English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 September 2020, 15:16   #1
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
winuae completely blocks windows 10

Until some time ago when winuae crashed it was enough to interrupt with ctrl + alt + canc + and close the application with application management.
Now for every crash I have to completely restart windows 10
I use windows 10 enterprise 1809 build 17763.1490

Are any options selected in winuae that can create this behavior?
Thank you.
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:38   #2
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,758
Tried using TaskKill to end the process?

i.e: from a Command Prompt, type:

Code:
taskkill /F /IM WinUAE.exe
or

Code:
taskkill /F /IM WinUAE64.exe
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:46   #3
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,816
If I can't get the task manager then I use <Alt><Tab> to get the open Windows/Screens, keep <Alt> pressed down, and move with the mouse into the upper right corner of the WinUAE preview window where the <red CLOSE button X> should appear to kill WinUAE.
PeterK is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:48   #4
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
Hi DamienD
yes I have tried various solutions but the problem consists in a complete system crash without the possibility of interaction I only have the opportunity to choose ctrl + alt + del and then restart the system with the winuae application still open.
If I choose instead to use winuae with the window option I can close it but if I use fullscreen in winuae I have no possibility to do anything but reboot.
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:51   #5
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
@PeterK
i can't interact with alt + tab the system is completely locked.
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:52   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 12,100
1809 is buggy as hell. Update to a newer Windows 10 version, at least 1909.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 15:58   #7
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
@Retro-Nerd
I don't like windows 10 professional :-)
currently the system works perfectly winuae is the only application that crashes in this way.
it's not important but when i want to experiment all i have to do is reboot
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 17:05   #8
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,629
I'm on 1809 (LTSC) as well and don't have a single problem with WinUAE or any other applications/programs for that matter.

I turned off the immensely annoying smartscreen filter and changed a lot of the default settings though.

What exactly do you do to trigger the crash ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 17:28   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Hi DamienD
yes I have tried various solutions but the problem consists in a complete system crash without the possibility of interaction I only have the opportunity to choose ctrl + alt + del and then restart the system with the winuae application still open..
If you can press <Ctrl> + <Alt> + <Del> then select Task Manager, select "File" --> "Run new task", and then do the "taskkill" process I've mentioned.

You can also just press <Esc> + <Shift> + <Ctrl> to directly open Task Manager.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 19:33   #10
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
I reproduced the crash:
[ Show youtube player ]

winuae (4.4.0 final) is the only application that I cannot terminate the problem seems to occur only with RTG applications.
Thanks for the advice but I haven't solved it

even if the task manager is active I cannot access it
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 19:35   #11
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 795
I have Windows 10 x64 Home 1909 and the new Winuae4500b1 give me a black screen when i try Duke NukeEm 3D from your collection, DamienD. I can use CTRL+ALT+DELETE, but no Task Manager pops up, so the only solution here is to restart my PC. Looks like this version of Winuae have problem with the full-screen option and maybe a lot of other bugs.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 19:51   #12
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
I have Windows 10 x64 Home 1909 and the new Winuae4500b1 give me a black screen when i try Duke NukeEm 3D from your collection, DamienD. I can use CTRL+ALT+DELETE, but no Task Manager pops up, so the only solution here is to restart my PC. Looks like this version of Winuae have problem with the full-screen option and maybe a lot of other bugs.
I get that too on Windows 7 with the latest WinUAE 4.5.0 betas; at least I can get to Task Manager though and end the process.

There are issues with RTG / JIT and LEDs currently.

How to fix is documented in the thread: WinUAE 4.5.0 beta series i.e. turn off LEDs for now, but this doesn't fix issues with some RTG / JIT games in my collection... see this post.

I wouldn't recommend using WinUAE 4.5.0 beta with my collection at this early stage; just stick with WinUAE 4.4.0 for now.

In fact, I really only ever suggest people update / use stable full releases with my collection.

Last edited by DamienD; 28 September 2020 at 20:08.
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 20:10   #13
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 795
Hi DamienD. I use WinUAE 4.0.0 for your collection and tried WinUAE 4500b1 just for fun. No way will I tamper with your masterpiece.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 20:45   #14
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,816
Just move the mouse pointer over the close button and click it to kill WinUAE:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE_crash.png
Views:	51
Size:	144.5 KB
ID:	68972  
PeterK is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:00   #15
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
Hi DamienD. I use WinUAE 4.0.0 for your collection and tried WinUAE 4500b1 just for fun. No way will I tamper with your masterpiece.
WinUAE 4.0.0?

You should definitely use 4.4.0
DamienD is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:04   #16
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
I tried all the versions the only version that allows me to open task managers in windows 10 and terminate after a crash with RTG screen is version 3.6.0 all the others do not open task managers.
It's probably just my case but it's the only version that works
to open resource manager.
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:05   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,331
I think last few replies don't really have anything to do with OPs problem.. So please don't do it again.

Fullscreen mode can get stuck if program hangs (it helps if you have 2 monitors ) -> does it happen in windowed mode?

Note that I don't really support enterprise/LTSC versions...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:08   #18
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
Toni,
in the window I can close the program :-)

version 3.6.0 works I can open resource manager.
it's not important but it works
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:23   #19
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 805
here the video 3.6.0 works
[ Show youtube player ]

maybe it's not important I just wanted to report it because working with 4.1FE I try many things and it often crashes to try new things
White is offline  
Old 28 September 2020, 21:28   #20
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
WinUAE 4.0.0?

You should definitely use 4.4.0
Sorry, missed one digit. Crazy me.
ma693541 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What use are reserved blocks? Heiroglyph Coders. General 6 21 October 2016 17:04
Completely unnecessary and uncool wish for WinUAE :) ancalimon request.UAE Wishlist 5 28 May 2016 21:43
WinUAE 3.0 - Windows 10 oobumblebeeoo support.WinUAE 12 21 June 2015 12:42
Compile WinUAE 1.46 with completely free tools __adil__ support.WinUAE 0 08 February 2008 19:24
Compiling latest WinUAE (1.45) with completely free tools. __adil__ support.WinUAE 14 28 December 2007 15:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09912 seconds with 14 queries