English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Nostalgia & memories

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 October 2019, 01:14   #2361
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
Does constantly swapping the Gotek images around while searching for a disk cause any issues? I mean it seems to me that it waits a few seconds before it considers a disk 'inserted', but if you were slow enough, the Amiga would probably think you're sitting there putting in a disk and ripping it back out again and again, right?
It doesn't cause any physical harm at least. And I think searching by itself doesn't cause immediate insertion of the image in question.
idrougge is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 11:17   #2362
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 45
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
Ha, in all my work to get my new system up, I've got to ask this....
Does constantly swapping the Gotek images around while searching for a disk cause any issues? I mean it seems to me that it waits a few seconds before it considers a disk 'inserted', but if you were slow enough, the Amiga would probably think you're sitting there putting in a disk and ripping it back out again and again, right?
Erm... what?
NLS is offline  
Old 11 October 2019, 18:20   #2363
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
Erm... what?
Ha, let's just say I've now re-installed this thing enough times that I have almost memorized the order of disks it asks (I went into autoboot and arranged them, but I did mix up Locale and Extras, but otherwise got them spot on).


It's all because I get all my data on there, then boot it up and for some reason it tells me the disk has checksum errors or the id block is wrong (with PFS3). This time I tried running DiskDoctor on it, but it ran all night long, finished step 1 of checking (granted it is like 60gb partition) and then sat there on 'examining parent folders) or something. Wasn't even accessing the disk, so I just turned it off, I'll try after work today to get it copied over again...


The joy of dealing with old hardware.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 00:19   #2364
NLS
Ancient User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: GREECE
Age: 45
Posts: 613
New hardware is not much better in this respect.

Recently RMAed one more Seagate (maybe 6-7 in the last 3 years!).
My A4000/040 Seagate 3.2GB that is around 22 years old, still works fine. I recently made a complete image of it for WinUAE.
NLS is offline  
Old 12 October 2019, 00:56   #2365
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by NLS View Post
New hardware is not much better in this respect.

Recently RMAed one more Seagate (maybe 6-7 in the last 3 years!).
My A4000/040 Seagate 3.2GB that is around 22 years old, still works fine. I recently made a complete image of it for WinUAE.
Ha, I was thinking that exact same thing earlier today. Hard drive failures seem far more common now than they used to be. But then again I used to only get SCSI drives back in the 90s, and they still work fine today. With the exception of the Connor drives, those were terrible.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 01:55   #2366
DrFruit
Resident Nutter...

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 60
Why were all cases beige?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DrFruit is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 02:10   #2367
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFruit View Post
Why were all cases beige?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hi DrFruit,

Would you mind please turning off your "Tapatalk" signature as per Rules & Help - Signature (direct signatures are not allowed)
DamienD is online now  
Old 15 October 2019, 03:03   #2368
Gorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFruit View Post
Why were all cases beige?
They are not.

The A1000 is a bit brighter than following models und the CDTV is black and the CD32 very dark grey.
And there are (at least in Germany) some official special A500 cases:

the Stefanie-Tücking-Design (a former radio and TV-hostess, who died last year)

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_...A500design.jpg
http://www.computermuseum-mannheim.d...a500_st_1g.jpg


(for the gereral question, why computer equipment was beige or grey:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beige_box)

Last edited by Gorf; 15 October 2019 at 03:14.
Gorf is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 11:17   #2369
DrFruit
Resident Nutter...

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Hi DrFruit,

Would you mind please turning off your "Tapatalk" signature as per Rules & Help - Signature (direct signatures are not allowed)
Balls sorry!
DrFruit is offline  
Old 15 October 2019, 12:41   #2370
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,493
No problem
DamienD is online now  
Old 10 November 2019, 22:51   #2371
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 868
Which Amigan here has the most RAM? (chip+fast). My A4000 has 2+16+128 = 146Mb.
680x0 only please!
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 10 November 2019, 23:59   #2372
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
Which Amigan here has the most RAM? (chip+fast). My A4000 has 2+16+128 = 146Mb.
680x0 only please!
At one point in time I had about 384mb? It was 2mb chip+16mb fast, 128mb ZorRAM, 128mb on Cyberstorm MK1 and however much it squeezed out of the 256mb of the Radeon 9250.

I since lost the MK1 to bad memory board, but now have a CSPPC in there (guess that still counts as 68k, since it does have a 060 on it.) and a Voodoo 3, so lost a bunch there, but still 256+16 of Fast RAM ain't bad at all.
Though I did pre-order 3 bigramplus 256mb boards
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 01:11   #2373
davideo
Amiga Tomcat

davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boston Lincs
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
Which Amigan here has the most RAM? (chip+fast). My A4000 has 2+16+128 = 146Mb.
680x0 only please!
Mine has the same with the 128Mb on a 040 Warp Engine.
davideo is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 01:13   #2374
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
I need to ask... why the hell does an install of 3.1.4 could be missing lha?
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 09:01   #2375
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
I need to ask... why the hell does an install of 3.1.4 could be missing lha?
It was always third party software, but agreed, in these "modern" times it would be nice to have the standard archiver included.
Jope is online now  
Old 11 November 2019, 10:00   #2376
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 469
Part of the reason is, of course, copyright.
But imho it doesnt matter.

Just get BetterWB. Or LHA directly from Aminet.
Actually, I am glad that the team is focussing on the core OS elements.
If there was a bug and it was provided with the OS - who would take care of that?
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 21:57   #2377
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
At one point in time I had about 384mb? It was 2mb chip+16mb fast, 128mb ZorRAM, 128mb on Cyberstorm MK1 and however much it squeezed out of the 256mb of the Radeon 9250.

I since lost the MK1 to bad memory board, but now have a CSPPC in there (guess that still counts as 68k, since it does have a 060 on it.) and a Voodoo 3, so lost a bunch there, but still 256+16 of Fast RAM ain't bad at all.
Though I did pre-order 3 bigramplus 256mb boards
Nice. My first A500 HD was only 80 MB. I recently bought 10 really odd looking 16 MB simms for cheap (from a server I think) which work fine.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 21:58   #2378
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,296
I had 256MB in my A1200 for a long time, but since reduced to 192 because the 64MB SIMM was a better fit, and I don't think I ever used above 128MB anyway.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 06:18   #2379
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Part of the reason is, of course, copyright.
But imho it doesnt matter.

Just get BetterWB. Or LHA directly from Aminet.
Actually, I am glad that the team is focussing on the core OS elements.
If there was a bug and it was provided with the OS - who would take care of that?
Pretty sure there are open source versions that could be distributed without issue. But yeah when trying to go with something not-BestWB (for example, I and others much prefer MagicWB over the standard icons or the new ones). it would be nice to include lha since pretty much everything on aminet is compressed in lha. And in the case of what I was trying over the weekend, Aminet was down so I couldn't download lha and install it.
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 07:03   #2380
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaapliedje View Post
Aminet was down so I couldn't download lha and install it.
Try another mirror in the future. For example de.aminet.net.
Hewitson is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gamebase Amiga - 2 Questions Fiery Phoenix New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 13 August 2012 13:31
Amiga CD32 questions pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 24 January 2010 17:27
A few general Amiga questions. Hougham support.Hardware 6 30 April 2008 23:13
Amiga A4000 Questions mfletcher support.Hardware 8 29 April 2008 11:51
Amiga 600 Questions JDunlap support.Hardware 14 20 January 2008 20:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15121 seconds with 14 queries