English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2019, 09:27   #1
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 22
Accelerators - Is there any point in buying anything other than a Vampire in 2019?

I own an Amiga 2000. Not the most popular model with accelerator upgrades, although, sure you can find someone willing to sell you an accelerator.

But it seems to me, buying a Vampire 500 V2+ is the best bet (yes, technically it's not supported on the A2000 by Apollo but many claim it works fine).
The vampire gives you the combined power of an accelerator, ide drive adapter, ram expansion, and RT graphics - from Apollo's web site... supports up to 32 bit graphic depths with common screen modes of 1280×720. Am I correct in saying that WB res can be 1280x720, 256 colors min even on an A2000?

Appreciate some comments from some of you that currently have one.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 10:43   #2
Mark sealey
Registered User

Mark sealey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 279
It depends on what you do with your Amiga.....for me its a playing games from back in the day.....speed is not so important....RTG would give me eye candy on workbench.....I have a A600 Furia that's awesome for WHDload.
Mark sealey is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 10:58   #3
pcotter
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 61
My Amiga 2000 was for long time in the shelf, without use until i got the Vampire for it.

It is now my Amiga for everyday use. As you said, the Vampire is an All in One Accelerator that replaces almost all of those slow Zorro cards and makes you enjoy the A2000 in full.

One can play WhdLoad games too but the Vampire is much more than that. You are able to run CPU demanding processing power software on the Amiga 2000 that most of us could only dream before the Vampire.
And yes, the Vampire supports 1280x720 resolution and higher.
pcotter is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 12:19   #4
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,364
I'm not so sure I'd qualify the Vampire as an accelerator. That seems an awfully small description for what it does. In my opinion it's much more akin to an Amiga inspired, but actually totally new system that you happen to bolt into an existing computer. You can use it as 'just' an accelerator, though. If that's what you want to do.

If it's for you or not depends on what you want to do with your Amiga. If it's all about playing old games, I'm not so sure it's any better than any other accelerator+scandoubler. If you want to try out a new way of Amiga related computing and like the idea of running new software that never was available to the Amiga (such as the ports of older DOS/Windows games it has) and don't mind it's continually changing and developing, it may be for you.

That said, there are some pros and cons and some have argued that it's not 'really an Amiga anymore'. I'm actually in that camp, but would never tell anyone not to use it. Do what makes you feel happy
roondar is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 16:51   #5
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
I own an Amiga 2000. Not the most popular model with accelerator upgrades, although, sure you can find someone willing to sell you an accelerator.

But it seems to me, buying a Vampire 500 V2+ is the best bet (yes, technically it's not supported on the A2000 by Apollo but many claim it works fine).
The vampire gives you the combined power of an accelerator, ide drive adapter, ram expansion, and RT graphics - from Apollo's web site... supports up to 32 bit graphic depths with common screen modes of 1280×720. Am I correct in saying that WB res can be 1280x720, 256 colors min even on an A2000?

Appreciate some comments from some of you that currently have one.

For the A2000 you have good options with the TF534, the coming TF536 or the 68030 TK. If your main use is Games via WHDLoad this will be very good options giving you a 030 cpu, fast ram and ide for a CF-card hard drive. Games such as Frontier and F1 Grand Prix will be running very smooth, but of course you won't get AGA or RTG. Those accelerators are made for the A500 but can be fitted into a A1000 or A2000 as well, with a relocator that is. Check Amibay for pictures/offers. (Hint: Viktor alias DJCook is one who makes and sells them). For optimal ide performance remember to load the rom into ram with the cpu fastrom command.

The Vampire V4 Standalone and the V1200 (Vampire V4 for A1200) are soon to be released, the V4 standalone will have both AGA and RTG so maybe better wait some weeks and go for the V4 Standalone rather than fitting a V2 into the A2000. My two cents.
jbilander is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 19:52   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,412
For an A2000, I don't see any reason to buy any accelerator that does not play well with Zorro boards.. Sort of the whole point of the 2k is that you can jam it full of various cards. :-)

Most of the 68000 socket turbos have varying problems with Zorro boards, so at least I wouldn't consider them "good options" in an A2000. Better use them with an A500 and glue the AmigaBUS cover shut. ;-)
Jope is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 20:16   #7
slaapliedje
Registered User
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 315
I got my Vampire 500 V2+ a few days ago for my Amiga 500 plus (that I got a few days before that). For 68k stuff, it blows away my A4000D with 060@50

Couple things I think they should have done differently though.
1) They should have included USB on the card instead of the SDCard. This would have been far more useful to move files around.
2) it is a bit awkward if you don't want to damage your case at all.

I'm going to try printing up a model someone uploaded that has a gap for the expansion port, so I can mount the HDMI, Ethernet and SDcard adapter. Hopefully it turns out right.

Is the Standalone that close? I've been hearing it's close for years, so decided to pick up one of the A500 versions (really wanted one for my A4000, but now that I have a CSPPC in that, not going to pull it out.)
slaapliedje is offline  
Old 06 July 2019, 22:25   #8
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProfPlum View Post
from Apollo's web site... supports up to 32 bit graphic depths with common screen modes of 1280×720. Am I correct in saying that WB res can be 1280x720, 256 colors min even on an A2000?
Yep, whatever screenmode your graphics hardware supports, your Workbench can use. For example, I have an old Picasso IV in my A2000 that gives me a 1280x1024 Workbench in 16.7 million colours. Granted, the A2000's Zorro-II bus makes things a little slow, but it illustrates that it's not a cut and dried end-game solution.

