English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

View Poll Results: What game do you want to see ported to the Amiga?
Rolling Thunder (Arcade) 11 6.96%
Gauntlet (Arcade) 12 7.59%
Shinobi (Arcade) 25 15.82%
Pacman (Arcade) 6 3.80%
Final Fight (Arcade) 16 10.13%
Rastan (Arcade) 15 9.49%
Side Arms (Arcade) 1 0.63%
Nemesis/Gradius (Arcade) 11 6.96%
Raiden (Arcade) 6 3.80%
Raiden II (Arcade) 3 1.90%
Space Invaders (Arcade) 0 0%
Bad Dudes vs Dragon Ninja (Arcade) 3 1.90%
Wonder Boy (Arcade) 23 14.56%
Axelay (SNES) 3 1.90%
Double Dragon (Arcade) 6 3.80%
None - Do my own game! 17 10.76%
Voters: 158. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2019, 18:23   #141
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,341
I'll just keep disagreeing with you

I agree its a lot of work to rework graphics to fit in a smaller palette... but all of this is a lot of work anyway. It's your doing, do whatever you want. Just don't claim "it can't be done". It's perfectly acceptable to say "I won't do it". I wouldn't either . But it can be done. You may say it's not worhty and that's ok too.

Quote:
These days most of us own an A1200.
I don't and I do know a fair amount of people who use their Amiga a lot who also don't.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 18:41   #142
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,162
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I'll just keep disagreeing with you

I agree its a lot of work to rework graphics to fit in a smaller palette... but all of this is a lot of work anyway. It's your doing, do whatever you want. Just don't claim "it can't be done". It's perfectly acceptable to say "I won't do it". I wouldn't either . But it can be done. You may say it's not worhty and that's ok too.
Let's keep old arcade conv easy to adapt on A500 on A500 and bigger and more complex games for the 1200.

Quote:
I don't and I do know a fair amount of people who use their Amiga a lot who also don't.
You have winuae if you don't have an A1200
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 18:43   #143
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post

You have winuae if you don't have an A1200
Again, if I am going to emulate, I'll just stick with Mame.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:01   #144
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,162
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
Again, if I am going to emulate, I'll just stick with Mame.
Yes of course. It's fun, but less than seeing a complex game running on A1200
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:06   #145
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Yes of course. It's fun, but less than seeing a complex game running on A1200
But that's even less fun than seeing a complex game running on A500.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:09   #146
JudasEZT
Registered User
JudasEZT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: mercury
Posts: 568
Doing a conversion to a smaller machine its a charming exercise.

There are conversions from coin-op to Spectrum48K which are delightful to look at and play. With all those limitations and conserve the essence of the gameplay is a great labour craft.

If it had to be for A500 OCS/ECS,.. I don't see the reason to despise it. Knowing its limitations I'll enjoy it for what is it. Thinking in what Tiertex made in its time.. I'll probably enjoy it even more.

For AGA,... well, also is a good exercise too. I'll enjoy it for sure.
JudasEZT is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 19:58   #147
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,162
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
But that's even less fun than seeing a complex game running on A500.
Yes of course, with half the content removed and the identity is lost
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:33   #148
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Yes of course, with half the content removed and the identity is lost
Do you really think the games I mentioned "lost their identity" ? Toki, Shadow Dancer, Silkworm, R-Type, Pang, Rodland, Golden Axe, Dragon Breed, Saint Dragon, Super Off-Road, Indy Heat, Double Dragon 3, Liquid Kids, Snow Bros, Mortal Kombat, Ninja Warriors, Mortal Kombat 2, Badlands, Commando, Ghosts 'n' Goblins, Midnight Resistance, Bonanza Bros.........

All those games "Lost their identity" on Amiga? All of those games had "half the content removed" ?

Come on man.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 21:34   #149
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,743
How many color is arcade wonderboy's palette?
Anubis is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 22:25   #150
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,162
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
How many color is arcade wonderboy's palette?
2x 256 colors.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 22:27   #151
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,162
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
Do you really think the games I mentioned "lost their identity" ? Toki, Shadow Dancer, Silkworm, R-Type, Pang, Rodland, Golden Axe, Dragon Breed, Saint Dragon, Super Off-Road, Indy Heat, Double Dragon 3, Liquid Kids, Snow Bros, Mortal Kombat, Ninja Warriors, Mortal Kombat 2, Badlands, Commando, Ghosts 'n' Goblins, Midnight Resistance, Bonanza Bros.........

All those games "Lost their identity" on Amiga? All of those games had "half the content removed" ?

Come on man.
Toki has a small window and small sprites because the game is 512kb made.
with 1 or 2mb, it could have been bigger.

Shadow Dancer with arcade like reduced in colors would need 6mb of ram.

Many of them have been fully redrawn if not most. Only rare ones use the arcade assets.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 22:51   #152
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,348
Toki at a guess probably has a small window because of the way it does the Parallax and has to redraw the background and I doubt if more ram would of made any difference.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 23:08   #153
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 36
Posts: 3,341
Completely lost identity and half of the features missing..............

