English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 October 2011, 12:45   #1
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 115
PC in Amiga 1200 - help with laptop ribbon cable

Hi everyone, first post after introduction.
Hope this post is in the correct place.

so here it goes:
i am converting a laptop to An Amiga 1200 case.
why??? i have a spare A1200 case, so... why not??

Laptop is a Dell 630, that a friend gave me. I open it, and remove the board... laptops are not so easy to open... we must be very carefull.

Problems so far:
- fan must be placed exactly as it were inside laptop, 2 milimeters out of place and the board shuts down with cooling problems.

- as i get the board out of laptop, i notice it is to big for the A1200 case, i will have to cut a bit of keyboad and metal to get some space, and also have to remove the board battery connector as i will not need it and space is important.

- power on button is in the laptop keyboard, how can i remove it from the keyboard???? I guess i can put a switch from the wires... if i dont remove this button, i can not turn the pc/amiga on...

Here is a big photo of work so far, hope you understand:

http://www.lobodias.com/Commodore_Am...20PC2AMIGA.jpg

I know there are people that hack PC keyboards for flight simulators, they
put switch button instead of Keys, they open the keyboard, and do combinations from the circuit inside, conecting the pins make the keys work, so they put switchs instead of keys. I think i can do a similar thing, if i could know what pins make the function on/off i would put wires from there so i can turn my pc/amiga on.
I hope all this make sense.

Help about the button is much apreciated!

Last edited by Tiago; 26 October 2011 at 14:26.
Tiago is offline  
Old 26 October 2011, 14:27   #2
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 115
Image link was not correct... now it works
Tiago is offline  
Old 26 October 2011, 14:44   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,423
Dismantle the keyboard, follow the traces, see what pins it connects in the flat cable?
Jope is offline  
Old 26 October 2011, 16:41   #4
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 115
yes i will do that, but the keyboad (laptop) is a closed soder box, i have to brake it to have acess to it... but i dont see other way...
Tiago is offline  
Old 27 October 2011, 14:12   #5
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 115
DONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I did it Jope, thanks for the advice.
the on/off is a combination of 2 pins. I opened the metal case of laptop keyboad, and look for the traces of the on/off button, i follow them they passed from 1 top layer to 1 bottom layer and then to ribbon cable, i tested with a multimeter, and the power flow when i press the button, the multimeter gave me signal. So, now that i now witch pins do the power on/off i can now remove the keyboard and use a on/off switch to power it on. Must now order the Keyrah adapter.
Thanks !!!
Tiago is offline  
Old 27 October 2011, 16:11   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 8,423
Great, please keep us posted with your progress. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 29 October 2011, 18:59   #7
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 44
Posts: 115
Hello,
today i also look for F12 pins. I think i will put an external button for F12, since Keyrah/A1200 keyboard dont have F12...
I also want to start with a small VGA cable extension, to extend video signal from laptop board to A1200 port. I only need about 15/20 centimeters. I have the male and female connectors and also a VGA cable with 15 wires inside, but i think i dont need all of the 15 wires... anyone knows whitch pins i need? and do i need to solder anything to the outside of "d" connector? Should it be pin 1 to pin 1 ; pin 2 to 2 etc.... ?
thanks
Tiago is offline  
Old 31 October 2011, 21:31   #8
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 55
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
http://pinouts.ru/all/VGA15_pinout.shtml
rkauer is offline  
Old 02 November 2011, 19:23   #9
SailorSat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hanau / Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 65
Send a message via ICQ to SailorSat
Wow... Reminds me of something
Good luck.
SailorSat is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to make a vga cable for the Amiga 1200 spanner Amiga scene 73 27 September 2012 16:13
WTB: Green plastic layer/ribbon cable from A1200 keyboard 8bitbubsy MarketPlace 5 15 November 2009 23:32
Doom of Amiga 1200 keyb. ribbon cable! 8bitbubsy support.Hardware 3 18 October 2009 02:34
Wanted : Little white bit from A1200 Keyboard ribbon cable DrF MarketPlace 2 09 September 2007 15:41
Amiga 1200 and scart cable Picard support.Hardware 10 07 June 2007 07:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06863 seconds with 13 queries