English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2020, 19:05   #1
GavinG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: London
Posts: 4
putting files onto blank .ADF on Mac? (Mac>Amiga file transfer)

This should be simple but I'm stuck. How can I get files (eg. samples and mods extracted from .lhas) onto an ADF, on a mac? I know it's easy on a PC but I can't find a way on a mac...

Any advice much appreciated!!
GavinG is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 05:29   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,747
Do you really need them on an ADF? Can you not use a dir as a harddrive and simply extract the files there? It would be a far quicker and simpler solution.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 03 January 2020, 19:59   #3
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 153
https://www.file-upload.net/download...aster.zip.html

I am working on a Mac tool currently, it should do what you want to do. :-)
Create ADF's and drag / drop files to it.
(Colors are currently designed for dark mode - its still in beta phase)
Alpha One is offline  
Old 27 September 2020, 14:52   #4
GavinG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: London
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Do you really need them on an ADF? Can you not use a dir as a harddrive and simply extract the files there? It would be a far quicker and simpler solution.
I'm looking to transfer .iff files from a Mac to an A500+. I have a gotek drive, but I don't think this dir method would be a solution as the gotek only recognises ADFs AFAIK.

AlphaOne - Didn't have email reply alerts set up so I missed the ADF Master link, doh! Have dropped you a PM, thanks so much!
GavinG is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 14:08   #5
simonhez
Registered User

simonhez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 47
on your mac, using your amiga emulator, you should be able to make blank disks. From there you can mount the dir where your .iff files are and in the emulator you can copy those over to the blank disk.

after that its just a matter of copying those disks to the gotek's usb.

i know its a long process but I dont know of any quicker way.
simonhez is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 14:38   #6
MrClump
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Torquay
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
https://www.file-upload.net/download...aster.zip.html

I am working on a Mac tool currently, it should do what you want to do. :-)
Create ADF's and drag / drop files to it.
(Colors are currently designed for dark mode - its still in beta phase)
Did this tool ever get completed? Sounds really useful.
MrClump is offline  
Old 06 October 2020, 06:54   #7
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrClump View Post
Did this tool ever get completed? Sounds really useful.
Yes, for sure.

If you still want to do a quick test, I uploaded again.

https://gofile.io/d/KWo9r1

Last edited by Alpha One; 06 October 2020 at 07:13.
Alpha One is offline  
Old 06 October 2020, 17:06   #8
MikeA3000
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 24
Well done Alpha One, I tested ADFMaster today on my Mac and it worked great. I created a new ADF (FFS) drag and dropped a .mod file onto the adf, saved it to a flash drive. Plugged it into the gotek and the Amiga read it and I was able to copy the file to the Amiga HD. A very useful program for sure!
MikeA3000 is offline  
Old 06 October 2020, 19:31   #9
MrClump
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Torquay
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeA3000 View Post
Well done Alpha One, I tested ADFMaster today on my Mac and it worked great. I created a new ADF (FFS) drag and dropped a .mod file onto the adf, saved it to a flash drive. Plugged it into the gotek and the Amiga read it and I was able to copy the file to the Amiga HD. A very useful program for sure!
Seconded, it worked well for me too. Have you considered releasing it formally?
MrClump is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 20:22   #10
Ferry
Registered User

Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
Yes, for sure.

If you still want to do a quick test, I uploaded again.

https://gofile.io/d/KWo9r1
Hi, Alpha One.

The link does not work anymore. Would it be possible to upload it again? I would like to give it a go. Thanks in advance.

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Ferry is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 21:57   #11
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 153
Sure,

https://gofile.io/d/Yp8QE4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferry View Post
Hi, Alpha One.

The link does not work anymore. Would it be possible to upload it again? I would like to give it a go. Thanks in advance.

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Alpha One is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 22:44   #12
Ferry
Registered User

Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
Thanks a lot!!

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Ferry is offline  
Old 03 November 2020, 22:45   #13
Ferry
Registered User

Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
Hi, Alpha One.

First of all, superb program, thanks a lot.

I have found that it cannot read display international characters. That's how it should display:





…and that's what it displays:





As you can see, none of the dirs with international characters (ñ, ç, ê) in the name is correctly displayed, and none can be accessed.

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Ferry is offline  
Old 04 November 2020, 07:37   #14
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 153
Hmmm I dont think the Amiga is able to store these characters with the common filesystem. But please prove me wrong and upload some adf with these directory names to the zone please. :-)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferry View Post
Hi, Alpha One.

First of all, superb program, thanks a lot.

I have found that it cannot read display international characters. That's how it should display:





…and that's what it displays:





As you can see, none of the dirs with international characters (ñ, ç, ê) in the name is correctly displayed, and none can be accessed.

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Alpha One is offline  
Old 04 November 2020, 10:35   #15
Ferry
Registered User

Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
Hmmm I dont think the Amiga is able to store these characters with the common filesystem. But please prove me wrong and upload some adf with these directory names to the zone please. :-)
Hmmm, it is the Locale.adf from the AmigaOS v3.1.4 installation, I don't know if I can upload to the Zone, being a current commercial software… ¿:/

Saluditos,

Ferrán.

Last edited by Ferry; 04 November 2020 at 10:42.
Ferry is offline  
Old 04 November 2020, 11:04   #16
Alpha One
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ger
Posts: 153
I should own the disk, I will check.

Update:

You are right, I will fix it! :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferry View Post
Hmmm, it is the Locale.adf from the AmigaOS v3.1.4 installation, I don't know if I can upload to the Zone, being a current commercial software… ¿:/

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Alpha One is offline  
Old 04 November 2020, 12:28   #17
Ferry
Registered User

Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post
I should own the disk, I will check.

Update:

You are right, I will fix it! :-)
Thanks!

Saluditos,

Ferrán.
Ferry is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 09:18   #18
Vermehren
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Denmark
Posts: 16
Link is down again
Vermehren is offline  
Old 07 February 2021, 10:04   #19
MrClump
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Torquay
Posts: 57
I think something must have changed with Big Sur, as it no longer runs even when signed in as an administrator.
MrClump is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emulation of 800k Mac floppy drive connected via A-Max or Mac-2-DOS cartridge? superfrog support.WinUAE 1 04 January 2020 09:21
How to transfer an adf file from pc to amiga using high density floppy diskette Galder support.Hardware 12 05 May 2014 23:44
new a600 - how to get adf-files from my mac pman3003 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 28 February 2009 20:00
Transfer from Amiga to Mac with Zip100 disk. Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 4 30 July 2008 11:46
The Easy way to transfer ADF files from PC to Amiga adewakd support.Other 0 12 March 2008 15:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10703 seconds with 15 queries