[ Show youtube player ]

[ Show youtube player ]

-

In a side note, I have a friend who is a big fan of the arcade Shadow Dancer, being actually able to finish it with a single credit (an amazing feat), when I showed him the Amiga version he was amazed by the fidelity, and even said the music was actually better. He said something like

"The game is not as smooth, obviously there are less colors and the 1 button joystick controller takes a lot to get used, but it's incredible how they got it everything right, I could see myself beating this very quickly with the knowledge I have of the arcade game"


But, yeah, not arcade assets, lack of parallax, no 50 fps and no 256 colors = completely different game.........
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 23:28   #154
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,083
Just to change from this "gna gna gna" , "gna gna gna"* turning thread , a small history about Rygar :
1986 - Arcade
1987 - Commodore 64
1987 - Amstrad CPC
1987 - ZX Spectrum
1988 - Master System
1990 - Atari Lynx
1994 - X68000
2015 - Amiga OCS (sandruzzo / abandoned / IRN / latest available adf)
2019 - Amiga AGA (mcgeezer / in progress / IRN / latest available adf)
[ Show youtube player ]

*I agree with both of you by the way. Generally speaking : good games conversions for A500 are a delight. (Almost) perfect games conversions for A1200 also. If some games requires a Vampire, I'm OK as well. It's up to the team/coder to decide which model will be the final target. Everybody is coding for his/her pleasure at the end.
@dlfrsilver : don't forget the title of this FR movie
malko is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 00:09   #155
ZEUSDAZ
Registered User
ZEUSDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: England
Posts: 399
Actually after much thought, why bother with converting any of these games now?!

That magical "What Arcade game would you like to see converted properly to the Amiga next?!" question would have had us all running around with excitement if it was asked 30yrs ago whilst many games were being converted badly, but now we have MAME which is free to download and plays those real arcade roms, so again I ask what is the point to attempt these conversions now on an Amiga?!

I think what would be better is if we could have real Amiga versions of non arcade games that never found their way onto the Amiga but did on the other home formats such as that brill Atari ST game Ranarama, a great Gauntlet clone just to mention one.

Having games converted to our home machines back in the day did bring a charm knowing that during the week after school we'd play these conversions (good or bad) and then get fired up over the weekend to go to our local arcade and play the Daddy versions of those games, I mean Double Dragon II was very good on the Amiga, obviously differences to the arcade version but as said that was the charm knowing it was another version,...not the real arcade version,...as long as it was good and playable.

So once again why bother doing them now especially now we have MAME, I say do Amiga versions of those non arcade games that never found their way onto the Amiga back in the day.
ZEUSDAZ is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 00:40   #156
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSDAZ View Post
Actually after much thought, why bother with converting any of these games now?!
Jeez dude, how long have you been visiting this forum. The answer is: because it's fun to pretend time froze in the golden years.
gimbal is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 00:44   #157
ZEUSDAZ
Registered User
ZEUSDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: England
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal View Post
Jeez dude, how long have you been visiting this forum. The answer is: because it's fun to pretend time froze in the golden years.

Ah I see, well that's that then lol.
ZEUSDAZ is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:52   #158
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSDAZ View Post
Atari ST game Ranarama, a great Gauntlet clone just to mention one.
Ranarama would be awesome. As would Gauntlet with the Deeper Dungeons expansion pack! - although Gauntlet is playable via MAME, the expansion pack was never released in the arcades...

I do have to agree though - when I want to play those classic arcades, I fire up MAME. I used to play The New Zealand Story to death on my A1000, but as soon as I could emulate the arcade I never went back - it's just a better game.
Dunny is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:59   #159
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,729
Quote:
...so again I ask what is the point to attempt these conversions now on an Amiga?!

Because we can play them on real Amiga hardware via CRT. Do you need any other reason? I'm not messy enough to collect several Arcade PCBs.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 03:05   #160
ZEUSDAZ
Registered User
ZEUSDAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: England
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Because we can play them on real Amiga hardware via CRT. Do you need any other reason? I'm not messy enough to collect several Arcade PCBs.

Can't you play MAME via CRT tv?! I do, my laptop is connected to my 28" widescreen Panasonic CRT (or connected into my DVD recorder if recording the game I'm playing), no pixelation, just a beautiful overscan picture.


I say get on with doing Rananrama on Amiga!!!
ZEUSDAZ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Next ST game port : Oids meynaf Amiga scene 47 20 July 2017 08:15
anyone willing to port a dos game to amigaos honx Amiga scene 40 07 May 2017 12:57
<none> as default port 2 (game ports) sodapop request.UAE Wishlist 26 17 September 2016 20:31
A1200 Game Port Malfunctions? Please help investor support.Hardware 5 09 March 2007 14:25
Setting up game port controls HELP playedalive New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 11 July 2005 02:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10005 seconds with 16 queries