English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2021, 15:45   #1
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
MUI Settings Drop-down Menu Not Showing

Hi!

Has anyone had this problem before? I built this MUI application, AmiModRadio, and its MUI interface works well except that the MUI Settings menu doesn't show

The MUI gadget with the little downward arrow appears as expected next to the window depth gadget. But clicking on it, nothing appears... It doesn't show the menu items Iconify, Snapshot, Unsnapshot, Settings..., About MUI... like on IBrowse for example.

It seems that a version of IBrowse had the same problem for a while (here), I wonder how it was fixed?

Cheers!

Last edited by tygre; 01 February 2021 at 15:46. Reason: Typos
tygre is offline  
Old 22 February 2021, 19:03   #2
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Anyone?

Any suggestions in which directions to look?
tygre is offline  
Old 01 March 2021, 12:43   #3
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 600
No idea (I have never seen this "MUI gadget with the little downward arrow"), but the program has a lot of other issues:-

Code:
BYTE-WRITE to  00000000        data=00         PC: 7827638E
USP:  7824E54C SR: 0004 SW: 0711  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 7824D558
Data: 00000000 0000000A 00800000 00000001 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Addr: 782452E4 00000000 7824E5C0 7824E5C4 7824E5BC 00000000 000014E4 --------
Stck: 000014E4 7827514C 78259C5E 00000000 7825A8B0 00800000 00000001 00000007
PC-8: 2F942C5F 4E752039 78203360 4E754EB9 78280C00 4E752F0E 22797820 33384211
PC *: 2C797813 CE1C43FA 0EEA4EAE FE7A23C0 7820333C 671A2079 78203338 43FA0E90
Name: "AmiModRadio Fetcher"  
 
BYTE-WRITE to  00000000        data=00         PC: 7827638E
USP:  7824E54C SR: 0014 SW: 0711  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 7824D558
Data: 00000000 00000000 00800000 00000001 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Addr: 00000000 00000000 7824E5C0 7824E5C4 7824E5BC 00000000 000014E4 --------
Stck: 000014E4 7827515A 78259C5E 00000000 7825A8B0 00800000 00000001 00000007
PC-8: 2F942C5F 4E752039 78203360 4E754EB9 78280C00 4E752F0E 22797820 33384211
PC *: 2C797813 CE1C43FA 0EEA4EAE FE7A23C0 7820333C 671A2079 78203338 43FA0E90
Name: "AmiModRadio Fetcher"


BYTE-READ from 00000000                        PC: 78A80E6A
USP:  78AB3270 SR: 0014 SW: 0751  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 78AABB38
Data: 00000000 00000000 0000000E 0000000A 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000010
Addr: 78A8A35E 78AB3C2C 00000001 78A8A35D 00000000 00000000 78286FC0 --------
Stck: 0000000E 00000001 782AB430 78A9E660 00000000 78AAAF4C 00000000 78A8A35C
PC-8: 4E7148E7 3038266F 001C246F 0018161B 673C204B 20084A18 66FC9088 46802840
PC *: 101A6604 70006028 B60066F4 204A224B 240C7000 72005382 6B0E1018 12196706
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 00001882

BYTE-READ from 00000000                        PC: 78AAAFF6
USP:  78AB3290 SR: 0004 SW: 0751  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 78AABB38
Data: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000010
Addr: 00000001 78AB3C2C 782AB430 78A9E660 00000000 00000000 78286FC0 --------
Stck: 0000000E 78AB6794 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 782AB430 78A9E660
PC-8: D9C32F2F 00502F0C 4EB978A8 0E4C2F40 003C504F 6600FF6E 240C948D 204C2008
PC *: 4A1866FC 90884680 2202D280 2F410038 4A85673C 206F0054 20084A18 66FC9088
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 0002BA0E

BYTE-READ from 00000000                        PC: 78AAB07C
USP:  78AB3290 SR: 0004 SW: 0751  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 78AABB38
Data: 78AB412C 00000000 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000001
Addr: 78AB412C 00000000 782AB430 78A9E660 00000000 00000000 78286FC0 --------
Stck: 0000000E 78AB6794 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 782AB430 78A9E660
PC-8: 78A80A9C 2F400030 584F6700 01764A85 661C206F 002C224D 222F0028 20086006
PC *: 10D16702 52895381 6AF66000 01562046 2410206F 002C224D 2008B4BC 00000010
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 0002BA94

