English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 April 2019, 08:02   #1
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 477
A1200 case LED's

Hey folks,

Rather enjoying tweaking my 1200 at the moment and was thinking of installing some LED's in the case.

As a total non-engineer what's involved in doing this? Can I just find a 5V line, GND and wire to each end of the LED strip? Do I need resistors? Will an LED strip draw too much power? Is this the stupidest idea ever?

I managed to successfully wire a working HDD activity LED to my CF adaptor (high-achiever, I know), but I don't know if this is the same thing.

Thanks for helping out an electronics novice.
Marchie is offline  
Old 29 April 2019, 20:49   #2
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,184
It's more or less as simple as that, yes. You will need resistors, and the correct value will depend on the LEDs, which power rail you use (5 or 12V), and how the LEDs are connect together. If the LED strip is designed for 5V or 12V use, it probably already has the resistor built in - you'll need to confirm the details with the exact strip you get.

After that, it's all down to how neat you make it. Ideally you want to make the mod 100% reversible, and the best place to take power from is probably the floppy power connector. You can buy or make cables that allow you to take an extra feed off that connector without soldering to the motherboard.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 30 April 2019, 01:05   #3
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 477
Good tip, thanks Daedalus!

I have another question on floppy power cables, but I'll put it in a separate thread to stay on topic...

Last edited by Marchie; 30 April 2019 at 01:11.
Marchie is offline  
Old 06 May 2019, 02:04   #4
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 477
It worked!

LED's are a little dull, better than catching on fire though I guess...
Marchie is offline  
Old 06 May 2019, 09:29   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,184
You can probably change the resistor to get them brighter if needed - if you have the LED specs, I can give you a hand calculating the lowest resistor you can use for them.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 01:03   #6
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 477
Yeah, I calculated conservatively:

Three 2.25V LEDs the 12V line (12-6.75)/0.02 = 262? (I used two 330? resistors in parallel + one 100?)

I was thinking of adding a 4th LED too (although I read you shouldn't go higher than 80% of the max voltage of the circuit?)

This is the LED: https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/visible-leds/2285988/ (there's a link to the spec sheet on that page)
Marchie is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 09:57   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,184
Hmmm, that's actually about right then. A 220 ohm resistor would still be within the specifications there (180 is about your limit), but it actually sounds like you just need brighter LEDs, perhaps without a diffused case. Adding more should be fine, I wouldn't worry too much about getting closer to the supply so long as you still have an appropriate resistor in place and your PSU output is stable and reliable.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 11:01   #8
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 3,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marchie View Post
Is this the stupidest idea ever?
Yep. Someone had to say it.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 07 May 2019, 14:47   #9
Marchie
Registered User

Marchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sydney / London
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Yep. Someone had to say it.
Ouch! From a fellow Aussie too...
Marchie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reducing the power from the A1200's Led headr to use the Leds in a 'standard' PC case chocsplease support.Hardware 2 22 June 2018 15:37
Activity led Chinon FB354 in external A1011 case liviux76 support.Hardware 7 13 November 2017 16:34
ACA500 translucent case LED mod gurth Hardware mods 2 24 October 2017 22:30
A1200 LED to PC-Case LED? PoliceQuest support.Hardware 2 30 August 2008 13:09
Wanted! CD32 Case and A1200 Case! ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 0 08 December 2002 18:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06971 seconds with 13 queries