English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 October 2016, 22:35   #161
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacemonkey View Post
Did these ever get made and are they still available to buy
i think these projects are all on hold - since kipper2k is part of the Apollo/Vampire team.
emufan is offline  
Old 17 October 2016, 16:46   #162
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Which is really the saddest thing that the Vampire project has brought unto us. kipper has made fantastic expansions for years and thanks to Vampire-starving jerks burning him out we don't get any updates on these, at least for now
Akira is offline  
Old 17 October 2016, 18:02   #163
crazyc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 487
Being able to flash custom roms without removal from the miggy would have been cool......
crazyc is offline  
Old 03 February 2017, 11:20   #164
professor_jonny
 
Posts: n/a
@Kipper2k

I'm guessing you are using the jumper on the address line to select the upper and and lower portion of the chip to boot separate ROMs.

Has this been tested and do you have the eagle files so I can make one?
 
Old 03 February 2017, 21:49   #165
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 468
Or perhaps a dirtyPCB's link?
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 15 June 2017, 15:02   #166
Kalamatee
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 49
Is there any similar thing available for the a1200? I would love something like this that has either a clock port or usb interface so that the rom(s) can be easily programmed, since it would make testing AROS, as a ROM replacement on real hardware, a far simpler process.
Kalamatee is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 14:26   #167
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 468
I'm not aware of any others which had the in-amiga flashing which were up to the same place as Kipper's design, although if anyone knows better...

I'm still hoping that Kipper will be able to either produce the boards or release the designs as his one looked about the best...
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 14:40   #168
Kalamatee
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Flibble View Post
I'm not aware of any others which had the in-amiga flashing which were up to the same place as Kipper's design, although if anyone knows better...

I'm still hoping that Kipper will be able to either produce the boards or release the designs as his one looked about the best...
I cant understand why something like it doesn't exist - I would've thought it would be a highly popular/demanded item.

I've seen plenty of old rom switchers and the like that could detect keyboard input - how feasible would it be to have such a FlashROM device work in a similar fashion with one caveat ..

Instead of just switching between 2 roms .. have it boot a special rom which could list the available "real" rom images, and allow choosing which to use?

[edit] .. And couple it with a readily available USB Flash microcontroller so it can be easily programmed from practically anywhere by anyone ..

Last edited by Kalamatee; 16 June 2017 at 14:59.
Kalamatee is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 17:26   #169
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,275
I requested one for A1200 with similar features in 2010 (post linked in the beginning of this thread) and still nothing, not even close (except ACA500plus but it is much more than a flashrom)

Updated feature list:

- must be in-circuit programmable
- rom bank selection must be software controllable (multiple 512k/1M choices). Software bank selection (register?) access and write-enable disable in software until next power cycle.
- boot up bank with rom selection menu (I also volunteered to do this in 2010..)
- one bank that is writable only if jumper set/removed (backup bank if boot menu bank gets messed up), another jumper to select this bank.
- must be reprogrammable without removal using external programmer (preferably via USB), even when all banks are empty/corrupted.
- at least 4M flash
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 18:16   #170
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalamatee View Post
I cant understand why something like it doesn't exist - I would've thought it would be a highly popular/demanded item.
Rumours have it that certain Amiga retailers were contacted by certain Amiga copyright rights holders, and were essentially told to not pursue any such product. Maybe the situation today is different.
kolla is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 18:40   #171
Kalamatee
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Rumours have it that certain Amiga retailers were contacted by certain Amiga copyright rights holders, and were essentially told to not pursue any such product. Maybe the situation today is different.
Don't supply it with any ROM, or with AROS/the "special" menu rom (*) only. As long as there is some easy way to program it, leave the programing to the user.

(*) - Such a thing could easily be pieced together from the AROS roms.
Kalamatee is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 18:43   #172
Kalamatee
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I requested one for A1200 with similar features in 2010 (post linked in the beginning of this thread) and still nothing, not even close (except ACA500plus but it is much more than a flashrom)

Updated feature list:

- must be in-circuit programmable
- rom bank selection must be software controllable (multiple 512k/1M choices). Software bank selection (register?) access and write-enable disable in software until next power cycle.
- boot up bank with rom selection menu (I also volunteered to do this in 2010..)
- one bank that is writable only if jumper set/removed (backup bank if boot menu bank gets messed up), another jumper to select this bank.
- must be reprogrammable without removal using external programmer (preferably via USB), even when all banks are empty/corrupted.
- at least 4M flash
That's pretty much what I would love to see/have.
Kalamatee is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 23:00   #173
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 613
I would _love_ to have a 1M flash-rom for my 3000 and 4000. No, in fact I'd simply buy them if available.

