English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2014, 20:51   #1
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
HD installation of Indian Jones Last Crusade Lucasarts Adv. ?

Hi,

I tried to install the Lucasarts Adventure of Indiana Jones & the last Crusade, like it is mentioned in the manual, which tells you simply to copy the main Indy file as well as the 'rooms' folder to a 'Indy3' folder on the harddisk.

Unfortunately, this does not seem to work, since it is still requesting disk 1 to be placed in DF0 upon startup.

Did anyone get this to work ?
I used the disks of the German version cracked by Tristar.

Alternatively, since the game seems to be based on Amigados, is there a way to redirect DF0: access to let's say HD0:/Indy3 ?

Thanks,
Overdoc
Overdoc is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 20:55   #2
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
Not sure, never tried it, but try typing assign DF0: HD0:Indy3 in a shell window and then launch the game. If it works then you could use a script to launch the game for auto launching.

Edit: ahh it says "cant cancel DF0:". Maybe try assign Indy3: HD0:Indy3. I'll look the game up and try it myself later.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 20:58   #3
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
Thanks Arnie, already thaught about that, but I was not sure if I can assign an already existing device like DF0: to something else ?!
Will try and report back if it worked.

EDIT:
Ok, seems like I guessed correctly, it wouldn't let me do that.
I get an eror message 'cannot cancel DF0:'

Hmm, any other ideas ?
It is strange that the manual suggest something which is not working ?! Maybe it is only the German version that behaves like that ?!

Or it has something to do with the crack ?!
In that case, I could try to copy IPF images back to ADFs, transfer them to real disks, and then copy to the HD of my Amiga...hehehe, looks really easy and a fast way

Last edited by Overdoc; 13 November 2014 at 21:07.
Overdoc is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 21:11   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
I just copied all 3 disks of the english version and it works OK. Maybe there are some files missing on the HD that didn't get copied over from the floppies.

You could try running snoopdos to see if a file fails to load.
Arnie is offline  
Old 13 November 2014, 22:51   #5
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 48
Posts: 835
Ok, thanks a lot Arnie, I now got it to work, although I am not sure why it worked, now ?!

First of all, after trying some assings, it stopped working at all, giving me some software failure everytime I started (even after turning the Amiga on/off didn't solve the problem)

I then booted the game again from floppy disk, since I had this problem before and booting from floppy helped. After the game started, I reset the Amiga, booted from HD and tried again, and I got the 'insert disk problem' again. (strange how booting from floppy 'repaired' the Indy executable on HD ?!?)

I then did this:
- copied the Indy executable file from floppy to HD again (since I thaught it was broken somehow)
- copied the roooms folder from the WHDLoad version to my Indy3 folder

I then tried again, and it works great, now
So, no idea what made it working, most important thing is it does work

Thanks again,
Overdoc
Overdoc is offline  
Old 16 November 2014, 21:01   #6
ricky500
Registered User
ricky500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 135
I had trouble getting Indy3 plus Maniac Mansion and Zak McKracken to install correctly. I had to do it several times in order to get it to work right.

Thankfully, Monkey Island and later games include HD installers.
ricky500 is offline  
Old 16 November 2014, 23:06   #7
Tweeky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 267
liesmich (readme) from Disk 1

INDIANA JONES AND THE LAST CRUSADE -- AMIGA VERSION
512 KByte-Betrieb:
------------------
Wenn Sie einen Amiga mit nur 512 KByte RAM besitzen,
koennen Sie Indy leider nur mit einem Laufwerk spielen.
Stecken Sie vor dem Einschalten des Computers bitte das
Zweit- und weitere Laufwerke ab und legen Sie die Indy-
Disk 1 ein, wenn der Amiga die Workbench verlangt. Bei
512 KByte ist auch kein Harddisk-Betrieb moeglich. Bei
einem Megabyte und mehr gibt es keinerlei Einschraenkungen.
Installation auf Harddisk:
--------------------------
Bitte ignorieren Sie die Anweisungen im Handbuch und
befolgen folgende:
* Legen Sie auf der Festplatte einen Ordner namens "INDY3"
an. Befolgen Sie hierzu die Anweisungen in Ihrem
Workbench-Handbuch. OEFFNEN SIE DIESEN ORDNER ABER NICHT,
d.h. doppelklicken Sie NICHT auf das Ordner-Symbol (Schub-
lade) von INDY3.
* Legen Sie nun Disk 1 in eines Ihrer Laufwerke und legen
sowohl das Symbol "Indy" (Peitsche und Hut) als auch das
Symbol "Rooms" (Schublade) auf das Symbol INDY3.
Wiederholen Sie dies mit den Rooms-Symbolen von Disk 2 und
Disk 3. Nun sollte alles geklappt haben.
* Wenn sich Indy beim Betrieb von Harddisk mit "Bitte
legen Sie Disk 1 (2,3) ein " meldet, haben Sie
wahrscheinlich den obigen Schritt nicht exakt befolgt.
Bitte loeschen Sie alle Dateien im Ordner "INDY3" und
wiederholen die Installation. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, die
Installation NICHT vom CLI aus zu versuchen, da alle
Dateien an ihren richtigen Plaetzen stehen muessen.
Tastatur-Steuerung:
-------------------
Die Tastenkombination "ALT-I" zum Abschalten des Scrolling
entfaellt.
Speichern von Spielstaenden:
----------------------------
Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt den Hinweis, dass Sie eine
leere, formatierte Diskette benoetigen, um Spielstaende
zu speichern. Sie duerfen auf keinen Fall versuchen, das
Programm zu "ueberlisten" und auf den Original-Disketten
zu speichern, da dies fatale Folgen fuer diese Disketten
haben kann.
Version 1.4 German, 22.10.1989,
(c) Lucasfilm, Published by Softgold
Tweeky is offline  
Old 17 November 2014, 14:29   #8
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,896
Thanks . that's made things a lot clearer
Arnie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indiana Jones and the the Last Crusade CDTV ricky500 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 23 February 2012 01:53
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Adv.) - 800 IQ points adalsgaard support.Games 13 13 November 2009 13:17
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade - Action Game sherpa request.Old Rare Games 5 01 June 2009 07:50
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Action game) Bolch support.Games 9 20 November 2007 23:59
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade Backyard_Rob request.Old Rare Games 2 05 June 2002 19:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06637 seconds with 13 queries