BYTE-WRITE to  0000000B        data=4C         PC: 7850B54A
USP:  78535CB0 SR: 0000 SW: 0711  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 7852E4B0
Data: 00000000 00000017 00000000 00000023 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000001
Addr: 0000000C 78622081 78621F38 78621F30 78276748 785711E0 78276424 --------
Stck: 0000016D 7829584C 00000000 7856C320 78520FD8 7853B234 00000000 78520FE4
PC-8: 20522008 4A1866FC 90884680 D0BC0000 00112600 225291C8 22032008 600610D1
PC *: 67025289 53816AF6 487A16DC 42A74EB9 7852D4F4 504F4A80 6636487A 16CE42A7
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 000095EA

BYTE-WRITE to  0000000C        data=4C         PC: 7850B54A
USP:  78535CB0 SR: 0000 SW: 0711  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 7852E4B0
Data: 00000000 00000016 00000000 00000023 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000001
Addr: 0000000D 78622082 78621F38 78621F30 78276748 785711E0 78276424 --------
Stck: 0000016D 7829584C 00000000 7856C320 78520FD8 7853B234 00000000 78520FE4
PC-8: 20522008 4A1866FC 90884680 D0BC0000 00112600 225291C8 22032008 600610D1
PC *: 67025289 53816AF6 487A16DC 42A74EB9 7852D4F4 504F4A80 6636487A 16CE42A7
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 000095EA

BYTE-WRITE to  0000000D        data=35         PC: 7850B54A
USP:  78535CB0 SR: 0000 SW: 0711  (U0)(-)(-)  TCB: 7852E4B0
Data: 00000000 00000015 00000000 00000023 00000000 00000001 00000000 00000001
Addr: 0000000E 78622083 78621F38 78621F30 78276748 785711E0 78276424 --------
Stck: 0000016D 7829584C 00000000 7856C320 78520FD8 7853B234 00000000 78520FE4
PC-8: 20522008 4A1866FC 90884680 D0BC0000 00112600 225291C8 22032008 600610D1
PC *: 67025289 53816AF6 487A16DC 42A74EB9 7852D4F4 504F4A80 6636487A 16CE42A7
Name: "AmiModRadio"  Hunk 0000 Offset 000095EA
Eventually I managed to play a song via Hippoplayer, but then I tried to save the log file (which had many error messages in it) and... GURU!

Don't see that very often on my A1200.

Other issues:-

1. Very slow bringing up the GUI - should do this first and then access the network.

2. Status bar shows cryptic text characters (something like "!+!+!...") while decompressing files etc.

3. Buttons whose functions are unclear.

4. Opens full screen window instead of just large enough to show the GUI elements.

This would be a nice program if it worked properly, but not in its present state. I didn't examine the source code because I couldn't figure out how to download it, but I suspect it needs a lot more checking for null pointers etc. Once it has been made stable you can look at improving the GUI.
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 01 March 2021, 15:41   #4
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Hi Bruce!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
No idea (I have never seen this "MUI gadget with the little downward arrow"), but the program has a lot of other issues:-
That's standard MUI gadget, it should appear to the left of the zooming gadget.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Eventually I managed to play a song via Hippoplayer, but then I tried to save the log file (which had many error messages in it) and... GURU!

Don't see that very often on my A1200.
Sorry about that but I tested on a A4000D/30, A1200/60, and a Vampire and many others have been using it. You will have to tell me more about your config. and how to reproduce these problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
Other issues:-

1. Very slow bringing up the GUI - should do this first and then access the network.

2. Status bar shows cryptic text characters (something like "!+!+!...") while decompressing files etc.

3. Buttons whose functions are unclear.
Did you read the documentation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
4. Opens full screen window instead of just large enough to show the GUI elements.
It does not open a full-screen window, at all. If it does on your configuration, then I will need more information about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
This would be a nice program if it worked properly, but not in its present state. I didn't examine the source code because I couldn't figure out how to download it, but I suspect it needs a lot more checking for null pointers etc. Once it has been made stable you can look at improving the GUI.
Uh... The source code is visible on-line from BitBucket, download via Git, etc. Have you been there?

Best,

Last edited by tygre; 01 March 2021 at 15:43. Reason: Downplay; extra spaces
tygre is offline  
Old 01 March 2021, 16:55   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,468
Ciao tygre, se ho capito bene, io non ho nessun problema con i menu MUI, vedi screenshot.


Install MUI from scratch, MUI5 recommended and then install MUI addon libraries ahggionate

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 19 March 2021 at 19:03.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 02 March 2021, 00:58   #6
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Hi AmigaSystem!



Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ciao tygre, se ho capito bene, io non ho nessun problema con i menu MUI, vedi screenshot.


Install MUI from scratch, MUI5 recommended and then install MUI addon libraries ahggionate

As usual, thanks for your help and your test
Unfortunately, it seems not to work (anymore?) with "stock" MUI v3.8... Will continue investigating!


Hope that you're doing well and thanks again!


