English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 March 2015, 12:15   #1
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
Native Commodore 64 core for Raspberry Pi?

Hi folks,

Has there been anything else like Commodore Pi developed?

I checked out Commodore Pi, however it's deveopment stalled some years ago before completion & from what I read, it doesn't work properly.

It would be great to have an RPI act like a C64

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 23 March 2015, 13:18   #2
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 996
A PI is just a computer so just fire an emulator into it and you're done.
Kamelito
kamelito is offline  
Old 23 March 2015, 13:19   #3
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,748
Apart from RetroPie having installed vice C64 emulator, have you tried RPi Vice by itself??

http://elinux.org/RPi_VICE_C64_Emulator

If you want it to act as C64 from boot up, then just change starting program from EmulationStation to vice. (I remember someone doing the same with UAE)
Anubis is offline  
Old 23 March 2015, 14:32   #4
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
Did you ever managed to run Vice in full screen? I tried it with RetroPie and it works for me as long as I don't try scale x2 or similar, in that case it just returns to EmulationStation...
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 11:56   #5
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
So the answer is pretty much "no...but".

Thanks Anubis for the positive reply though

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 17:21   #6
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobe View Post
Did you ever managed to run Vice in full screen? I tried it with RetroPie and it works for me as long as I don't try scale x2 or similar, in that case it just returns to EmulationStation...
I only have experience running VICE on linux but VICE won't do fullscreen properly if it can't scale by opengl.

When you run x64 on command line you should see in the messages "hwscale:yes" or something similar, if it's 'no' then it won't work.
john1979 is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 18:44   #7
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
I'm not familiar with linux. I setup all other emulators to work just fine following instructions on rpi forums but vice just wont go fullscreen. I gave up. I attached vice's settings. I tried 100 times to turn on and off all things related to graphics but it's always the same.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sdl-vicerc.txt (6.7 KB, 151 views)
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 18:52   #8
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
Can you provide the output you get when running x64 at the command line?

Or is that not possible with this device?
john1979 is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 18:58   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,368
Try a self compiled version.
Download latest tarball from here. (2.4.18 as of writing this).
Extract the archive and open a terminal on the pi, then:
Code:
./configure --enable-sdlui
make
sudo make install
If it fails to compile you probably just need to install build-essential and sdl.
Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev libsdl-image1.2-dev libsdl-mixer1.2-dev libsdl-ttf2.0-dev
I haven't tried it on my pi though.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 19:10   #10
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
You can also try from svn. This is my current version (although change your configure options to Retroplay's)

The 2.4.18 tarball above does work though as long as you don't want video recording feature (it is broken in that release.)

Code:
sudo apt-get install subversion 
svn co https://vice-emu.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/vice-emu/trunk/ vice 
cd vice/vice 
./autogen.sh 
./configure --enable-gnomeui --enable-static-ffmpeg 
make 
sudo make install
I needed libgtkglext1-dev installed for fullscreen support.

Thread: http://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=55651
john1979 is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 19:36   #11
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
I managed to get output.txt and now I see it says HW scale not available
Attached Files
File Type: txt output.txt (4.1 KB, 137 views)
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 19:42   #12
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
Forgetting about the rest of the log output for a second, I notice you are running vice2.3, which had known problems with scaling to fullscreen. I remember groepaz telling me fullscreen with scaling was impossible on 2.3. You need to grab the latest dev version of 2.4.x and start from there.

You can see I got it working eventually here: http://www.lemon64.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=52602

Edit: I understand retropie uses raspian which is based on Debian. So a manual compile should be very similar to how we do it on Ubuntu.

Last edited by john1979; 24 March 2015 at 19:53.
john1979 is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 19:57   #13
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
Ok. Thank you guys really a lot. I always got frustrated when dealing with linux cause for example for simple cd command I have to google every now and then to be sure how it works cause my memory no longer remembers things as it used in the days of Amiga... So I'll take a break now, I also have some other duties to finish so I'll try to install 2.4.x tomorrow or later tonight.
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:05   #14
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979
./configure --enable-gnomeui --enable-static-ffmpeg
I never got fullscreen to work properly on my Linux PC with gnomeui enabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1979
I understand retropie uses raspian which is based on Debian. So a manual compile should be very similar to how we do it on Ubuntu.
It is, but be prepared to wait until christmas for the compile to finish.
I did a Deluge 1.3.11 & libtorrent 0.16.13 compile recently on my pi, it took 7 (!), I repeat, 7 hours to finish.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:09   #15
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
ouch... well maybe I'll just use my real C64
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:11   #16
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 122
http://www.commodorepi.co.nr/
tekopaa is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:17   #17
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 36
Posts: 676
Yes, that's the one stalled and slow mentioned in first post
Cobe is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:21   #18
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I never got fullscreen to work properly on my Linux PC with gnomeui enabled.


It is, but be prepared to wait until christmas for the compile to finish.
I did a Deluge 1.3.11 & libtorrent 0.16.13 compile recently on my pi, it took 7 (!), I repeat, 7 hours to finish.
With the gnomeui it is important that your machine can support opengl hardware scaling in someway or it just doesn't work.

7 hours! Takes me back to the Gentoo days.
john1979 is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:30   #19
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,368
It is capable of OpenGL & hardware scaling, SDLMAME & FS-UAE runs perfectly fine with OpenGL filter shaders and so on.
The only way I can get fullscreen to work in VICE is using sdlui (hit F12 to bring up menu).
Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 March 2015, 20:45   #20
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 39
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
It is capable of OpenGL & hardware scaling, SDLMAME & FS-UAE runs perfectly fine with OpenGL filter shaders and so on.
The only way I can get fullscreen to work in VICE is using sdlui (hit F12 to bring up menu).
Since the machine I am on doesn't have VICE yet I'd thought I'd give it another try. Got it working with gnomeui enabled and using Nvidia binary drivers:

Code:
 1091  svn co https://vice-emu.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/vice-emu/trunk/
 1092  cd trunk/
 1095  cd vice/
 1097  ./autogen.sh 
 1101  sudo apt-get install bison
 1103  sudo apt-get install flex
 1104  sudo apt-get install libpulse-dev libasound2-dev libmp3lame-dev libgtkglext1-dev
 1107  sudo apt-get install texinfo libreadline-dev libexpat1-dev
 1109  ./configure --enable-gnomeui
 1110  make
 1111  sudo make install
 1112  x64

*** VICE Version 2.4.18, rev 29523M ***
OS compiled for: Linux glibc 2.19
GUI compiled for: GTK+
CPU compiled for: AMD64/x86_64
Compiler used: GCC-4.8.2
Current OS: Linux 3.13.0-46-generic (glibc 2.19)
Current CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E6750  @ 2.66GHz
 
Welcome to x64, the free portable C64 Emulator.

X11: GTK version compiled with: 2.24 (xf86 ext:yes cairo:yes pango:yes VTE:no hwscale:yes fullscreen:yes ui-threads:no)
Then hit alt-d to test the fullscreen. It should scale and keep aspect ratio.
john1979 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raspberry Pi 2 amigafreak68k support.FS-UAE 67 31 October 2015 22:52
Keyrah V2 on Raspberry Pi Boom^ support.Hardware 3 22 February 2015 00:04
For Sale Raspberry Pi lolafg MarketPlace 16 06 August 2012 15:13
Embedded Raspberry Pi? wXR Hardware mods 2 29 July 2012 17:39
Native Commodore Developer Kit Fissuras request.Apps 6 31 May 2002 19:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13737 seconds with 16 queries