English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 October 2012, 11:46   #1
copse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lala Land
Posts: 290
Logging Arexx commands with tco/ts

Hi,

I'm using the 'tco' interactive console, and the 'ts' command, to monitor arexx communication between two programs.

Unhelpfully, the logged lines are clipped.
Code:
  1 *-* P$2323232 blah blah blah...
      >>> "P$2323232 blah blah blah..."
Is there a way to display the full lines?

Cheers.
copse is offline  
Old 27 October 2012, 18:22   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,792
Yes, would be cool to have full line lenght visible. Second choice is to use "trace i" for tracing.
daxb is offline  
Old 28 October 2012, 01:08   #3
copse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lala Land
Posts: 290
It gets reset with every incoming line. Is there a way around this?

e.g.
>+> trace i
>+> echo trace()
I
.....
>+> echo trace()
?R
copse is offline  
Old 28 October 2012, 09:55   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,792
Just put "trace i" on top of your script or where do you need it and then start TCO. Have a look into an ARexx book or ARexx Guide from aminet about trace funktion. But "trace i" isn`t a solution. It just gives sometimes more information.

Last edited by daxb; 28 October 2012 at 10:21.
daxb is offline  
Old 29 October 2012, 00:29   #5
copse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lala Land
Posts: 290
Ah, let me be clearer. I have two applications I did not write myself. Let me call the first "disassembler". And the second "debugger". If you load an executable in the disassembler, and then in the debugger, the debugger and disassembler will communicate via Arexx. When the debugger traces execution, it tells the disassembler and the disassembler updates it's display and annotates the disassembly. And so on.

However, the communication doesn't always seem to happen with different executables. So I wish to see what the communication actually is.

I am unable to have either of these applications use Arexx differently. Do I have any other options? I've read quite a bit of Arexx documentation with little insight into other approaches.
copse is offline  
Old 29 October 2012, 11:51   #6
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,792
AmigaOS ARexx book says that TS sets RESULTS as trace option unless it is currently set to INTERMEDIATES or SCAN. Then trace option won`t change. But I don`t know how to handle this.

If the tow applications use ARexx scripts for communication you could set "trace i" infront of but I guess the don`t.

However, this won`t help to avoid clipping the log lines. Better would be to abolish the max lenght limit. I don`t know what is responsible for it. RexxMast, TCO, rexxsyslib.library, ...? Maybe someone could patch that?! I`ve already an hex edited RexxMast that can use KingCON for trace console.
daxb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AREXX Help Zetr0 support.Other 2 26 January 2011 23:09
arexx help jimbobrocks92 Coders. General 4 19 January 2011 12:50
Who can program an xDMS clone with logging ability? andreas Coders. General 10 08 October 2003 18:23
Arexx Seti Coders. General 2 05 August 2003 18:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12107 seconds with 13 queries