English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2019, 20:42   #21
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 415
Rerendering an MP3 to wave and to MP3 again.. That really hurts the quality of audio doing that. Especially if you use MP3's as 128 (I never go below 192; 128 is has too much quality removed). I just finished playing some MP3s I made in the 80's and some more recent. Not any problems with VBR encodes..using 3.25...playing, anyway, I didn't do much skipping around. I was using music by Rush (my favorite). What I did notice is that each time frame was current, and it counted each song correctly. Some CBR and others VBR.

I wasn't going to go off topic much, I usually stay right on. But that comment was very funny to me.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 20:55   #22
TuKo
Apollo Team

TuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: not far
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Z View Post
Anyway I figured it out, Amiga-Amp 3.25 doesn't seem to like MP3's with VBR (Variable Bit Rate).
I converted a MP3 with VBR that gave problems to wave and then to MP3 again with fixed bit rate, and guess what ? Amiga-Amp 3.25 just works great now.

It detects the correct duration of the of the song and i can skip around with the progress bar as many times as i like and it will just play.

So no problem in my OS config
Confirmed.

VBR MP3 will crash WinUAE here too, a CBR MP3 will work as expected. Nothing to do with "updated and performing systems" imho.

Let's see if a real bug report leads to some quick fix now. I doubt author will advice us to use AfaOS :-)

Last edited by TuKo; 26 August 2019 at 21:21.
TuKo is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 21:10   #23
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: DigitalCorruption/iNT
Posts: 415
TuKo:

Your last sentence.. No??? Umm..
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 26 August 2019, 23:14   #24
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
Confirmed.

VBR MP3 will crash WinUAE here too, a CBR MP3 will work as expected. Nothing to do with "updated and performing systems" imho.

Yes TuKo I also confirm that with MP3 VBR there are problems of Blocking and errors in the calculation of song duration, but this also happens with AmigaAMP 3.24, 3.22 and 3.23 Ok no problem, I sent a report to the developer.

Tested WinUAE version OS4, AmigaAMP 3.25 and 3.24 non problem with MP3 VBR

I never use MP3 VBR and so I did not realize the problem, AfA One I recommended it to those who love RTG systems so it's a very fast system well configured, it was just my system that I wanted to share, nothing more

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 26 August 2019 at 23:55.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 09:00   #25
TomSoniq
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hannover / Germany
Posts: 2
Thanks for the detailed report. Ok, I need to have a look at 68k VBR handling then. Seems I haven't tested it well enough.
TomSoniq is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 09:57   #26
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Hello TomSoniq and welcome to EAB
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 11:12   #27
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! View Post
I just finished playing some MP3s I made in the 80's and some more recent
I'm pretty sure you didn't make any mp3's in the 80's
britelite is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 12:36   #28
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by britelite View Post
I'm pretty sure you didn't make any mp3's in the 80's
It probably meant the very early 90s, I with my A4000 early 90s started to convert and use MP2s
Repertory image of my A4000 '90s
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A4000.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	128.6 KB
ID:	64246  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 12:40   #29
britelite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Espoo / Finland
Posts: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
It probably meant the very early 90s
I wouldn't call 1993 "very early 90's" though...
britelite is offline  
Old 27 August 2019, 12:43   #30
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
I didn't specify the year because there were years of experimentation, then as I said we started with MP2 even if of rare diffusion.
Even the MP3 extension came after (old file extension .bit)

In March 1992 the CSELT of Turin (Italy) demonstrated the first working version of the MPEG-1 system, both locally on a personal computer, and on the network. MPEG finally approved the ISO/IEC 11172-3 standard in November 1992.

On July 14, 1995, Karlheinz Brandenburg sent an e-mail announcing the .mp3 file extension had won a poll and announced that the old .bit file extension should no longer be used.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 August 2019 at 13:03.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 02:36   #31
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 202
Wanted to report that AmigaAMP 3.25 crashes the system when you press stop while playing a song. Using A600 with Vampire 600 V2 and OS 3.1.4.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 02:41   #32
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post
Wanted to report that AmigaAMP 3.25 crashes the system when you press stop while playing a song. Using A600 with Vampire 600 V2 and OS 3.1.4.
MP3 VBR ?

with AmigaAMP 3.23, 3.22 ?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 05:49   #33
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 59
Probably MP3's with VBR, i have the same on my V600, V4 and WinUAE.
MP3's with constant bit rate play fine on all of the above systems.
I had contact with Thomas Wenzel about it and he's looking into it.


Amiga Amp 3.22 is the last version known to me that works 100% correct, didn't try 3.23 and 3.24.
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 06:16   #34
seb132
French in Australia
seb132's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Age: 48
Posts: 303
Send a message via MSN to seb132 Send a message via Yahoo to seb132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
It probably meant the very early 90s, I with my A4000 early 90s started to convert and use MP2s
Repertory image of my A4000 '90s


This is a beautiful system! Mine looked slightly similar on my A1200T.
Totally off-topic but there is a tooltype for the calendar border to be transparent instead of showing that white background... :P
seb132 is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 07:34   #35
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
MP3 VBR ?

with AmigaAMP 3.23, 3.22 ?

No. With CBR MP3's. Also the player crashes on exit. Anything earlier than 3.25 is fine.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 08:22   #36
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by seb132 View Post
Totally off-topic but there is a tooltype for the calendar border to be transparent instead of showing that white background... :P
I don't know, the utility is called Acal -> http://aminet.net/package/util/time/ACal12
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 August 2019, 20:11   #37
TomSoniq
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Hannover / Germany
Posts: 2
I think I found the cause for the crash on stop/exit. Some extra AHI stop/close code I had just implemented is no good. I've thrown it out again.
TomSoniq is offline  
Old 29 August 2019, 01:26   #38
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSoniq View Post
I think I found the cause for the crash on stop/exit. Some extra AHI stop/close code I had just implemented is no good. I've thrown it out again.

Awesome work! Thank you very much for looking into it!
sean_sk is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 13:41   #39
starship
Registered User
starship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: turkiye
Posts: 151
Hi
Sometimes on exit, not closing and everything freezing.mouse icon is not freezing. I am using 3.25 os3.9.
It was not happening on 3.24. On 3.24 somethines when changing mp3 it was freezing but exit was ok.
starship is offline  
Old 30 August 2019, 15:43   #40
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,178
Even with MP3 CBR? because it only happens to me after I've played a lot of them at the same time.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaAMP Released AMIGASYSTEM News 18 18 June 2019 16:01
AmigaAMP 3.20 Released AMIGASYSTEM News 0 04 January 2017 17:00
AmigaAMP 3.19 Released AMIGASYSTEM News 10 20 December 2016 18:50
AmigaAMP 2.18 released Paul News 0 07 January 2007 16:56
AmigaAMP 2.13 released Paul News 0 23 December 2004 17:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09016 seconds with 16 queries