Writable and selectable as mentioned. This also so there is no nonsense need for a pre-programmed unit. (I understand the need to cover your back, but none of us wants that so something that defaults to machine rom sockets and can be changed while running should fix that.)
NorthWay is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 23:40   #174
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
I would _love_ to have a 1M flash-rom for my 3000 and 4000. No, in fact I'd simply buy them if available.
http://www.elbox.com/products/eflash_4000.html

It looks like it is still available. The software which comes with it is not very good though.
matthey is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 22:50   #175
NorthWay
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Grimstad / Norway
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
http://www.elbox.com/products/eflash_4000.html

It looks like it is still available. The software which comes with it is not very good though.
That can't possibly be a Kickstart substitute. I see no cabling nor sockets to indicate a motherboard connection, and neither have I have heard that it is possible for a Z3 device to address itself at $F00000/$F80000. (Is it?)

Last edited by NorthWay; 22 July 2017 at 22:51. Reason: typo
NorthWay is offline  
Old 23 July 2017, 01:02   #176
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
That can't possibly be a Kickstart substitute. I see no cabling nor sockets to indicate a motherboard connection, and neither have I have heard that it is possible for a Z3 device to address itself at $F00000/$F80000. (Is it?)
It doesn't hold a physical ROM. You transfer a kickstart and/or modules through the Zorro II/III bus into the flash memory which can then be booted. The flash memory in the newest version is 1MB so should be able to hold a 1MB kickstart (AROS or CD32). It works similar to the Amiga USB hardware which had a flash memory (name?) except it had nice GUI software for management and this just has basic CLI utilities with poor documentation. I don't know how the hardware is mapped or configured.
matthey is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 10:44   #177
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,228
I dunno if anyone else has seen this but former board contributor COSMOS has recently been testing 2Mbyte ROMs on A600/A1200 with no HW hacks. (And the CD32 with a jumper change)

http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 11:39   #178
RedskullDC
Digital Corruption
RedskullDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 56
Posts: 324
Hi alexh, et al.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
I dunno if anyone else has seen this but former board contributor COSMOS has recently been testing 2Mbyte ROMs on A600/A1200 with no HW hacks. (And the CD32 with a jumper change)

http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.co.uk/2017/07/

MX29F1615 is probably the easiest way to experiment with 2MB kickstarts on the Amiga.

They even come in a DIP42 package which plugs straight in:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/172284390655

The "Top" 3000/3001 universal programmers can handle these chips.

Cheers,
Red
RedskullDC is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 14:22   #179
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthWay View Post
That can't possibly be a Kickstart substitute. I see no cabling nor sockets to indicate a motherboard connection, and neither have I have heard that it is possible for a Z3 device to address itself at $F00000/$F80000. (Is it?)
No, Zorro-III doesn't normally map to Kickstart space by itself (though I don't see why it wouldn't be possible) - but it doesn't have to. It's not intended to be a Kickstart replacement, but an alternative. Think of it as a softkicked ROM that's available from cold boot - that's more or less what these Zorro-based flash cards are. They replace whatever modules you like before the OS starts booting, so you can have things like OS 3.9 from cold.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 24 July 2017, 17:04   #180
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedskullDC View Post
The "Top" 3000/3001 universal programmers can handle these chips.
Hi Red, I could not find TOP3000 in Europe..
There is only chinese import (infinite time to arrive, if arrive, custom duties and VAT price added).
I do not want to buy a professional EEPROM programmer for just some KS experiments

Alternative?
Does anyone know an European seller?

Thanks,
ross
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ovine by Design Charlie Retrogaming General Discussion 8 01 September 2011 19:31
FlashROM replacing EEProms Zetr0 Hardware mods 34 17 November 2009 11:13
How not to design a console... tonyyeb Retrogaming General Discussion 26 26 August 2009 03:48
Anyone used Redskulls' Flashrom? Jack Biscuit support.Hardware 11 26 January 2009 01:54
A little design bug Magix support.WinUAE 2 12 March 2002 20:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15743 seconds with 15 queries