncompressed).. This would then allow you to run other more comprehensive rippers over the saved image that may support other exotic formats.

Not having a real Amiga any more, I've no idea what ripping software you'd use nowadays if your on a real Amiga.
Axxy is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 14:51   #12
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
Thanks Axxy

Yep, the built-in ProWizard is great with tracker based formats (included a huge amount of MOD packers which it is able to convert)

Instead, as you said, it rip very few exotic formats, so for those ones i use Exotic Ripper for Amiga
chip is online now  
Old 22 July 2020, 17:38   #13
NoX1911
2064
NoX1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 187
99% should be ripped already. Maybe try searching first.

Especially custom tracks (*.cust) are probably impossible to detect for generic rippers. Cust formats include custom code (play routine) and are usually handcrafted individually (made portable) after ripping.

That's why i still use Winamp for playing Amiga music (on Linux). Supports most formats and many different implementations/routines.

The 'Action Replay' cartridges have a ripper as well. Not sure if the newer ones finally support more than mod files though.

Last edited by NoX1911; 22 July 2020 at 17:50.
NoX1911 is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 17:51   #14
chip
Amiga Demoscene Archive !
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 45
Posts: 1,938
It's really impossible to determine that 99% of modules are already ripped .... how do you check something like that ?
chip is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga Modules with original sound (DC-BASS Source filter MOD) technick support.Other 0 21 February 2012 22:40
Games being ripped BippyM project.Sprites 8 13 April 2011 22:28
[Ripped] Magic Pockets Ultron project.Sprites 14 26 October 2006 01:25
Ripped module Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 09 June 2005 13:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10491 seconds with 15 queries