Of course, the Vampire is good value for all the features it offers, but there are plenty of reasons to want another accelerator. Some people like to use their original Zorro cards, and that depends on any accelerator playing by the rules. Some people like to use hardware they wanted back in the day, or recreate the setup they had back in the day but sold / gave away / dumped. So it all depends on what you want from it. I personally wouldn't swap my 060 + Picasso IV + Buddha A2000 for a Vampire, even though I would likely make a tidy profit in doing so.
Daedalus is online now  
Old 07 July 2019, 00:42   #9
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Of course, the Vampire is good value for all the features it offers, but there are plenty of reasons to want another accelerator. Some people like to use their original Zorro cards, and that depends on any accelerator playing by the rules. Some people like to use hardware they wanted back in the day, or recreate the setup they had back in the day but sold / gave away / dumped. So it all depends on what you want from it. I personally wouldn't swap my 060 + Picasso IV + Buddha A2000 for a Vampire, even though I would likely make a tidy profit in doing so.
Exactly my point. It's a good value for what you're paying.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 07 July 2019, 04:31   #10
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 613
Do you want to run Enforcer&friends?
If no, then go for a Vampire.
NorthWay is online now  
Old 24 August 2019, 16:56   #11
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,991
Seems it only handles the 68000 instruction set? In which case it is entirely useless as most software that expects a fast Amiga will be built for 68020 or later, and of course AmigaOS 3.5/3.9 itself also requires 68020 or later. A bit like if AMD brought out a CPU that only handles the 80286 instruction set, doesn't matter how fast it is if it doesn't support all the instructions, it won't even run the programs.
Minuous is offline  
Old 24 August 2019, 18:28   #12
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 836
Thumbs up

@ ProfPlum

If you have a bare stock A2000 system, and (like me) aren't emotionally attached to your old zorro cards etc., the Vampire will make all your dreams come true especially as it's more and more compatible with most original 68k apps and games
klx300r is offline  
Old 24 August 2019, 18:44   #13
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,458
I can see the appeal of the vampire, and I’m pleased it’s available and that people like it, but I much prefer my A3000 with classic hardware, and my A4000 with its mix of classic, ‘modern’ and mediator pci hardware. For my A500 I think I’d rather go with something like the ACA500+ or something quite different like that clever A314
trixster is offline  
Old 24 August 2019, 21:55   #14
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 55
Posts: 1,244
The Vampire appeals to some, but it's useless to me as it spits at zorro cards! It would be completely pointless in my A2000.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 24 August 2019, 23:04   #15
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 836
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I can see the appeal of the vampire, and I’m pleased it’s available and that people like it, but I much prefer my A3000 with classic hardware, and my A4000 with its mix of classic, ‘modern’ and mediator pci hardware. For my A500 I think I’d rather go with something like the ACA500+ or something quite different like that clever A314
+1, I wouldn't trade my CS-MKIII and various zorro cards for anything period but I figure for someone that just finds a bare bone system the Vampire is definitely an awesome piece of modern kit for the price
klx300r is offline  
Old 25 August 2019, 01:07   #16
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 716
I'm happy with my various accelerators: ACA 1233, ACA 620, Furia, ACA 500 + ACA 1221. They all do the job just fine for whdload and stuff. I wouldn't mind having a Vampire but never felt it was worth investing in it for my needs. I guess it depends on what needs one have. Looks like a fantastic product nontheless
turrican9 is offline  
Old 25 August 2019, 12:46   #17
ProfPlum
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 22
I actually purchased a zz9000 for my Amiga 2000. I like the fact that I can make use of a large-res desktop, has integrated network adapter and scan doubler. I need to couple it with an accelerator. It's not easy finding one.

I am aware Victor builds 68030tk and tf534 cards. I'm on the waiting list for a TF534. I just hope it works with the zz.

It's not to say a vampire is out of the question. I want to first see how this setup goes.
ProfPlum is offline  
Old 25 August 2019, 19:10   #18
Tyball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
I also don't feel te need for a vampire. I like playing on my Amiga 500 and the additional flexibility that the aca500 offers. Of course it also has a gotek and an indivision that makes the whole experience smoother. You can argue that that costs almost the same as a vampire, but these have been incremental upgrades. If I want a super hires experience, I'll use winuae. But somehow I never do that. Just some old games or better yet, new games for 68k,but those are scarce compared to C64.
Tyball is offline  
Old 25 August 2019, 19:28   #19
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 974
Vampire is good for professional 3D software and games realized with internal features of the card: SAGA and AMMX. For today use (and i said "games") it is not better then an ACA or Furia or TF330 or TF360.
Seiya is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 00:39   #20
mech
Registered User
mech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: texas,usa
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
The Vampire appeals to some, but it's useless to me as it spits at zorro cards! It would be completely pointless in my A2000.

Unless something has changed, i am using a vampire V2(not plus) in my A2000 with GVP SCSI card and scsi card reader.A 2286 bridgeboard,and a A2065 Ethernet card and they all work fine with vampire.


On the A500 i use a vampire with a gvp ANET sidecar(basically a hydra ethernet card) and it too works fine.
mech is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TOSEC Release (2019-04-01) eispic project.TOSEC (amiga only) 2 02 April 2019 16:13
2019 Calendar ptyerman Amiga scene 3 07 December 2018 08:41
Gold 2.7 release for the Vampire accelerators guibrush News 110 06 June 2018 02:55
WinUAE Assembly dump from point to point? Sim085 support.WinUAE 3 11 April 2017 20:43
Any interested in buying NEW PPC and 68K accelerators for A1200? keropi MarketPlace 8 23 February 2005 01:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09460 seconds with 15 queries