English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2017, 09:26   #881
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
h o l y
s h i t s ! ! ! !

Remember to change your WHDLoad executable to WHDLoadCD32 for better working on the console!

One question: if you power up with no IDE or the partition is not bootable, does it go to the regular Amiga CD32 screen to be able to boot from CD?


Well I need to make up a HD image. I'm using my A500 one at the moment


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 10:09   #882
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Remember to change your WHDLoad executable to WHDLoadCD32 for better working on the console!?
Well I would even opt for those CD32Load slaves, they remove the flickering (amongst other stuff) that's also present in your video. With CD32Load you can give the argument IDEHD DISKUNIT=2 (replace 2 with a different number depending from which partition you run the slaves.)

My offer via PM still stands BTW.
spudje is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 15:07   #883
kolla
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
EDIT: takes 20-30 mins to boot the first time.
???

Not seconds?
kolla is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 15:58   #884
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
And how do you usually have this configured in your setup? Is your partition bootable? Or do you rather keep it non-bootable and boot via early startup menu?
I make the partition bootable. It will still boot cd32 games automatically, but since there's fastram and I'm on an NTSC machine, almost nothing works without some interaction.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 17:44   #885
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
I make the partition bootable. It will still boot cd32 games automatically, but since there's fastram and I'm on an NTSC machine, almost nothing works without some interaction.
I see, thanks! I'm just thinking what to do in the future since it seems my CD32 will have IDE soon too
I think I don't mind having a bootdisc, even having the partition auto-mounted would eat up some RAM. I can make it so the partition doesn't show up at all until I manually mount it. Such a bootdisc would take seconds to load, should be trivial.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 23:53   #886
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I think I don't mind having a bootdisc, even having the partition auto-mounted would eat up some RAM. I can make it so the partition doesn't show up at all until I manually mount it. Such a bootdisc would take seconds to load, should be trivial.
That's not very convenient. 8MB of memory is quite a bit for a retro Amiga game machine. I thought about telling plasmab that 2MB of SRAM would be enough for a fast ram performance boost, HD buffers and to compensate for the overhead of WHDLoad games (SRAM could have simplified and shrunk the board size?). Maybe you should have just pushed for the 68030 accelerator and 128MB of memory .
matthey is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 00:09   #887
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
I think start simple and cheapo, an 8mb/ide board for cd32 would cost about $40 to build, once that is up and running then tackle the next level
kipper2k is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 00:34   #888
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthey View Post
2MB of SRAM would be enough for a fast ram performance boost, HD buffers and to compensate for the overhead of WHDLoad games
A lot of games would not fit in 2MB of fast. Anything that has more than 1 disk won't.
8 is the best compromise.
Akira is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 01:18   #889
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
8 is the best compromise.
Sure, with 8mb fast I have no mem issues running WHDload. Currently have 2 4gb partitions with pfs3 and running ClassicWB3.1.

If this board can be made for $40, thats a great deal.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 09:34   #890
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,037
I don't think people stating it will cost $40 is very helpful since they aren't the ones designing and building them and deserve a little profit for their efforts, I would happily pay a lot more than that for people to build and populate one for people who don't have the skills.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 11:23   #891
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
I don't think people stating it will cost $40 is very helpful since they aren't the ones designing and building them and deserve a little profit for their efforts, I would happily pay a lot more than that for people to build and populate one for people who don't have the skills.

No money for me thanks. Just be patient and respectful and it's all free.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 12:13   #892
pgovotsos
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: US
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
No money for me thanks. Just be patient and respectful and it's all free.
And I wanted to say that your work on this and the other projects is fantastic and greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for pursuing this!
pgovotsos is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 12:57   #893
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgovotsos View Post
And I wanted to say that your work on this and the other projects is fantastic and greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for pursuing this!


Ram has taken me a bit longer than I hoped because I soldered the chips on backwards first time out


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 13:38   #894
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
No money for me thanks. Just be patient and respectful and it's all free.
I'm being perfectly respectful thanks, 'tis a shame certain other members don't respect us as customers, then butt in with random prices when good other folk are about to release CD32 add-ons, that's imo disrespectful.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 15:49   #895
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
I'm being perfectly respectful thanks, 'tis a shame certain other members don't respect us as customers, then butt in with random prices when good other folk are about to release CD32 add-ons, that's imo disrespectful.


?


EDIT: I think you are confusing cost with price. What people have said here is what it will COST to make one of my boards in parts. I am fine with that. What people decide to sell it for I will let the market decide. If anyone starts selling them for silly money i'll undercut them. Play sensible and everyone can win.

Last edited by plasmab; 22 July 2017 at 18:06.
plasmab is offline  
Old 22 July 2017, 20:09   #896
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
I'm being perfectly respectful thanks, 'tis a shame certain other members don't respect us as customers, then butt in with random prices when good other folk are about to release CD32 add-ons, that's imo disrespectful.
Can you explain what you are referring to ? it is a very vague statement, the cost price i was referring to is the price you would pay for parts as stated if you were to do the board yourself, i stated this so people have an idea of the cost so if someone offers them for sale you have an idea of the mark up and if you find the price agreeable then you buy, simple as that. No hidden agenda
kipper2k is offline  
Old 23 July 2017, 19:48   #897
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Ok. Basic RAM support is done. Refresh cycle left to do and caps. I've only soldered half the ram for now.






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 23 July 2017, 23:31   #898
mattymuc
Registered User

mattymuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Munich / Germany
Posts: 87

I see 4MB? I have thought that you have designed the board for 8MB?
mattymuc is offline  
Old 23 July 2017, 23:35   #899
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattymuc View Post

I see 4MB? I have thought that you have designed the board for 8MB?
It literally says right above the image that i've only soldered half the RAM. Does nobody actually read or listen to anything i say ?
plasmab is offline  
Old 23 July 2017, 23:39   #900
mattymuc
Registered User

mattymuc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Munich / Germany
Posts: 87
Sorry, my fault
The picture was too big to see the text
mattymuc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello and help identifying my expansion board! edd_jedi New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 04 April 2010 13:52
Can anyone identify this RAM expansion board?? PowerPie5000 support.Hardware 66 02 August 2009 14:04
WTB: A1200 Expansion Board robheaton MarketPlace 17 11 June 2009 10:49
an expansion board toolkit --might be useful to you giannis_vassili support.Hardware 1 14 June 2008 21:51
Wanted: A1200 expansion board Freckle MarketPlace 0 30 August 2004 17:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.19975 seconds with 16 queries