Cheers!
tygre is offline  
Old 02 March 2021, 01:22   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by tygre View Post

As usual, thanks for your help and your test
Unfortunately, it seems not to work (anymore?) with "stock" MUI v3.8... Will continue investigating!
Yes, 3.8 is not supported anymore, 3.9 works instead

I recommend MUI5 for better graphics configuration, only problem is the old "MUI_Redraw ..." issue.
AMIGASYSTEM is online now  
Old 02 March 2021, 03:47   #8
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Yes, 3.8 is not supported anymore, 3.9 works instead

I recommend MUI5 for better graphics configuration, only problem is the old "MUI_Redraw ..." issue.
I tried v5.0 last year (or the year before?) but it didn't work for me... I will try again as well as 3.9

Yes, sorry for the MUI_Redraw, fixing it would require quite a revamp of the architecture

Last edited by tygre; 02 March 2021 at 15:19. Reason: Exta spaces...
tygre is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 12:23   #9
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by tygre View Post
That's standard MUI gadget, it should appear to the left of the zooming gadget.
Not on my machine.

Quote:
Sorry about that but I tested on a A4000D/30, A1200/60, and a Vampire and many others have been using it. You will have to tell me more about your config. and how to reproduce these problems.
It's possible that my configuration is causing the code to fail, but if so it should do it gracefully, not hit memory that doesn't belong to it.

I supplied the Enforcer dumps, which tells you where in the code low memory was illegally accessed. Every time you see a read or write to low memory you know a pointer wasn't initialized. If you can't figure out which one from the code at the hunk and offset, just audit your source looking for any place where a pointer is used without validating it first (I bet you will find several).

Since you have an A4000 and A1200 with (I presume) MMUs, do you run Enforcer on them?

Quote:
Did you read the documentation?
If I have to read the documentation it's a fail. The function of each button should be obvious just by looking at it.

I did read the guide, but I don't have the patience to pore over it in the hope of finding what I need to know, nor the memory to remember it all for an app I only use occasionally. That's what GUIs are for!

Quote:
It does not open a full-screen window, at all. If it does on your configuration, then I will need more information about it.
What do you need to know?

Quote:
Uh... The source code is visible on-line from BitBucket, download via Git, etc. Have you been there?
Of course I've been there. But browsing the code in BitBucket is too painful, and the latest download doesn't include source code.
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 13:14   #10
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by tygre View Post
Has anyone had this problem before? I built this MUI application, AmiModRadio, and its MUI interface works well except that the MUI Settings menu doesn't show

The MUI gadget with the little downward arrow appears as expected next to the window depth gadget. But clicking on it, nothing appears... It doesn't show the menu items Iconify, Snapshot, Unsnapshot, Settings..., About MUI... like on IBrowse for example.

It seems that a version of IBrowse had the same problem for a while (here), I wonder how it was fixed?
I think you're calling these things with wrong names and that makes some confusion.

You seem to talk about the MUI "popup" button/gadget, which opens a small context menu when pressed and it can be enabled on window borders from the the Windows page in MUI Preferences. This button isn't enabled by default on original MUI versions IIRC, but at least I like to enable it myself from the global MUI settings always. In any case this isn't called as "MUI Settings menu" anywhere, and that'd be a wrong term. "Border popup menu" or something like that would be more appropriate.

Those IBrowse threads seem to be about IBrowse's Settings window, not any menu, even though someone incorrectly calls it like that.

I've also had problems with IBrowse settings, but that was because it was too wide for standard AGA resolutions (640x) and I solved it by using thinner font.

But for your issue, which is a totally different thing, I don't have any idea, sorry...
jPV is offline  
Old 04 March 2021, 17:53   #11
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Hi jPV!

Thanks for your clarifications!

Yes, still no clue either why it doesn't work with MUI 3.8...

Take care!
tygre is offline  
Old 07 March 2021, 17:38   #12
tygre
Returning fan!

tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 877
Hey Bruce,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
What do you need to know?
Could you please run AmiModRadio from CLI without the MUI parameter: it will start its CLI interface. Then press "6", to play a next module, do you still have the same Enforcer Hits?

Best,
Tygre

Last edited by tygre; 07 March 2021 at 17:38. Reason: Ah, extra blank lines!
tygre is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horizontal Group Has Content Partially Hidden in MUI v4, Not MUI v3.8a tygre support.Apps 6 29 February 2016 03:27
HELP: can no longer drag and drop 8bitbob support.WinUAE 2 01 September 2015 12:24
New mod! Drop the Panic h0ffman Amiga scene 16 22 September 2012 10:05
Help me keep from drop-kicking my Amiga!! watertonian support.Other 12 20 March 2010 00:50
Busboard and gfx card not showing in sysinfo/boot menu...not working.. Smiley support.Hardware 2 15 August 2006 11:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09477 seconds with 15 queries