English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2021, 05:34   #1
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
FPS Locking Games That Run to Fast

Decided to try to run WHDLoad games on an emulated Amiga 4000 with a 68040 and JIT enabled to see how they'd run on the faster CPU compared to my emulated A1200

As amusing as playing games at super-turbo-speed is I'm curious if there's a way within the Amiga software to lock game speed to get the benefits of the faster hardware mitigating slowdowns in more demanding AGA games while not playing in overddrive that breaks a bunch of stuff

[ Show youtube player ]
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 09:30   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,211
what you're experiencing is a game programming error. You have to set "approximate A1200 speed" to make games run like vanillia A1200.

I've fixed a lot of those in a lot of games (Populous, ...). The explanation is often that the game syncs on vertical beams (all games do that else display would flicker), assuming that it missed one whole beam (making a 25Hz game), when the computer speed makes it NOT miss the beam.

So the game is 50Hz with an assumed 25Hz speed, and it goes twice as fast.

50Hz games don't have this problem, and some 25 or 17 Hz games do things properly by counting the VBLs. But some just do the simplest there is. Examples are numerous.

Lion King is probably one of them. Needs whdload fixing to be played at full speed for loading/init/ and respect game speed.
jotd is online now  
Old 17 January 2021, 10:38   #3
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
what you're experiencing is a game programming error. You have to set "approximate A1200 speed" to make games run like vanillia A1200.

I've fixed a lot of those in a lot of games (Populous, ...). The explanation is often that the game syncs on vertical beams (all games do that else display would flicker), assuming that it missed one whole beam (making a 25Hz game), when the computer speed makes it NOT miss the beam.

So the game is 50Hz with an assumed 25Hz speed, and it goes twice as fast.

50Hz games don't have this problem, and some 25 or 17 Hz games do things properly by counting the VBLs. But some just do the simplest there is. Examples are numerous.

Lion King is probably one of them. Needs whdload fixing to be played at full speed for loading/init/ and respect game speed.

It actually works fine (abet, with some level of slowdown) on the emulated A1200 so it seems to be a bug unique to running it on an A4000 CPU
CryptidWorks is offline  
Old 17 January 2021, 11:21   #4
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,211
If JIT is set, games really behave oddly. No real amiga can match that speed, and too much fixing is needed in that mode. I'm set on "fastest possible" no JIT.
jotd is online now  
Old 17 January 2021, 23:13   #5
CryptidWorks
Registered User
CryptidWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Iowa, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
If JIT is set, games really behave oddly. No real amiga can match that speed, and too much fixing is needed in that mode. I'm set on "fastest possible" no JIT.
Made the gameplay itself run at normal speed as far as I can tell but the cutscenes in that game still turbo up so fast they're basically auto-skipping
CryptidWorks is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Can i set Game Speed Slower ( some games run too fast ) ? SoundLight support.FS-UAE 5 18 April 2020 02:53
How to get Dungeon Master II to run as fast as the PC version? dex support.WinUAE 9 08 September 2016 21:03
How fast will UAE run on a new PC? Puzzle Retrogaming General Discussion 23 26 August 2015 16:38
Patching whdload games to run at NTSC without fast music? ancalimon support.Games 4 11 September 2014 19:42
Games run madly fast! Cam support.WinUAE 11 18 September 2004 12:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06930 seconds with 15 queries