English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2019, 18:23   #1
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Request for IPF image of Xenon II - Megablast KIXX budget 1 disk version

Hi,





I tried looking for the IPF image of Xenon II - Megablast KIXX budget 1 disk version in the EAB file servers, TOSEC area, but can only find the two disk versions.

Can anybody point me to a clean/good IPF image of this 1 disk version so that I can restore my original disk, which works, but seem to have some random bit errors on it.



Thank you!
solarmon is offline  
Old 30 December 2019, 19:27   #2
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 4,611
I think I have a WWP of that version. This is writable back to disk with a normal amiga in "nibble" mode. MFM gap is reduced, allowing to write RN protected tracks back.
jotd is offline  
Old 31 December 2019, 02:49   #3
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 46
Posts: 3,629
SPS 2234 is one disk.
/~Uploads/rygar/= CAPS =/xenon2-megablast_2234.zip
Retroplay is offline  
Old 31 December 2019, 13:15   #4
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,385
That's strange, I have a copy of The Power Pack which IPF 2234 is from but my Xenon 2 is on 2 Disks in that compilation?

I also think the budget Mirror Image release is also 1 Disk!
BarryB is offline  
Old 31 December 2019, 13:27   #5
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
SPS 2234 is one disk.
/~Uploads/rygar/= CAPS =/xenon2-megablast_2234.zip
Thank you! Sorry, I didn't check that IPF set.
solarmon is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 23:13   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
I didn't actually test/use this image at the time since my original Kixx disk was working fine.

I've now tried to use the IPF image by converting it to HFE (v3) and using in a Gotek, but cannot get it to working in my A500 rev 6a with 512K Chip memory - it shows the anti-piracy screen, which I believe is the disk copy protection kicking in.

Can somebody try to get this IPF image working either on Amiga hardware or emulation.

In hardware:


I get the same issue in emulation (WinUAE) using the IPF image directly:

solarmon is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 23:29   #7
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
It seems, if I set WinUAE to Best Compatibility, the IPF game image loads OK, although it does still show the piracy is theft screen at the start.
solarmon is offline  
Old 27 February 2020, 23:54   #8
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,385
That Piracy screen was a common warning on some games, nothing to do with copy protection!
BarryB is offline  
Old 28 February 2020, 00:26   #9
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,862
On some games that piracy warning either stayed on screen longer if it detected a copy, or on others it was displayed regardless (Elite Systems used it a lot)
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 28 February 2020, 00:36   #10
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,750
Yup, something similar in Ghosts 'N Goblins:

DamienD is offline  
Old 28 February 2020, 00:51   #11
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Sorry, I forgot to show that after the piracy screen, there is the following corruption for the logo screen:

solarmon is offline  
Old 28 February 2020, 01:05   #12
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Sorry, I forgot to show that after the piracy screen, there is the following corruption for the logo screen:

Thats because if the floppy speed isn't set to 100%, then it will fail the Speedlock check, which is a timing dependent copy protection check like Copylock.

It loads up that picture and the data for the intro, after loading, it displays that picture whilst depacking the intro, and then executes the intro code, and in the header of that is the encrypted Speedlock check.

Once that passes correctly, then the intro will display properly.
Galahad/FLT is online now  
Old 28 February 2020, 01:11   #13
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Thats because if the floppy speed isn't set to 100%, then it will fail the Speedlock check, which is a timing dependent copy protection check like Copylock.

It loads up that picture and the data for the intro, after loading, it displays that picture whilst depacking the intro, and then executes the intro code, and in the header of that is the encrypted Speedlock check.

Once that passes correctly, then the intro will display properly.
I found that, in WinUAE, if I set the compatibility to Best Compatibility - which effectively set the CPU frequency to "2x (A500)" - it works.

Also, in hardware, I was using an HD disk (with HD tab covered) and it wasn't working. But when using a DD disk, it does not work on machines with Kickstart 1.3, but it does work on machines with Kickstart 2.0.
solarmon is offline  
Old 28 February 2020, 23:55   #14
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
On some games that piracy warning either stayed on screen longer if it detected a copy, or on others it was displayed regardless (Elite Systems used it a lot)
Thanks for the correction, I always thought it was jut a generic warning to deter copying!

I only have 1 game that uses that screen, Dragons Breath, if you load the IPF into WinUAE and set the drive speed to 200% you can see that screen forever
BarryB is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 11:35   #15
Keir
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Thanks for the correction, I always thought it was jut a generic warning to deter copying!

I only have 1 game that uses that screen, Dragons Breath, if you load the IPF into WinUAE and set the drive speed to 200% you can see that screen forever
It could be that screen is in an indicator of Speedlock, then, as Dragon's Breath too uses Speedlock.
Keir is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 20:04   #16
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,385
I have about a dozen speedlock games and none show that piracy warning that Dragon's Breath does.
BarryB is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 11:36   #17
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
My original Xenon II disk has now got a corruption on it that I cannot get rid off just by cleaning.

Looking at the dump of it, the CRC (of the grean AmigaDOS bits) is not the same as the CRC of the [2234] IPF image. I don't think this is due to corruption, as the green AmigaDOS bits don't seem to any errors in it.

So I don't think the [2234] IPF image is the same as this Xenon II KIXX image. The boot block also seem to be differrent.

I've now misplaced my original dump of this Xenon II KIXX disk, so I'm requesting again if somebody can provide a clean dump of their Xenon II KIXX disk.
solarmon is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 10:34   #18
vbgd
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Paris
Posts: 40
1 disc version: Speedlock, 2 disc version RNC A
vbgd is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 12:30   #19
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbgd View Post
1 disc version: Speedlock, 2 disc version RNC A
This single disk KIXX version seems to have the Speedlock protection removed. If I compare the boot block, it does not say 'Speedlock' in it.
solarmon is offline  
Old 27 October 2020, 12:55   #20
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,568
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
This single disk KIXX version seems to have the Speedlock protection removed. If I compare the boot block, it does not say 'Speedlock' in it.
When a game is speedlock, it's never written in the bootblock.

P47 is a speedlocked game, and there is nothing about it. only the tracks on the disk.

We can't help you, because Xenon 2 1 disk with speedlock is undumped.
dlfrsilver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xenon 2 megablast played on the banjo Rob 1 Amiga scene 33 13 April 2016 14:58
Xenon 2 : Megablast shotgunfacelift support.Games 3 27 March 2013 19:35
Xenon II Megablast 1 and 2 disk versions: differences? andreas Retrogaming General Discussion 13 04 June 2011 14:10
Xenon 2 Megablast TazDevil76 Retrogaming General Discussion 10 13 January 2005 20:24
Xenon 2: Megablast killergorilla HOL contributions 1 06 April 2004 02:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.16776 seconds with 14 queries