English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 August 2009, 19:58   #1
Xeon
Registered User
Xeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 32
No Trash Can on P96 ?

I tried out the ClassicWB P96 using WinUAE the last couple of days and have to say its awesome, a great package.I have one question and most probably will make me look like a fool but its driving me crazy and cant solve it doing anything I tried. It has been a while since I been working around the Amiga OS so that also is working against me.My question is: Where is the Trash Can ?I have none on my desktop and cant figure how to put one there. What do I need to do? Thanks
Xeon is offline  
Old 30 August 2009, 20:22   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Hi Xeon,

Classic Workbench uses ScalOS Workbench enhancing software. Right click on the desktop. Does a Trashcan option appear in the Show... submenu in the ScalOS menu that pops up?


Edit: If not, there are several Trashcan replacements on Aminet
http://aminet.net/search?query=Trashcan

Last edited by prowler; 30 August 2009 at 20:37.
prowler is offline  
Old 30 August 2009, 20:41   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
What's happened is I formatted the HDFs as FFS without a trashcan.

If you want a trashcan, you'll have to create a new HDF in WinUAE and format it in Workbench/ClassicWB with the options FFS and trashcan.

Then open Dopus and copy all the files over to the new HDF. Then you'll have a trashcan.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 04:11   #4
Xeon
Registered User
Xeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 32
Thanks for the help ... I did the (copy all the files over to the new HDF) and got my trashcan.... and now looking at the global trashcan files over at Aminet. I tried a couple with not much luck until I found one thats not too bad (MultiTrash) but still looking for a global trashcan utility that works and looks a little better.

Once again thanks for all the help... I appreciate it very much.
Xeon is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 10:31   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeon View Post
but still looking for a global trashcan utility that works and looks a little better.
Assuming you mean that the trash icon looks like the basic blue Workbench one...

Did you format the HDF in ClassicWB? It will give the trashcan an icon that goes with the Workbench theme, not a standard looking trash icon.

You can still upgrade the icon yourself. Right click and go to icons->update. Drag and drop the trash and new trash icon into the boxes.

Probably is worth checking out some Aminet replacements. The reason I never included the trash icon is that no one ever seems to use it.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 18:27   #6
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych View Post
The reason I never included the trash icon is that no one ever seems to use it.
Funny that. I use Windows' Recycle Bin and Classic Mac OS's Trashcan all the time. I don't know why it is (and I've only just realized it in reading your comment above), but it has never even occurred to me to use Amiga's Workbench Trashcan, so I don't miss it when it isn't there.
prowler is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 19:11   #7
Xeon
Registered User
Xeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 32
Yes, you are correct.. I goofed and did not format in the Classic WB environment and had that blocky trashcan. I did it all over and now have the metal net trashcan that goes along with the rest of the icons. Looks like I better start reacquainting myself with the Amiga environment as everything seems so strange from not using it for quite a number of years and I dont know why but I like having the trashcan... guess its a habit ... lol

Once again thank you ...
Xeon is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 21:00   #8
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
so I don't miss it when it isn't there.
I never used it in 21 years .
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 31 August 2009, 23:11   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,860
Why the hell do you format your HDD only to get a trashcan icon ??????????????

Two simple shell commands can create a trashcan anywhere with any name:

makedir destination:dustbin
copy envarc:sys/def_trashcan.info destination:dustbin.info

That's all !
thomas is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 10:56   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
No need to be so condescending in your comment Thomas!

I didn't realize you could add a trashcan function without reformating; never knew all it was is a simple directory. I thought it was a feature of the file system, like when you select directory cache or international mode. I've never given it any thought because I never use it.

My error.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 08 September 2009 at 11:25.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 11:30   #11
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,860
Sorry, this shouldn't sound dismissive. I was just so shocked...
thomas is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 11:38   #12
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
We all have our silly moments, especially now many of us are Amiga part timers. You have to be forgiving of our stupidity!!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 14:59   #13
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
@ Thomas:
Hi, I followed your instructions. Thanks. I now have a Dustbin icon in my SYS:
I cant however drag files into the trashcan or drop icons onto the icon.
To "delete" (send) files to the trashcan, I have to move them using Dopus.
Is there anything else needed to activate the trashcan?
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 15:29   #14
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,860
Should work out of the box. What happens if you drag a file onto the trashcan icon or into the window ?

Run IconEdit, load the Dustbin icon and check from the menu if it is of type trashcan.

Make sure that neither the directory nor the icon are write protected. Also make sure that the files you want to delete are not protected against deletion. DOpus might be so "intelligent" that it unprotects files before it tries to move them.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 15:35   #15
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Should work out of the box. What happens if you drag a file onto the trashcan icon or into the window ?
Nothing happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
Run IconEdit, load the Dustbin icon and check from the menu if it is of type trashcan.

Make sure that neither the directory nor the icon are write protected. Also make sure that the files you want to delete are not protected against deletion. DOpus might be so "intelligent" that it unprotects files before it tries to move them.
The icon is of type TRASHCAN. Right click on trashcan icon gives Empty Trash option.
Files to move are delete-able and not protected.

I run AfA_OS can this cause issues?
DDNI is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 15:58   #16
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,860
AfA causes all kinds of issues.
thomas is offline  
Old 08 September 2009, 16:07   #17
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,196
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
AfA causes all kinds of issues.
lol

Thomas sometimes your answers are just TOO technical for us Luddites
DDNI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trash'm-one frantic Coders. General 4 06 July 2012 22:11
Sky effect in the intro of Global Trash II absence Coders. General 0 18 December 2011 15:57
Star Trash Graham Humphrey request.Old Rare Games 7 23 November 2007 01:24
Excluding TRASH alexh project.EAB 8 08 November 2006 14:26
Silents Global Trash Demo on WinUAE 0.88.21 R1 Phiber support.WinUAE 9 27 November 2002 14:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08615 seconds with 15 queries